We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Stables

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Fontwell Park Fontwell Avenue | Fontwell Avenue, Fontwell BN18 0SY, England
+44 1243 543082
Website
Today
12:00 - 22:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

376 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 374: English reviews
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Went for lunch with girlfriends and we were made very welcome. We had a free bottle of Prosecco as it was one of our birthdays. We enjoyed the food and the surroundings as the atmosphere is very relaxed. The staff were very attentive and pleasant and nothing was too much trouble.

Helpful?
Thank 226christine
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were visiting friends in the area for a few days, while there we invited some friends to join us for a meal at the Stables, My wife ordered the 'CRISPY DUCK SALAD', it arrived in a bowl, all you could see was a pile of leaves with not even a dressing on it !, we counted FIVE minute pieces... More 

Helpful?
Thank mollymick2015
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We visit The Old Stables on a weekly basis. Although we haven't eaten here. we always have 2 lovely pots of tea and 2 Lattes. Both are strong. Seating is comfortable. We always find the sofa in front of a log fire.However, we may lose our comfy sofa as the summer influx begins, What makes this place special are the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very disappointing meal after the races at fontwell ,patronising waiter ,average food ,pushy for sales , won't be visiting here again ,beware of the sticky duck salad it has heaps of fresh chilli in it !!

Helpful?
Thank DianeT32
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have never eaten here before but decided to meet friends who were visiting from Somerset and this was on their way back home. We met in the carpark where there is plenty of free parking and there was a very warm welcome from the lady behind the bar. The pub was spotless and despite being set between a couple... More 

Helpful?
Thank 600bonnie
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had fish and chips which was. I was impressed by surroundings and range of menu. Everything was fairly priced. Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Mick S
Littlehampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

The food is always of a very hight standard, piping hot and very well presented. The team are always very welcoming, knowledgeable about the food and drinks and nothing is too much trouble for them. The day we visited we were served by Cath, the manager, and Sheila, both of whom made us feel very welcome.

Helpful?
Thank 166websites
Clanfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

We dined at 7pm Friday 12th May & had a different, disappointing experience than the review I've just read from someone who must have dined at the same time. Hence must be inconsistent! Our waitress was pleasant enough& the problems we encountered weren' t exclusively down to her. From the top-our drinks persistently came with ice despite asking for none.... More 

Helpful?
Thank katlady56
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Stables, responded to this review

Hi Katlady56, Sorry to hear your visit wasn't great. We unfortunately had to source chips from elsewhere earlier that day due to a delivery shortfall and were awaiting these, as you said they did turn up and we were able to then use the correct product. Our apologies for this as you should have been told. Thank you for your... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visit regularly as this is consistently good. OK its a chain with the food arriving in a large lorry same as all the others, But its good quality very well cooked, nice atmosphere, comfortable surroundings and great service. The discount system by email is a bit complex and annoying, does not apply to certain things, but negotiate this and its... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravellerJP
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Stables, responded to this review

Hi TravellerJP, Thanks for the feedback. I'm glad you had a great time, we are looking at our discounts and how to make them a bit more user friendly. Your server Niki will be pleased that you enjoyed yourselves. More 

Climping
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a joint birthday celebration. My friend had had a bad experience at a vintage inn but she loved the beef short rib and the ambience was excellent.Danielle the waitress was bubbly and helpful great time will be returning

Helpful?
Thank Sheila C
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Stables, responded to this review

Thanks for your review I'm glad you enjoyed your evening and that your friend had a great time. I'll pass on your comments to Danielle and the team. We hope to see you again soon More 

Travellers who viewed The Old Stables also viewed

Climping, Arun District
Worthing, West Sussex
 
Hassocks, West Sussex
Arundel, Arun District
 

Been to The Old Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Fontwell Park Fontwell Avenue | Fontwell Avenue, Fontwell BN18 0SY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Fontwell
  • Phone Number: +44 1243 543082
Description
The Old Stables in Fontwell is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Old Stables and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Stables staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?