We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waterfront Public House

€€ - €€€, British,
Barton Marina, Barton-under-Needwood, Burton upon Trent DE13 8AS, England
+44 1283 711500
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good24%
  • Average16%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible19%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (10 reviews)
“pub food” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Barton Marina, Barton-under-Needwood, Burton upon Trent DE13 8AS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (923)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 922 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited this pub as it was conveniently situated a short distance from the Red Carpet Cinema and we were seated in the part of the restaurant overlooking the marina. My wife had the fish cake as a main course and was highly appreciative of...More

1  Thank poldog99
Waterfrontpub, Director of Sales at The Waterfront Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good to hear that you and your wife enjoyed lunch so much yesterday. We're sure that you'll equally enjoy the pizzas on your next visit. These are freshly made and cooked in the stone-based oven. The Quarterdeck, as we call the orangery extension to the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited last year and returned last week, a perfect place on a cold day, we enjoyed a drink in front of the roaring fire. The staff are friendly and the food was great, we enjoyed some soup and seafood sharer. It was great, we...More

2  Thank jodiemeeson
Waterfrontpub, Public Relations Manager at The Waterfront Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

All the staff much appreciate your kind comments. We now have the hot mulled wine to go with the roaring fire. The Christmas Fayre menu is a real hit so we hope you'll be back again soon. If not, all best wishes for the season...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having not visited the waterfront for around 10 years we thought we would have a meal there before seeing a film at the pictures. We arrived later than we expected with only 45 mins until the film. We were greeted by very polite and attentive...More

2  Thank bigboystoys
Waterfrontpub, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kind comments about our freshly-cooked food and the excellent service you received from our staff. On your next visit we hope that you will have more time to spend with us.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

To be fare the pub at this establishment is quite comfortable with a relaxed atmosphere. By far the saving grace of the whole place is the staff. NOW AS FOR THE RESTAURANT!!!... We were in a party of 3 and had arranged a business lunch....More

1  Thank den107
Waterfrontpub, Owner at The Waterfront Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

The Waterfront management team held a meeting to discuss your review and now we've cooled down here is our considered response. The definition of a la carte in Chambers dictionary is "dishes listed separately and individually priced." We believe this to be a precise description...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My first and last visit. 5pm on a Sunday for a drink. Not too busy but staff were slow to serve and unaware of the who was waiting longest at bar. All the empty tables I looked at were dirty.

Thank paulthevet
Waterfrontpub, General Manager at The Waterfront Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're sorry to hear that you found our bar service slow when you visited at 5pm on Sunday. Having served over 300 lunches, some of our hard-working staff had been sent on well-earned breaks in order to refresh themselves before the evening rush.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staff are very tentative, polite and helpful. We both had the fish and chips and they were amazing!! Definatly going to go back! The view is also lovely.More

1  Thank Kate816
Waterfrontpub, General Manager at The Waterfront Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

So pleased to hear you both enjoyed the fish and chips - our signature dish. If you fancy another trip out from Wolverhampton before Christmas, the Artisan Market at the Marina is on Sunday, 26th November. As well as the stalls, all the shops on...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We drove 50 minutes to visit you, how I wished I had not wasted 2 hours of my life!!! CAME WITH A VIEW TO LOOKING FOR OUR WEDDING AS UNABLE TO MAKE THE FAYRE AND LUNCH after driving all the way here we stood at...More

1  Thank mrss2010
Waterfrontpub, General Manager at The Waterfront Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We're sorry that you found the bar service poor and felt that you were being ignored by our staff. We can think of no reason why that would have been the case as, if you read many of the Trip...More

Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

After a very pleasant walk around the lakes with the dog, my husband and I called here for lunch. We can especially recommend the Marina platter with a portion of chips. Excellent, the scotch egg done to perfection and the chips just how they should...More

2  Thank Elainelichfield
Waterfrontpub, General Manager at The Waterfront Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Sitting in front of the log burner is definitely the place to be at this time of year! Our new menu starts on Friday, 10th November and we hope you'll visit us soon to try it out.

Reviewed 7 November 2017

Met some friends here yesterday and enjoyed a good meal together at lunchtime. The menu was varied and different. The staff were friendly and worked round that fact that one of our party was coming later and only having a snack. The restaurant area was...More

2  Thank Shirley H
Waterfrontpub, General Manager at The Waterfront Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

We much appreciate your kind comments about the food and atmosphere on the occasion of your lunchtime visit. A new menu starts on Friday 10th November with a few different dishes amongst the old favourites. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

We always used to pop in here for a sandwich / chips after shopping. Today we were pleasantly surprised by the re- furb, the pub looks contemporary and welcoming. We were surprised how few people were in the bar area but soon realised that this...More

Thank Barbara B
Waterfrontpub, General Manager at The Waterfront Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you liked the new contemporary look to the pub. Because there was little demand, we haven't served sandwiches on a Sunday for two years. Instead we offer our full weekly main menu together with a...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bit N Cherry
151 reviews
.90 km away
The Shoulder of Mutton Restaurant
49 reviews
1.03 km away
The Middle Bell
272 reviews
1.23 km away
The Apple Tree
375 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Barton Marina
611 reviews
.06 km away
Whiteswan Walton
56 reviews
1.87 km away
Allied Special Forces Memorial Grove
26 reviews
3.74 km away
National Memorial Arboretum
2,770 reviews
3.97 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
SarahDent
24 October 2017|
Answer
Response from Jan W | Reviewed this property |
I am not sure, they certainly seem to have various things on a lot of the time and of not the boat club opposite often has some entertainment too
0
Votes
Liamc0x
18 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Julie L | Reviewed this property |
Hi . Sorry cannot answer questions as we not from the area.we were visiting with friends at the time. Good luck.
0
Votes
Hyderinthehouse
10 January 2015|
AnswerShow all 17 answers
Response from Keeno1971 | Reviewed this property |
I'm really bemused by the other answers - certainly 6 months ago this was probably THE most child unfriendly place in the area! Even well behaved children were glared at by most staff and customers alike. If you're going... More
10
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$23
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:00
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 02:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Barton Marina, Barton-under-Needwood, Burton upon Trent DE13 8AS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Burton upon Trent  >  Barton-under-Needwood
  • Phone Number: +44 1283 711500
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing