We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Gunyah Restaurant at Paper Bark Camp

Certificate of Excellence
€€€€
Australian
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
571 Woollamia Rd, Huskisson, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
+61 2 4441 7299
Website
Today
08:00 - 10:00
18:00 - 21:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 10:00
18:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 102: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2016

Dinner was incredible very tasty and immaculately presented. Breakfast was also good highlights being the raw honey and the muesli and granola. Staff were very attentive and knew the menu in and out. Corkage was quite expensive though at $9 each and you need sides with the mains. We visited at the start of winter so they had all windows... More 

Helpful?
Thank JonTravellerAU
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2016

Staff are warm, friendly, and ever helpful. The quality of the food at dinner was very high with each dish well prepared and presented. Breakfast buffet was top rate with the variety of fresh breads cut so thick they barely fit in the toaster.

Helpful?
Thank Matt S
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2016

We had dinner at The Gunyah, and were delighted by the freshness and ambition of the dishes. Flavors came together in surprising ways. The tone was not pretentious at all, and combined with being in the middle of nowhere, it was a remarkable experience. To make it even better, we stayed at Paperbark Camp so it was a brief walk... More 

Helpful?
Thank SeattleWA206
Paperbark_Camp, Owner at The Gunyah Restaurant at Paper Bark Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay, no doubt walking under the stars back to your private bush hideaway is a highlight of a stay at Paperbark Camp. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2016

Wow, what an experience. Imagine slowly driving through a narrow winding road in the middle of the forest - you cannot help but wonder where you got lost - patiently waiting for signs of life. After a few anxious minutes you'll come across the flickers of light that mark the dinning hall for the Paperbark Camp "glamping" experience. I definitely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brendan L
Paperbark_Camp, Owner at The Gunyah Restaurant at Paper Bark Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your Paperbark experience, interesting you mention the mud, yes, it can be a bit troublesome when it has been wet and we are currently looking at better ways to surface our road so as to try and improve this situation. Luckily these days most people have a torch app so if you... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

I have never been to such a joke of a restaurant before. The paella night is a complete rip off and you should avoid at all costs. The starter is pretty much non existent, the Pisco sour is a shot class just filled with foam and by the time we got up for the paella all the chicken one was... More 

Helpful?
Thank racheld25
Paperbark_Camp, Owner at The Gunyah Restaurant at Paper Bark Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback though of course I am sorry that you had such a disappointing experience at our restaurant. The paella night has been very popular for a few years now though we recognise it is not for everybody. Being aware of a guests dietary requirements certainly does help when offering a set menu, so apologies that there... More 

Moruya, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2016

Our high expectations were established as a result of our previous experiences a few years earlier. We looked at the website and on realising that Gunyah now offers only a set menu, chose a particular night which suited our group’s likes and dietary requirements. Unfortunately, on the night, we discovered that not only had the menu changed but the vegetarian... More 

Helpful?
Thank AliceLan1
Paperbark_Camp, Owner at The Gunyah Restaurant at Paper Bark Camp, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write about your recent Gunyah at Paperbark Camp experience. Naturally we are disappointed that your meal was not as hoped, we are going through a period of change in our kitchen and in fact we plan to move back to a menu with more choices as we realise the set menu format... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

We were really expecting great things from this restaurant with its reputation (with prices to match) and great reviews from friends and family. Ambiance was fantastic and service was excellent which were big plusses. Being it was the first night of a new set menu, we had little choice of food which we understood and accepted and they went to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
Paperbark_Camp, Owner at The Gunyah Restaurant at Paper Bark Camp, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write about your recent Gunyah at Paperbark Camp experience. We are very sorry that you had such a disappointing experience and have taken note of your comments which we recognise as being well considered and we appreciate this. We are currently going through a period of change in the Gunyah and together... More 

Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2016

This restaurant is a special place and provides a wonderful backdrop for a special occasion. The staff are delightful. They take the time to interact as well as providing wonderful service. We sat on the balcony and were not bothered by the mozzies at all. The food was magnificently presented and was delicious. We had the set menu, which isn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank John W
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
269 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2016

We ate at this restaurant as part of our recent stay at Paperbark Camp and it was a very nice experience. The restaurant itself is set up in the trees, with a good view of the camp and surrounding grounds. Our server was very friendly and efficient and made us feel very welcome. We opted for the "degustation menu", which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jason H
Paperbark_Camp, Owner at The Gunyah Restaurant at Paper Bark Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent meal with us, our chefs work hard to put up 'good grub' ! Point taken about the term 'degustation' , we are actually working to move back to an a la carte menu in the coming months as we feel it is better for our guests to have more choice.... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

Delicious food--the spiced quinoa bread with lavender glaze and Chilli jam was my highlight. Set menu, but with food that good, it's ok--especially as they were perfectly willing to accommodate my no-seafood request. Instead of snapper crevice, I had the vegetarian halloumi entree and it was delicious. Staff was personable, and the setting was unique and serene. It did get... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lara R

Travellers who viewed The Gunyah Restaurant at Paper Bark Camp also viewed

Huskisson, Jervis Bay
Huskisson, Jervis Bay
 
Huskisson, Jervis Bay
 
Huskisson, Jervis Bay
Huskisson, Jervis Bay
 

Been to The Gunyah Restaurant at Paper Bark Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$30 - US$70
Cuisine
Australian
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 10:00
18:00 - 21:00
Monday
08:00 - 10:00
18:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 10:00
18:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 10:00
18:00 - 21:00
Thursday
08:00 - 10:00
18:00 - 21:00
Friday
08:00 - 10:00
18:00 - 21:00
Saturday
08:00 - 10:00
18:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 571 Woollamia Rd, Huskisson, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Shoalhaven  >  Jervis Bay  >  Huskisson
  • Phone Number: +61 2 4441 7299
Description
The Gunyah restaurant is the treetop dining room at Paperbark Camp, a peaceful bush retreat offering unique luxury tented accommodation just outside of Huskisson, Jervis Bay. Featuring regularly in the Good Food Guide, dining in the candle lit dining room is a highlight of a stay at the camp and the restaurant is also open to non-resident guests. Please note bookings are essential and the restaurant is regularly booked out during busy holiday periods and at the weekend.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Gunyah Restaurant at Paper Bark Camp and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Helensburgh, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Gunyah Restaurant at Paper Bark Camp staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?