We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery

) #9 of 57 Restaurants in Washington , British,
Emerson Road, Washington NE37 1LE, England
+44 191 419 4449
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good34%
  • Average20%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“sundae” (13 reviews)
“yorkshires” (11 reviews)
“roast beef” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Emerson Road, Washington NE37 1LE, England
Write a Review
Reviews (725)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

It is standard Toby Carvery fare. The Merlot was reasonably priced and the meal was satisfactory. They did offer a chicken salad which I enjoyed.

Thank GregJK
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Once again a great lunch at the Toby Washington, food great, service excellent, soft drinks as everywhere still seem over priced, Can't fault the price for the carvery with choice of four meats as well as the choice of numerous vegetables and amazing Yorkshire pudding...More

Thank ken m
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went around quarter to ten to find no breakfast puddings left, hard eggs, no potatoes, asked to be told no more would be going out considering we still paid full price as you pay on entry we were pretty disappointedMore

Thank Mrsvineberg
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Mrsvineberg, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. We serve breakfast until 11am everyday, We would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please reach out to us directly at 0191 419 4449 when you have a...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came in here for evening meal as staying in hotel nearby. Friendly welcome, quick service and carvery excellent as was the shared sundae. Great value for money

Thank erob320
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for leaving us some good comments for us today We are always more than happy to assist you if anything else comes up. Take care!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Used to visit this place with work colleagues on a Friday for breakfast after a week of night shifts and the quality of service and food were always good. I recently visited for breakfast with family and found it had gone downhill, the food bowls...More

Thank GSAhippo
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. We would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please reach out to use directly at 0191 419 4449 when you have a chance. Thank you, and we look forward...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not bad, plenty of choice and you can pile your plate high. Roast spuds weren't much to write home about but good Yorkshires and the Apple & Damson crumble was nice.

Thank uk_travellerSuffolk
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving us your comments.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff excellent and give great service. Roast beef fatty and horrible and badly cut by chef.If they got it all together it would be good.

Thank unwell
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. As a business we try and serve great food with great service. I'm sorry you were unhappy with the beef but thanks for being this to our attention. Regards Management team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went for the carvery today as my 80 year old mother usually enjoys it and can park close by. I thought it had been deteriorating the last few times we had been but went for her. Wish I hadn't. Again, you could see through the...More

Thank Margemet
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Margemet, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. We would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please reach out to use directly...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for breakfast as staying in the premier inn. £15 for 2 of us I glass of orange each. The food was awful. very greasy and all spoilt by being under the lights on the carvery section. Everything tasted like rubber so had obviously sat...More

Thank golfer45Scotland
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We regret to hear that you had this experience with us. We would like the opportunity to find out how we can better assist you in the future. If you are willing, please contact us 01914194449.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped at this Toby Carvery from a day out in Northumberland (on a Sunday), usually frequent the Toby Carvery at York. Was beautifully clean, toilets were immaculate, we were seated quickly, and at the end of the meal, we were asked if we had any...More

Thank MrsC2608
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi MrsC2608, Thanks you for your lovely feedback. As a team we strive to give great guest service and delighted we made your experience with us a good one. I will make sure to pass your comments on to all of the team and hope...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Tavistock Italia Gastro Pub at The Board Inn
414 reviews
.74 km away
Barley Mow Inn
54 reviews
1.22 km away
San Lorenzo
154 reviews
1.30 km away
Nearby Attractions
Fusion Studios
6 reviews
1.67 km away
Riverside Park
56 reviews
3.67 km away
Penshaw Monument
274 reviews
4.52 km away
WWT Washington Wetland Centre
281 reviews
4.57 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
161mia
Do u accept dogs in restraunt?
25 August 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Karen M | Reviewed this property |
I would not say it's a dog frienfly place as its a family pub
0
Votes
Michelle W
What time does the carvery finish midweek?
7 April 2015|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from Gary K | Reviewed this property |
I think it is about 21.30pm but it is some time since my last visit and it was much earlier in the evening please check with them to make sure
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$15
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 23:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Emerson Road, Washington NE37 1LE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Washington
  • Phone Number: +44 191 419 4449
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing