We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Puss in Boots

€€ - €€€, British,
147 Nangreave Road, Stockport SK2 6DG, England
+44 161 456 5200
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good33%
  • Average9%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“char sui pork” (4 reviews)
“ham” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
147 Nangreave Road, Stockport SK2 6DG, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

All the Almonds pub chain premises are excellent. We usually visit the Spread Eagle in Romiley, but on this occasion we were invited to a get together, after a funeral, at the Puss in Boots, which is walking distance from the Stockport Cemetery. Sad occasion,...More

Thank Dr_Chris_Gordon
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Called in to the Puss in Boots as it has good reviews and as it’s a carvery we had high hopes. Carvery was closed until 5pm but the main menu was on so we were seated and given a menu - to say choice is...More

Thank Kate S
Reviewed 6 days ago

The Puss in Boots has changed a lot since i used to frequent the 'cats Bar' in the 1980's/90's! The decor is classy, calm and has been done very well. We had booked the private dining room which seats approximately 60 people and also the...More

Thank Lisa W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely pub and great service. Unfortunately the carvery was a huge disappointment. The beef undercooked, vegetables rock hard and well overpriced especially the kids meals. Too top it off no mash on a Sunday roast. Won’t be going back anytime soon!!!

1  Thank Steven R
Kate E, Public Relations Manager at Puss in Boots, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I’m so sorry you were disappointed with your meal. We'll be looking in to your comments about the food quality with the chefs Kind regards Kate Evans 0161 485 6001

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

On a family get together we all met at the Puss in Boots, the carvery was on offer at a reasonable price so we all opted for it. As usual with a carvery it is very difficult to keep vegetables from drying up under the...More

1  Thank Lubester
Kate E, Public Relations Manager at Puss in Boots, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I’m so sorry you were disappointed with your carvery this time. We're well known for our excellent carvery so to hear yours wasn't up to standard is worrying. I will make sure I pass this on...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food and service at this great pub keeps us coming back for more. I'm not much of a fan of Sunday carverys as meat tends to be ok but everything else under cooked or over cooked. However I am happy to report there are...More

Thank James F
Kate E, Public Relations Manager at Puss in Boots, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments, it’s always great to hear from our satisfied customers. We’ll look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Kate Evans 0161 485 6001

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff are very friendly and welcoming. We meat here on a regular basis with some very good friends. The atmosphere is very good. you don't need to book as this is a very busy restaurant and the staff make sure you have a table...More

Thank Eileen J
Kate E, Public Relations Manager at Puss in Boots, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I’m pleased you enjoy your visits with us. We’ll hopefully see you soon. Kind regards Kate Evans 0161 485 6001

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Been a while since last visit but it still remains a top notch place to eat. Food is amazing and service is second to none. We received a very warm welcome, all staff were polite and ensured our visit went well. The manager and his...More

1  Thank PhilR477
Kate E, Public Relations Manager at Puss in Boots, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your review, we love hearing from our customers and I’m glad you enjoyed your meal. We’ll look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Kate Evans 0161 485 6001

Reviewed 17 September 2017

Visited on a Saturday evening as a birthday treat for the wife with myself, son and grandson. Although the pub is tastefully decorated we found the ambience noisy if not rowdy with a number of not so desirable customers complete with attitude and bad language...More

1  Thank gerry w
Kate E, Public Relations Manager at Puss in Boots, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to review our pub. I’m sorry you were disappointed with your visit. We appreciate all feedback and value our customers and their opinions. I will be looking into your comments about the atmosphere and service. I’d be happy to discuss...More

Reviewed 14 September 2017

This pub is great! Great service, great choice of drinks. The Carvery is just quality. Great choice of meats. Loads of veg to choose from and every time I've been selection of veg and potatoes has always been full so you're never waiting to fill...More

Thank Tiddy84
Kate E, Public Relations Manager at Puss in Boots, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I’m pleased you enjoyed your visit with us. We’ll hopefully see you soon. Kind regards Kate Evans 0161 485 6001

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bamford Arms Beefeater
399 reviews
.72 km away
Mr Ali's
126 reviews
.91 km away
Kathmandu Restaurant
55 reviews
.70 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Golden Hind
18 reviews
1.03 km away
Woodbank Memorial Park
42 reviews
1.54 km away
Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council, Town Hall
28 reviews
1.58 km away
Stockport Art Gallery War Memorial
18 reviews
1.59 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mark B
10 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Kate E | Property representative |
Hi, yes we are as a matter of fact! Please call us on 0161 456 5200
1
Vote
Adele V
1 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Kate E | Property representative |
Yes we do! It's exactly how everyone has described (thanks). Every Thursday, £2 supper and £100 worth of vouchers to be won every week!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 147 Nangreave Road, Stockport SK2 6DG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Stockport
  • Phone Number: +44 161 456 5200
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing