We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, American, Bar
FEATURES
Takeout, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Table Service
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
17
14
7
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
17
14
7
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wood fired pizza pepperoni thin crust appetizer platter great dinner plenty of parking last night server delaware flavoring vernon mt onions dressing
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've always enjoyed Amato's food -- wood-fired pizzas, spaghetti, etc.... But when you eat inside the restaurant and wish to order a drink, the drink menu is displayed on a TV that you have to stand in front of to see what is offered. So...you have to leave your table, go stand in front of the TV and wait for it scroll through the drink options. It's just very odd and inconvenient. If the restaurant was full, I don't know how this would work. Otherwise, though, the food and service are good so I go back occasionally.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 7 October 2020 via mobile

3 amazing words - wood-fired pizza. In this case @amatoswoodfiredpizza in Delaware Ohio. I ordered a small with mozzarella, onion, green pepper, sausage, pepperoni. A wonderfully thin crust, crispy with all fresh toppings. Definitely a great pizza.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 4 October 2020

We ordered take-out from here and it was average pizza. We've had other wood fired pizza that was better. The crust was a little on the thin side. Topping choices were good.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 28 September 2020 via mobile

Very Good pizza!! Great service. We were passing through Mt Vernon and stopped in late in the evening. Ate at the bar, and the bar tender was very knowledgeable on all the pizzas to go along with a very good beer selection! Fairly priced! Bar...had quite a few TVs for sports viewing, keno machine, cool vibe, and plenty of seating overall! Had the anti pasta plate as well= excellent. Lost my pizza pics.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 18 July 2020

The place is medium pricing for the products you get. We ordered Blanca pizza with mushrooms added- The pizza itself was delicious besides the overpowering munster cheese. That should be outlawed on pizza as it takes away from the quality of the product. We also...ordered the sausage appetizer which was extremely spicy and pricy for what you get. The garlic bread is dry bread with nothing more than butter and a little garlic flavoring. I would suggest never getting that. And The steak sub was also underwhelming. Stick to ordering pizza from this place as the rest of the menu is subpar in quality. With all the rave reviews I'd had much higher hopes for this place as I love wood fired pizzas. Overall I may be willing to give it another chance. DO NOT ORDER ANYTHING EXCEPT PIZZA.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 24 March 2020

We carried out during the COVID crisis. Everyone was gloved up; they wiped down the pen for signing my credit card receipt. Food was tasty!

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 7 March 2020 via mobile

We went to Amato’s on a Saturday evening with a large group. We arrived at about 8:15 and we did not call ahead. We went in knowing we had a group and not expecting any special treatment. From the moment we walked in, they had...an attitude with us and clearly wished we’d go somewhere else. We did not all sit at the same table, but we all ordered at approximately the same time. Most of our friends received their food and finished their dinners. Our server kept assuring us that our food would be right up. Some of our friends actually paid and left and we still did not have our food. Over an hour after we ordered, the salads came out, and shortly after that the pizzas arrived. Our server, Jasmine, was sweet, polite, and apologetic. But at least two managers and a couple other servers were the picture of horrible customer service. Instead of apologizing about the wait, they continually commented about how they really weren’t able to accommodate our group ( even though the restaurant clearly had seating to accommodate our group as well as an entire restaurant full of people). The manager was extremely unprofessional when we asked about a discount due to our wait. She NEVER once apologized or expressed any concern about our unpleasant experience. Both managers said they couldn’t reach the owner and did not seem empowered ( or competent) to deal with situations on their own. Based on the horrible customer service alone, I would never recommend this restaurant. It would have been very easy for the staff of Amato’s to tell us they were short staffed or whatever the problem was. Instead, they treated us poorly. Customer service and a friendly attitude go a LONG way in the restaurant business. Think twice before spending your money there.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
EricaE37, Owner at Amato's Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2020

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I think some clarification is needed on what happened last night. First, there were 30 of you, along with another group of 30 at the same time. Your food was entered into the computer system at...More

Reviewed 28 February 2020 via mobile

We love the pizza and come at lunchtime but may not return because the music has been too loud and isn’t relaxing. We said something but they left it at the same level. Also used to love the tarragon dressing but it was bland this...time. Disappointed because we use to enjoy coming and pizza is still great but it was not an enjoyable dining experience.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 18 July 2019

Amato's – We stopped in this place last night for a quick rendezvous dinner prior to me taking off on a flight. The wines are cheap and really pretty good!!! The bar is a cool place to meet and drink and the dining area also...is very nice. I had a chicken alfredo and it was really nice and the chicken was very tender!!! Our server was Allie and she was the best!!! Very attentive and did a great job of helping us by describing the dishes we were interested in. Plenty of parking and a great place for pizza, so they say!!! I like their Italian choices and the prices of the wines ($4). A nice place to stop in Mt. Vernon right on Rt. 13 headed North toward Fredericktown!!!!More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 18 July 2019

We stopped for dinner and shared the grilled appetizer platter and a Napoli (+ sausage) pizza. Kind of an odd building, but don't let that deter you. This was a great dinner from start to finish. The grilled steak to start and asparagus….perfect. And the...pizza crust was really strong. Overall a great dinner.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Mount Vernon Inn
395 reviews
1.21 km away
The Mount Vernon Grand Hotel
318 reviews
1.47 km away
Comfort Inn Mount Vernon
87 reviews
1.89 km away
Super 8 by Wyndham Mt. Vernon
264 reviews
3.32 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Alcove Restaurant & Lounge
196 reviews
1.55 km away
Fiesta Mexicana
135 reviews
1.30 km away
Stein Brewing Company
36 reviews
1.52 km away
North Main Cafe
32 reviews
1.31 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Ariel-Foundation Park
116 reviews
2.14 km away
Kokosing Gap Trail
101 reviews
2.79 km away
Harmony Playground at Memorial Park
18 reviews
2.53 km away
Pine Row Studio
19 reviews
1.62 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Amato's Woodfired Pizza staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing