We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Martha and Vincent's - CLOSED

39 The Grove, Ilkley LS29 9NJ, England
+44 1943 602444
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good24%
  • Average8%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
11 Sep 2015
“Good wine selection to complement a great menu.”
30 Jul 2015
“Superb fine dining restaurant”
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
British, French, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
39 The Grove, Ilkley LS29 9NJ, England
All Details
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2015

Love this place - brings back many happy memories over the years as this was the first date venue my wife & I went on quite a number of years ago when it was called Tubby Wadlows. Good wine selection to complement a great menu.

1  Thank Paul G
Reviewed 30 July 2015

We had a fantastic Steak at Martha and Vincent. It was a fine dining experience in a great location. It was a great blend of fine food, great service and an intimate venue.

1  Thank Sam P
Reviewed 24 May 2015

This restaurant closed down several weeks ago having failed to attract much custom. I am not attempting to write a review but filling your boxes with random answers because they are "required fields".

6  Thank DAVID F
Reviewed 23 February 2015

Martha & Vincents on the Grove in Ilkley looks very attractive from the exterior. We were booked in for Sunday lunch at 12.30pm. It didn't start very well as we were seated and then left .... no offer of drinks for 10 minutes and even...More

9  Thank Highleghlady
Reviewed 18 February 2015

Had to wait some time, being ignored standing by the door, before being welcomed and taken to our pre-booked table. The owner was more interested chatting at the small bar rather than attending to his diners. The food was not as good as expected and...More

6  Thank David W
MarthaAndVincent, General Manager at Martha and Vincent's, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2015

Dear David, many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I must admit, that I have been tempted to have it removed and I probably will, if you don’t get back to me & give me some constructive reasons for not doing it....More

Reviewed 12 February 2015

Went out with some very good friends for dinner on Saturday 7th February 2015. The food was the worst ever and the service very slow. Our meals all came at different times and as we were a party of six some had cold food whilst...More

7  Thank Elizabeth B
MarthaAndVincent, General Manager at Martha and Vincent's, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2015

Dear Elizabeth many thanks for your review, I truly emphasise with your negative comments and it is with great sadness, that I am reading the last line of it. I would like to apologize for your bad experienced. As we have mention to your group...More

Reviewed 4 February 2015

We have been to Martha and Vincents on a couple of occasions and before thought both food and service excellent, however on this occasion it was below par, which is a shame because we were treating friends to a meal to celebrate their wedding! The...More

4  Thank LADYRAWDON
MarthaAndVincent, Manager at Martha and Vincent's, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2015

Dear Ladyrawdon, many thanks for your review, I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced. As you have mention, in your review, you have already eaten on a couple of occasions and thought that both food and service...More

Reviewed 1 February 2015

My dad and I had Sunday lunch here today and, even though we've been many times before and always enjoyed it, it was even better today! We were treated an amuse-bouche of deep fried skate wing which was delicious, I had crispy mackerel fish cake...More

1  Thank Judith E
MarthaAndVincent, Manager at Martha and Vincent's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2015

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taken the time to write a lovelly review about your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to M&V soon and be sure to keep an eye on our website for the latest special promotions...More

Reviewed 1 February 2015 via mobile

Popped in for Saturday lunch after visiting Ilkley for the first time. Set price lunch menu available. Food was nice but dessert was tepid. Whilst not empty, we did have to wait prolonged periods of time for our food which was disappointing. As, to be...More

2  Thank LouiseFrear
MarthaAndVincent, Manager at Martha and Vincent's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2015

Dear Guest, I'm so sorry that you felt so uncomfortable with our attention to details regarding the service. We pride our selfs to provide to all the guest top service and atention to details. If only you would let us know that you did not...More

Reviewed 27 January 2015

We have been to Martha and Vincent's on a few occasions - always for Sunday lunch, which is available from lunch time into the evening. A wholesome welcome is a good start and the friendly, attentive service continues throughout the meal. First rate fine dining...More

1  Thank DandGLeeds
MarthaAndVincent, Manager at Martha and Vincent's, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2015

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the time taken to write your review and that M&V is your 1st choice when you visit Ilkley. Let me know when your next visit to Ilkley so that i can keep your favorite table, we look forward...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Box Tree
737 reviews
.21 km away
Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms - Ilkley
766 reviews
.12 km away
The Vine
224 reviews
.21 km away
La Casita
225 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby Attractions
The DalesWay
80 reviews
.32 km away
King's Hall and Winter Garden
48 reviews
.37 km away
Ilkley Pool & Lido
77 reviews
.96 km away
Ilkley Tourist Information Centre
13 reviews
.37 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$20 - US$54
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 20:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 39 The Grove, Ilkley LS29 9NJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Ilkley
  • Phone Number: +44 1943 602444
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing