We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Carew Arms

€€ - €€€British, ,
Antony Hill, Torpoint PL11 3AB, England
+44 1752 814440
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good26%
  • Average8%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“fish pie” (20 reviews)
“tagliatelle” (6 reviews)
“rarebit” (3 reviews)
Opens in 14 min
Hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Gastropub, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
Antony Hill, Torpoint PL11 3AB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

We dined at the Carew Arms for a 50th Wedding Anniversary celebration. There were 11 of us at the dinner. It is difficult to overstate how helpful the staff were and how delicious the food was: The Carew Arms curated a delightful evening for us....More

2  Thank Wilcove1902
Reviewed 1 week ago

We ate here on a Saturday night, rather early for us: 6:15pm. Wonderful food. I had today’s special seafood broth with cockles, prawns and smoked fish with veg: different and tasty. Main was the turbot special: large portion. Dessert was also a special: peach pannacotta....More

1  Thank Debbie H
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the Inn on a recent trip to the area having spent two weeks on the coast and wanting to try somewhere else to eat now that our favourite Inn, The Finnygook was under repair. First impressions is that it's on a busy junction...More

Thank arsierc
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Upstairs recently booked for 20 with food choices pre-ordered. Despite this, the service was sadly chaotic with meals delivered at irregular intervals. Three very different types of chips arrived intermittently with the unlucky ones receiving what looked like undercooked, blanched sweet potato. Others were handed...More

2  Thank togo193
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited this restaurant with friends the evening vefore a wedding. We had the upstairs room booked for 7pm. By the time everyone arrived and we bought drinks at the bar we were all seated by about 7.30pm. We had ordered in advance from a...More

1  Thank Jim L
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I've just read by chance the reviews for this delightful pub, and have to confess I'm very confused. The are two extremes of reviews here, and in my mind there should only be one type of review. We called in on 21st June, going to...More

2  Thank Georgina B
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

booked a table here, as have driven past many times & thought it looked welcoming. Read the reviews on here & then felt apprehensive but after eating a wonderful lunch here I can only believe that the other people who have reviewed must have been...More

Thank Beechess62
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped by hoping that our dog would be welcome and we are very glad he was! We had some great food and the service was just as good, honestly some of the best food we had our whole trip! Very friendly and efficient service...More

1  Thank mknibbs
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

A beer ‘garden’ with dog mess all around and so much traffic you could be sitting on the central reserve of the M1. Barking dogs in the restaurant hardly creating a great ambience. Glasses left out on ‘garden’ tables all day without collection. As for...More

6  Thank EyeSpy10
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

Just returned from our very brief stay at the Carew Arms. Looks like a decent place but we couldn't stay, it was more like a dog kennel than a Michelin guide restaurant. First off, we had a beer there in the afternoon and the garden...More

3  Thank Steven W
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Whitsand Bay Hotel
654 reviews
4.13 km away
Travelodge Saltash
394 reviews
5.61 km away
The Mountbatten Hotel
46 reviews
5.75 km away
Crooked Inn
291 reviews
5.82 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Finnygook Inn
524 reviews
3.40 km away
Cliff Top Cafe
224 reviews
3.55 km away
The Liscawn Restaurant
106 reviews
3.04 km away
The View
352 reviews
3.83 km away
Nearby Attractions
Whitsand Bay Hotel Country Club
33 reviews
4.31 km away
Port Eliot House & Gardens
59 reviews
5.06 km away
Finnygook Beach
38 reviews
4.10 km away
Antony House
229 reviews
2.40 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Dean H
24 June 2018|
Answer
Response from | Property representative |
Hi Dean, many thanks for your enquiry. We have an awful lot of work to do here and are very busy. The website is currently under re-design, and your future son-in-laws photograph and menu will be coming down very soon. Thank... More
0
Votes
Kath B
1 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from The-Carew-Arms | Property representative |
I would book if I were you - we tend to get quite busy at the weekend but we will always try and make room for you if we possibly can.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$13 - US$41
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Antony Hill, Torpoint PL11 3AB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Torpoint
  • Phone Number: +44 1752 814440
  • E-mail
Description
The Carew Arms is a seasonal, local, field-to-fork pub in the little village of Antony. The kitchen is headed up by Emily Watkins (ex The Fat Duck, Great British Menu winner for the South West and owner of The Kingham Plough) and Jack Clayton (ex The Gurnard's Head). There is also a hybrid community and farm shop, cafe and private dining room.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing