We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ye Olde Rock Inn

€€ - €€€, British,
Old Buxton Road | Upper Hulme, Leek ST13 8TY, England
+44 1538 300324
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good32%
  • Average6%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (46 reviews)
“mixed grill” (15 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Old Buxton Road | Upper Hulme, Leek ST13 8TY, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We often come here for family birthdays, usually at least 10 of us and have always been more than happy. One of our favourite menu items is the hot rocks where they serve you steak that you can cook to your liking on a heated...More

Thank Marc R
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It is a good dinning experience and the service is fast and friendly. There is a large variety of food that is offered. We had a Birthday party for my Grandmothers 80th birthday. We forgot to bring plates and a knife for our cake and...More

Thank clone t
Reviewed 7 November 2017

called in to see what food they may do on a sunday. ended up having a steak burgers,they where great.asked if we needed to book for sunday lunch , no was the reply. arrived at 2.15 to find them cleaning off the lunch menu board....More

Thank bobthegardener2016
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

After a lovely walk on the Roaches, we decided to call here for a drink and some food. Having seen that the pub welcomed muddy boots and dogs we thought we’d give it a go. We found out on arrival that dogs were only welcome...More

Thank Diane131
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

I would love to come back at anytime soon. The owner said thank you in sign language on our way out. Very respected and friendly. Definitely coming back again for the steak!

Thank Ryan M
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We arrived late due to work commitments. This wasn't a problem and the staff accommodated us. Food was superb, hot, fresh and cooked beautifully. Couldn't fault the staff or the food. Would definitely recommend.

Thank DM7388
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We should have left when we found out that the young bar staff did know what mild or Mackerson was. Whilst the staff are pleasant if somewhat very young the food was terrible. The fish and chips I had were inedible tasting of old fat/oil...More

1  Thank Robert J
Reviewed 25 August 2017

We have stayed at the Don Whillans hut at the bottom of the Roaches for a few years now and have always come back to this pub! The staff are great and the food is excellent. They cater well for large groups. There is a...More

Thank Becky K
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We visited the rock inn this evening with friends, we feel as though the meals are over priced for the quality of food that you receive. The service was spot on making us feel very welcome. We will not rush back as there are many...More

1  Thank Steve C
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Our first visit to this pub and we were very happy with our experience The food was absolutely fantastic the hunters chicken was full of flavour, steak was cooked absolutely perfect and the creamy Stilton sauce was lovely, and the lasagne my dad quoted as...More

Thank AbbiJadeHughes
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Red Lion
296 reviews
1.42 km away
Sera Cafe Bistro
314 reviews
.72 km away
Haregate Fish Bar
16 reviews
.69 km away
Nearby Attractions
Rudyard Lake
190 reviews
4.99 km away
Beaver Hall Equestrian Centre
46 reviews
6.04 km away
Deep Hayes Country Park
15 reviews
6.08 km away
Mad-Renaline Activities
222 reviews
6.24 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
readyartbrut
20 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Diane131 | Reviewed this property |
Yes but you have to sit in the pool room which isn’t ideal, wouldn’t recommend 👎🏼
0
Votes
Candypoo
15 February 2015|
Answer
Response from YeOldeRockInn | Property representative |
Hi there, We serve food 'til 9.00pm every night, including Sunday's. Many thanks, Simon.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$24
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Old Buxton Road | Upper Hulme, Leek ST13 8TY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Leek
  • Phone Number: +44 1538 300324
  • E-mail
Description
Ye Olde Rock Inn is a charming country inn dating back to the 17th century. Located at the foot of The Roaches and in the heart of the Peak District National Park it is an ideal base for walking, climbing and cycling or simply a beautiful backdrop for drink and a bite to eat.We pride ourselves on providing a friendly atmosphere for you to enjoy a relaxed drink and great home cooked food.We have a traditional bar lounge, large dining area, separate TV room and a pool room with our hikers bar (muddy boots & dogs welcome!). Weather permitting we have patio areas at the front and at the rear of the pub. We also have a function room and restaurant and for those who want to stay a little longer we even have a self contained, fully equipped, holiday flat which sleeps up to 4 people.Our extensive menu offers something for all tastes, whether you’re looking for a home made curry or chilli con carne or a more traditional choice of steaks or beer battered haddock (made with our own real ale). We offer a variety of meals on our specials board each day and we do a traditional roast dinner every Sunday lunchtime. We are also really excited to offer the unique, healthy and interactive HOT ROCK dining experience.We offer a wide range of draft and bottled beer. With bitters, lagers and ciders to suit all tastes, plus three cask ales, at least one of which is always from a local brewery.With over 30 different spirits, an extensive wine list and a good variety of soft drinks, you will never be short of choice at Ye Olde Rock Inn.We also offer a wide range of hot drinks as well so if you need warming up after a good walk on the Roaches on a cold winters day, fancy a nice afternoon coffee and cake, or just want to finish off your meal with an espresso or liqueur coffee, we have just what you’re looking for.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing