We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tandoori Hut

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Indian, Asian, Balti, Halal
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Wakefield Road | Staincross, Barnsley S75 6DJ, England
+44 1226 390037
Today
17:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 17:00 - 22:00
Fri - Sat 17:00 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

489 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 489: English reviews
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Got everyone together booked and went within an hr there were ten of us and we couldn't have asked for more we were never without a drink our food orders were spot on we had pickle trays,some had starters then mains,the naan breads shocked one or two with their size we finished with coffees for drivers and baileys for others... More 

Helpful?
Thank angela j
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

been here a few times not a fan of spicey food so tend to stick to the korma section lol but all in all good experiance good staff nice food try it its been going for years so must be pritty decent

Helpful?
Thank martin sutcliffe
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have been many times to the Hut and the experience has always been good. However this visit was let down by the service. On arrival it was obvious that the restaurant had booked far too many people in. We were given a "raffle ticket" not to win anything, but just to let us know when the table was ready. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris M
SBu_4, Public Relations Manager at Tandoori Hut, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thanks for your review and recognising that despite the wait our food as always was excellent. We'll take your comments on board and hopefully you will be back soon and the next time you visit you won't be made to wait... and we can get a 5*. Thanks, The Tandoori Hut Team More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited tandori hut again .. Lovely food had pickle tray mains and naan bread amazing food .. Yes price rise but not been 1 there for years and years still very good value .. Lovely resteraunt Will be back very soon

Helpful?
Thank Jill D
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here for the first time for my nieces birthday.The service was first class and staff very attentive.Meals were Very Good and we will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank Martin R
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Come here every new year but this one will be the last. After waiting nearly 2 hours for our meal 3 out of the 8 meals were very very spicy, so much so we couldn't eat them, when we paid and complained we were offered a discount. we declined this and said we wouldn't be coming back, to be honest... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Caj2017
SBu_4, Public Relations Manager at Tandoori Hut, responded to this review

Dear Customer, It's disappointing to read your review, we take great pride in the reputation we have developed for serving amazing Indian food! Our waiters always check during meals if everything is ok and no concerns were raised... had any complaints being raised at the time of eating (rather than at the end when they were almost completely eaten) we... More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my family have been to this restaurant every Christmas for the past 6 years and always have great things to say about it however my most recent experience is enough to put me off the place for good , I found glass in my food. I had a mouthful of my curry and rice and felt a crack... More 

Helpful?
Thank bar130494
SBu_4, Public Relations Manager at Tandoori Hut, responded to this review

Dear Customer, It's disappointing to read these reviews,as you say you have been many a time before and really enjoyed your experience - whilst you state you have always had good things to say, this is the first time you have made the effort to leave us a review on here. In response to your review, no glass is used... More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We go regular to the Tandoori Hut and every time it is great value and consistently excellent. On Christmas eve, it was one of the best meals I and the family have enjoyed anywhere. The food was perfect and service as ever warm and welcoming. All round terrific night

Helpful?
Thank David T
SBu_4, Public Relations Manager at Tandoori Hut, responded to this review

Dear Satisfied Customer, That you very much for your visit and taking the time to leave us this great review. At Tandoori Hut read such nice comments. We hope to see you again very soon! Thanks, The Tandoori Hut Team! More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided to try this restaraunt again, as we always used to enjoy our visits here. When the prices shot up, and the amount of Chicken in the Chicken dishes seemed to have been reduced noticeably, we stopped going here. We gave it another go - for old times sake, and because it's very local to us. I am sorry... More 

Helpful?
Thank Petek999
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Haven't been here for a while. Came here for my husbands birthday meal with friends and family. The food was great as always and the staff friendly. The restaurant and toilets lovely and clean.

Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
SBu_4, Public Relations Manager at Tandoori Hut, responded to this review

Dear Satisfied Customer, Thank you very much for your visit and taking the time to leave us this great review. At Tandoori Hut we love to read such nice comments. We hope to see you again very soon! Thanks, The Tandoori Hut Team! More 

Travellers who viewed Tandoori Hut also viewed

Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Tandoori Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Indian, Asian, Balti, Halal
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 22:00
Monday
17:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 22:00
Thursday
17:00 - 22:00
Friday
17:00 - 22:30
Saturday
17:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Wakefield Road | Staincross, Barnsley S75 6DJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Barnsley
  • Phone Number: +44 1226 390037

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Tandoori Hut and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Barnsley, United Kingdom
25 days ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Tandoori Hut staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?