We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Cott Road, Lostwithiel PL22 0HW, England
+44 1208 872668
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

381 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 376: English reviews
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We walked from Lostwithiel as an excuse for lunch as it's always lovely here. A good range of food (although they can run short on busy days) and great coffee. Oh and there are plants for sale too!!

Helpful?
Thank Lesley D
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Scones and clotted cream were amaze balls. Don't know much else on what they served but came here once and was gutted it was closed on our second day.

Helpful?
Thank costasavva
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

A beautiful setting for lunch. Delicious, freshly prepared food and great service. Good value menu with lots of choice from sandwiches to salads and hot main courses. Delicious range of cakes and sweet treats! Lovely to browse in the shop and nursery afterwards.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola P
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having visited the cafe for just a quick drink whilst on a walk at the weekend, my partner and I (accompanied by two Jack Russells) returned for lunch. It was a little too cool to eat outside and, having enquired if there was an indoor dining area where we could take the dogs, we were directed to the orangery /... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank beverleymaclaughlin
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful setting with countryside views and lots of outdoor seating amid the nursery. As it was chilly when we arrived for lunch at ten to twelve we sat inside. It was very crowded and noisy and we had to clear our own table of several large boxes of glasses! After waiting ages a waitress arrived for our order. We waited... More 

Helpful?
Thank babs-4u
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely setting and views from the cafe especially if the weather is good and you can sit outdoors. Food was good and beautifully presented, the cakes looked fantastic (we didn't try them). The staff are very helpful and know the menu well. I had the Crab crostini which was nice, but only a small amount of crab (Which the waitress... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only visit a few times of year while in Cornwall. On previous visits the food has been excellent and worth returning for. Previously it had been hard to choose what to eat from the menu with so many nice choices. I am afraid this was not the case today. We had lamb bagettes with salad, not a good choice.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank caburke1970
DuchyNursery, Manager at Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble to post your review and I am sorry that your lamb baguettes were unsatisfactory. I do hope that you let your waitress know, so that she could deal with your complaint immediately. Thank you for your kind words about previous viisits and the quality of the food, as well as the nursery and the... More 

Liskeard, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I took a friend to the cafe on Tuesday 4th for her birthday. The food was lovely, the setting was lovely, the service was dreadful. Our waitress was completely uninterested, it took an hour to order and receive baguettes, having already waited 40 minutes for a table (not a complaint, just a busy time). We then ordered a pot of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dee T
DuchyNursery, Manager at Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, though I am sorry that it isn't more positive. We pride ourselves on customer service and so it is disappointing to read your comments. All the team read our Tripadvisor reviews and take them very seriously. Thank you for your kind comments about the food and ambience. We do hope... More 

Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having visited the cafe several times before and had a lovely lunch and brilliant service I was disappointed today to have to wait ages for service, not even overly busy. I did let the waitress know I wasn't happy, I think that just annoyed her but she did apologise. Unfortunately my much anticipated scone was hard and so dry I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fiona D
DuchyNursery, Manager at Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I am very sorry that you were less than satisfied. I am glad that you brought this to the attention of your waitress. I am also pleased to hear that you have enjoyed a lovely lunch and brilliant service previously. I do hope that we can tempt you back... More 

Liskeard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visit the Duchy frequently and it's one of the nicest places to visit, the ambience is warm and welcoming, food excellent and you couldn't ask for better service from all the staff. Mother's Day last Sunday did in fact exceed all my expectations and they were already high. The young lady who organised the lunch (there were 2 sittings)... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Judi P
DuchyNursery, Manager at Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, which has been much appreciated by all of the team here. We're so glad to hear that your high expectations were exceeded and that you had such an enjoyable Mother's Day. Thankyou once again for taking the trouble to post your kind words. More 

Travellers who viewed Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe also viewed

Lostwithiel, Cornwall
 
Lostwithiel, Cornwall
Lostwithiel, Cornwall
 

Been to Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$8 - US$24
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cott Road, Lostwithiel PL22 0HW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Lostwithiel
  • Phone Number: +44 1208 872668

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?