We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jean Bonnet Tavern

) #2 of 38 Restaurants in Bedford €€ - €€€ Seafood, American,
6048 Lincoln Hwy, Bedford, PA 15522-6960
+1 814-623-2250
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good32%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“oatmeal pie” (40 reviews)
“bison burger” (43 reviews)
“french dip” (29 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Seafood, American, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
€€ - €€€
6048 Lincoln Hwy, Bedford, PA 15522-6960
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 846 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

this restaurant was recommended to us by staff at the Bedford Springs Resort as well as some friends. I cannot understand what the fuss was all about. Food was average at best and service was poor. Let me be clear...the servers were friendly, polite and...More

Thank Sharon L
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

After a fun day of seeing covered bridge, shops in town and just having fun with friends we made this out final stop of the day. The overall history of the place is intriguing. I will let you do your own research. The food is...More

Thank Lori F
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Staying in Bedford, we were told this was THE place to go for a good dinner, plus it was a historic landmark and we were not disappointed. Eating in the dining room the food was great and the historic colonial feel was definitely there. In...More

Thank Atlantis104
Management response:Responded yesterday

Thank you. Liz is a great staff member and I am so glad you enjoyed your experience both times you were here. Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We were excited to give Jean Bonnet Tavern a second chance after having a bad experience two years ago. Well, this was even worse. We were ignored when we entered then waited 15 minutes to be seated then once seated we sat for 15 minutes...More

Thank Jeff K
Management response:Responded yesterday

I'm sorry you had to wait to be seated but you had a large group and we were already full so we got you a table as quick as we could. We had lots of room outside but it was very hot outside. The bar...More

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Had lunch here two years ago. Was absolutely wonderful. Had the Bison Burger with BBQ Sauce. Took my sister and brother-in-law today for lunch. Had the fish and onion rings. WOW, the fish was really good the onion rings were outstanding, tasted like they just...More

Thank AFshirt
Management response:Responded yesterday

Thank you so much! The Bison burger is local and fresh. All of our desserts are made in house along with most of our menu items. I'm so glad you enjoyed everything and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

This is the second time we've tried the Jean Bonnet Tavern and it disappoints every single time! The service has been awful both times! It is overpriced and you'll have to wait 45 mins to an hour for food! 86 degrees upstairs and hotter downstairs!...More

Thank Kristin K
Management response:Responded 2 days ago

It was almost 100 degrees outside with very high humidity in a 260 year old building that was extremely full of customers so I agree that it was warm. Your food was ready when you had decided you didn't want it anymore, but the 45...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great food and atmosphere. Fascinating history. But watch the speed bumps in the parking lot, they're almost enough to knock your head off the window even at slow speedsMore

Thank Wings77
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Sorry about the speed bumps but they are there for guest safety. We had to put them in to slow traffic cutting through our parking lot at a very high rate of speed. It is a area with lots of foot traffic and a lot...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

On Sunday, July 9, 2017 we had lunch at about 1:00 pm. While busy, there was no waiting but after ordering sandwiches, it took 25 minutes to get our meal. Food was average, buns on sandwiches was crumbly. Jean Bonnet Inn was touted on Tripadvisor...More

Thank Anthony G
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

I'm sorry you did not enjoy your visit. We make our buns every day from scratch and many customers enjoy them very much. Thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stop here each year. Good is great and service terrific. Love the little store and the atmosphere upstairs.

Thank 765jillf
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We've eaten here several times when we visit Bedford. The food is always good and the ambience is very cool. The salads are really good. So are the burgers.

Thank Chris C
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Thank you very much!

Nearby Restaurants
10/09 Kitchen
430 reviews
5.58 km away
LIFeSTYLE Italian food and style
108 reviews
5.54 km away
Horn O Plenty
269 reviews
2.56 km away
Nearby Attractions
Old Bedford Village
179 reviews
4.30 km away
Coral Caverns
33 reviews
4.53 km away
Shawnee State Park
32 reviews
6.62 km away
The Historic Lincoln Highway
80 reviews
2.21 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
21 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 13 answers
Response from jbonn | Property representative |
There is no dress code, but guest tend to wear casual clothes during lunch and dressy casual for dinner
Laura L
2 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from CruisingDJ | Reviewed this property |
Because I do not know when you are going, how many of you there will be and what type room you want, the web site should answer all of your questions. Trip Advisor does not permit web addresses so simply Google: Jean... More
30 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Mary Jane S | Reviewed this property |
They are closed all major holidays including Memorial, Independence and Labor days.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$10 - US$40
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
11:00 - 21:00
11:00 - 21:00
11:00 - 21:00
11:00 - 21:00
11:00 - 21:00
11:00 - 22:00
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6048 Lincoln Hwy, Bedford, PA 15522-6960
  • Location: United States  >  Pennsylvania (PA)  >  Bedford
  • Phone Number: +1 814-623-2250
  • E-mail
Historic landmark located in a 250+ year-old stone building. Slow roasted Prime Rib, house-made Crab Cakes, fresh baked breads, desserts made from scratch and fresh local ingredients make us a popular dining destination. 18 beers on tap, featuring Pennsylvania craft brewed beers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing