We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cross Guns Inn

€€ - €€€
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Rockwell Lane | Pant, Oswestry SY10 9QR, England
+44 1691 839631
Today
12:00 - 23:30
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 23:00
Mon - Thu 12:00 - 23:30
Fri - Sat 12:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 132: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Haven't been out for Sunday lunch for some time and decided to call in at the Cross guns in Pant. Asked for the roast beef dinner. It was fantastic HOT and plenty of it. Will definitely go back again. KEEP ME A TABLE GUYS WE'LL BE BACK!! 😉

Helpful?
Thank Stuart A
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Called in the other night and really fancied a hot curry. I asked the chef if he could do me something a little hotter than the normal menu curries available. He was really great and asked exactly what I wanted. I told him and prepare the most awesome spicy curry I had ever had. Absolutely fantastic. Thank you to the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey A
Wallasey, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food was cold and undercooked, when asked "how's your food I replied it is undercooked and they just walked away . Oh I do like vegetables to be crisp and not cooked to mush but you couldn't cut the cauliflower, the potatoes were hard , the roast potatoes were just about edible. the carrots were nice but I like them... More 

Helpful?
Thank lapps61
charlottenorrey, Owner at Cross Guns Inn, responded to this review

Hi there. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We appreciate everyone's feedback good and bad as this way we can work together to rectify where we are going wrong. I remember your table as I dealt with it myself and i defiantly did not just walk away when you told me about the problem. However,... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

I called here with a few friends as we was passing. The food was just amazing it looked and tasted incredible. The staff was very attentive and couldn't do more for us. All of us really enjoyed our meal and will be returning to and recommending this place to everyone. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank JOHNCRAIGH
charlottenorrey, Owner at Cross Guns Inn, responded to this review

Hi John. We are all over the moon you enjoyed your visit with us! Thankyou very much for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you Charlotte More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2016

Its always nice to find a pub near to home that you haven't visited before, but will definitely visit again! Great food served in light, airy conservatory, and the Pedigree was the best pint I've had in ages. Would recommend the steaks, cooked exactly as asked for. Will probably visit in the evening next time, as there seems to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank county2
charlottenorrey, Owner at Cross Guns Inn, responded to this review

Hi. Thank you so much for your feedback! I know the team will be over the moon with your comments! We are glad you enjoyed your pint of pedigree and is now back on! Look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks Charlotte More 

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2016

Walked in to the pub and it looked busy, but the staff immediately made us feel welcome and found us a table and were very helpful. The food arrived in good time and was hot and tasty. Good quality pub food. On paying the bill got chatting to the landlady who told us they hadn't been there long, but they... More 

Helpful?
Thank moonpig2016
charlottenorrey, Owner at Cross Guns Inn, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you so much for your feedback. Myself and the team are very happy you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again. Thanks again! Charlotte More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2016

stop on our way from a lovely time in wales on a sat lunch the menu sound great ordered home made pie mash veg for 5.45 . The meal came the mash was powder mash the veg was frozen and the pie had no filling . The price was as above when I paid it was double so be careful... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane H
charlottenorrey, Owner at Cross Guns Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jane. We are so sorry to hear your experience wasn't up to our normal standards. We assure you we have taken all of your comments on board and are doing everything in our power to rectify the issues. We hope you accept our apology. Thank you for your honest feedback Charlotte More 

Welshpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

I don't tend to do reviews but for here I make an exception. Visited on Monday afternoon and despite being busy the lady on the bar was attentive to every need, smiled throughout and even took an interest in us, which you get very far and few between in pubs these days. Our food came out in very good time... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graham654
charlottenorrey, Owner at Cross Guns Inn, responded to this review

Hi Graham. Thank you so much for your positive feedback! Myself and the team are over the moon with your comments and luck forward to spending your Christmas parties with you! Hope to see you again soon. Charlotte More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Visited yesterday. Second visit here, and again the food was superb. The staff were friendly enough and went that extra mile making suggestions from the menu. The food was hot a tasty with the steak being cooked to perfection. Would highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Les A
charlottenorrey, Owner at Cross Guns Inn, responded to this review

Hi Les. We are all really please that you enjoyed your experience with us and glad you enjoyed your steaks. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future Many thanks Charlotte More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

stopped by on the way home from stag do .. all 6 of us enjoyed our food and drink . staff were very friendly . and didnt wait long for food .

Helpful?
Thank markandrews2108
charlottenorrey, Owner at Cross Guns Inn, responded to this review

Hi Mark. Thankyou very much for your positive feedback! We are very happy to hear about your recent experience with us and our team are over the moon with your comments. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards Charlotte More 

Travellers who viewed Cross Guns Inn also viewed

Oswestry, Shropshire
Oswestry, Shropshire
 
Oswestry, Shropshire
Oswestry, Shropshire
 

Been to Cross Guns Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$13
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:30
Thursday
12:00 - 23:30
Friday
12:00 - 01:00
Saturday
12:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rockwell Lane | Pant, Oswestry SY10 9QR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Shropshire  >  Oswestry
  • Phone Number: +44 1691 839631
Description
You'll find us on the A483 to/from Welshpool and we provide an excellent 2 meals for £10 range 6 days a week in addition to our full menu: including snacks, smaller portions, great grills and puddings. we stock a range of draught products and always have 2 cask bitters on tap with a rotating guest beer every 1-2 weeks with tea, coffee and soft drinks for the designated driver. We have an extensive children's menu and we do have high chairs. When the weather is good please come and visit our large beer garden. We welcome dogs both outside and in, within the bar and games room area, where you'll find a pool table and dart board. If you are coming to dine it's best to book! We look forward to seeing you.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Cross Guns Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Sale, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Cross Guns Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?