We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fox

€€ - €€€, British,
129 Bradford Rd | Menston, Ilkley LS29 6EB, England
+44 1943 873024
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good25%
  • Average14%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“pork” (16 reviews)
“fish cakes” (10 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
129 Bradford Rd | Menston, Ilkley LS29 6EB, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We used to come here on a very regular basis until the last manager unfortunately moved on. It's a lovely warm pub serving good food with drinks to match. Well it used to be. Since the new manager has been in charge the place has...More

1  Thank Cliffylad1
Reviewed 6 days ago

Excellent service and food from start to finish, although very busy we were served in a good time, one small downside was the drinks were a little expensiveMore

Thank Ian M
The Fox M, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Ian, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am pleased to hear that you were impressed with both our food and service. I will pass your comments on to the rest of our team. In regards to your opinion...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I persuaded my two friends to go to The Fox, one of them wanted to go elsewhere, I said the food, even though more expensive, atmosphere etc. would be better than the restaurant she wanted to go to. However how I regretted my decision! We...More

3  Thank ruth705
The Fox M, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Ruth, I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your most recent visit to The Fox and I can understand how you must feel after convincing your friends to come here instead of elsewhere. Firstly, I would like to apologise for the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have been to the fox many a times, the last few visits have been absolutely diabolical! It use to have lovely food and amazing service. This time the restaurant was half full (so we thought the service will be quick). Oh how wrong we...More

2  Thank aliceobrien
The Fox M, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Alice, After reading the review you left us, I am very disappointed to hear that your visit to The Fox was not as expected. I have spoken to my team to address some of the issues you have mentioned, and we are working on...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very warm welcome from both Lisa & Joe taken to table by Lisa given menu Lisa had a very good knowledge of both food and drinks all food is freshly cooked when ordered when food was received it Was mouthwatering will be going again definitelyMore

Thank 178stuarty
The Fox M, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Morning, Thank you for leaving us a positive review. We always aim to make our guests feel welcome in entering The Fox and I am pleased to hear that you recieved that. I have passed your comments on to Jo and Lisa and they...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stopped eating at The Fox a couple of years ago due to poor quality and inconsistent food. We decided to give it another chance when we had family staying with us. The food was excellent and our waiter could not have...More

Thank Sarah G
The Fox M, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Morning Sarah, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review. I am pleased to see that you have given us another chance after being disappointed a few years ago. I am delighted that we have changed your opinion of The...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came for lunch on a Saturday and were offered a nice table tucked away in a corner and surrounded by books and objet d'art. The lighting here is just right, it feels soft and romantic but at the same time illuminates your food clearly....More

Thank Yorkshiresole
The Fox M, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thankyou so much for the recent 5* review you have left us. I have passed these comments on to the kitchen who appreciate the kind words and also constructive criticism. As our kitchen team is large it could be a case of some are slightly...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went here with a few friends, had a lovely window seat. Food was lovely, we ate off the set lunch menu so for 2 courses it was £11.95. I had the Bree to start followed by the gammon and it was lovely ! Will definitely...More

Thank Watts_93
The Fox M, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, thankyou so much for the recent 5* review you left us, it is much appreciated by both myself and my team. I have also passed these kind comments on to our kitchen team. We look forward to you returning. Mat

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Decided to opt for the lunch special deal of two courses for £11.95. Reasonable amount of choice but the bought in "starter" food doesn't sit too comfortably on the imitation slate plates and cucumber strips. However, the crispy chicken was quite a palatable starter if...More

Thank Steven N
The Fox M, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Steven, thankyou for your recent 4* review. We are pleased you enjoyed your food although I do apologise that certain aspects weren't quite as expected or possibly over-priced in your opinion - we do have regular pricing surveys and also menu changes which do...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The number one mistake restaurants make is not making their staff appreciate the customers. In this respect The Fox gets it just right. Smiling hostess, running around like crazy, making sure it's working. Good to see. Our waiter was friendly, but rather too laid back,...More

Thank atayqed
The Fox M, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am pleased to hear you have enjoyed your most recent visit to The Fox and that you were satisfied with the service you received. All our team realise that although the...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Chevin Inn
278 reviews
.77 km away
Solo Catering and Delicasolo
16 reviews
.76 km away
Menston Arms
9 reviews
.96 km away
Hare & Hounds
225 reviews
.71 km away
Nearby Attractions
Guiseley Retail Park
25 reviews
2.99 km away
Wharfe Meadows Park Otley
93 reviews
3.48 km away
Coopers - Bar, Dining & Function Room
15 reviews
2.72 km away
Otley Courthouse Arts Centre
32 reviews
3.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Fox staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 129 Bradford Rd | Menston, Ilkley LS29 6EB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Ilkley
  • Phone Number: +44 1943 873024
  • E-mail
Description
traditional Yorkshire village pub & restaurant
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing