We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Roosevelt Tavern

#32 of 338 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
€€€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
50 N Penn St, York, PA 17401-1019
+1 717-854-7725
Today
11:30 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Fri 11:30 - 21:00
Sat 16:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 123: English reviews
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

From the moment we hit the door until the last crumb of peanut butter chocolate cake was devoured, it was a perfect experience. My prime rib was fork tender and generously cut, served with creamy mashed potatoes and succulent grilled asparagus. My wife enjoyed the crab cakes with huge chunks of crab meat throughout and a nicely served and "remarkably... More 

Helpful?
Thank BigJohn2112
york pa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Mothers day special was a major disappointment for most in our 5 group party. Overpriced, and barely enough food to keep us full until the dinner hour 3 hours later. The seafood over penne pasta was nothing more than a small portion of pasta with shrimp that should have never been taken away from their mother they were so small,... More 

Helpful?
Thank dougthebarber
hpmarietta, Owner at Roosevelt Tavern, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear of your disappointing experience. We strive to serve the highest quality ingredients possible. Our seafood pasta dinner is served with 8 Oz of pre portioned seafood scallops, shrimp & lobster claw & knuckle meat tossed with spinach, sun dried tomatoes & creamy lobster sauce & 8oz of penne pasta. I wish if your mother in... More 

PA
Level Contributor
344 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our first time here and we had a nice meal. Service was good and we all found something we liked on the menu. Part of the restaurant was closed due to repairs that were needed when the tenant above the restaurant had water issues. This is a nice place.

Helpful?
Thank maxpaste
hpmarietta, Owner at Roosevelt Tavern, responded to this review

Maxpaste, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us and we hope to have the opportuinity to serve you again in the near future. Thank you for your reveiw. Byron More 

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I were in your restaurant at about 12:50 today to pick up two cream of crab soups to go. When we got back to our office and we were able to eat them we were disgusted and disappointed. There was very few pieces of crab meat and throughout the entire cup of soup and there were flour/dough... More 

Helpful?
Thank amanda f
hpmarietta, Owner at Roosevelt Tavern, responded to this review

When you emailed me I told you that you thought that the soup that you bought for carry out had lumps of flour balls in it I told you to please bring it in and I would make it right. I also stated that if you didn't still have it that if you wanted to stop back in at another... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The ambiance leaves a lot to be desired, and the food is average. We were in town for business, and this place got decent reviews, so we gave it a try. Not notable; doubt we would try it again.

Helpful?
Thank heyliz
hpmarietta, Owner at Roosevelt Tavern, responded to this review

Heyliz, I am sorry to hear your visit was just ok. We strive to offer the freshest ingredients and the best service. If you could please let me know what was just OK with your visit it could help us to insure that another guest does not feel that their visit was just OK. Were you in for lunch or... More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a very nice eatery. The service is always great, the food is tasty and well prepared. The drinks are well mixed and you get your moneys worth. I will be back as I like the ambiance.

Helpful?
Thank Lawrence U
hpmarietta, Owner at Roosevelt Tavern, responded to this review

So glad to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us we hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

We had 17 family members meet at The Roosevelt Tavern and enjoyed a delicious meal that was presented superbly by an elegant and attentive wait staff. Even though the size of our party was not that large we were treated as if we were the most important people in the world. We will definitely return, both as a family gathering... More 

Helpful?
Thank bbuudd
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

The service was good. I had the seafood bisque who's was also good that's where the good ended. I had roasted pork shank it was tender but totally tasteless. I mean no flavor at all. My girlfriend had Pee Paw a pasta dish. It tasted like BBQ sauce sicking sweet. Not good for pasta. Should have combined together for a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Argusp1
hpmarietta, Owner at Roosevelt Tavern, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear of your disappointment on Valentine's Day. I wish if you were not 100% satisfied with your meal you would have left your server know so we could have made things right while you were still at the restaurant. As far as the PEE PAW pasta dish as stated in the menu this is not you... More 

York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2017

I just love the burger and how you can get almost anything on it. They do a great job and enjoy the service.

Helpful?
Thank charlesyorkpa
hpmarietta, Owner at Roosevelt Tavern, responded to this review

Charlesyorkpa, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. I hope we have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future. More 

1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Was in town visiting my sister. She booked a party for us at the Roosevelt. We had 20ish ppl attend and the establishment was over accommodating, food was great, and our servers were top notch. Hopefully she books our party again next holiday!

Helpful?
Thank Natalie7787

Been to Roosevelt Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
American, Bar, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Tuesday
11:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 21:00
Thursday
11:30 - 21:00
Friday
11:30 - 21:00
Saturday
16:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 50 N Penn St, York, PA 17401-1019
  • Location: United States  >  Pennsylvania (PA)  >  York
  • Phone Number: +1 717-854-7725

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Roosevelt Tavern staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?