We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hacketts

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
High Street, Witney OX28 6ZJ, England
+44 1993 700858
Website
Today
10:00 - 18:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 - 18:00
Mon - Thu 09:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 09:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 260: English reviews
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Had great food last night, starters, mains and puds. Service was good. Two of us had the steak deal- v good value. Shame it was a little quiet, so lacked atmosphere- as we were stuck out to the side rather than in the main dining area- but that was better than being stuck round the back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Ali m
Carterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been here several times. Went for dinner and the Foods was very nice and amazing staff who looked after us.

Helpful?
1 Thank BlessonVk
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Between 6-12 of us meet up every other month. We are a gang of runners and ex-runners from Witney Roadrunners, and its great to catch up over lunch. We are normally there for a couple of hours. We try to book the big table in the back, where we are always well looked after by the friendly staff. Food is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
Jennie C, Administrator at Hacketts, responded to this review

Hi Steve. Thank you for your review of Hackett's Witney. It is always a pleasure to serve the Witney Roadrunners, current and ex-members alike. We look forward to seeing you soon. More 

Oxford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for my sister's baby shower and I found glass in my meal (duck) and another member of our party found tin foil in hers. I had chewed on the glass and hurt my tooth. The waitress was very apologetic and offered us wine, however neither of us were drinking. There was no acknowledgment from management. When I asked... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ffets
Jennie C, Administrator at Hacketts, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. As you can imagine we are very concerned to hear that your evening at Hackett's was unsatisfactory. Please let us offer our utmost apologies . We would like to contact you personally to discuss these issues and would be grateful if you would email us at enquiries@hackettsgroup.co.uk. More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been here several times during the day and feel this is not really an evening venue , Nothing to complain about but nothing to rave about either.

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
Jennie C, Administrator at Hacketts, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer. Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you felt Hackett's was not as enjoyable in the evening as you had hoped. We are grateful for customer feedback - good or bad - and we will do our best to make improvements. More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Disappointed by attitude of staff who seemed very keen for us to finish our courses, followed by hovering with card payment machine!! Restaurant was very quiet for a Friday evening, not surprising if this is the typical attitude of the staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cpedpt
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Don't go here if you are looking for quick or fair service. My boyfriend and I (both 23) went in this morning for Breakfast, spoke to 3 different members of staff and told them we would be sitting upstairs. 10mins later no service, but a 50-something couple walked in and immediately had a waitress at their table. We walked out... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine H
Jennie C, Administrator at Hacketts, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Catherine. We are sorry to hear that you were overlooked when you came in for breakfast. Good customer service is important and it is disappointing to learn than we did not made a good impression on your visit. More 

oxford
Level Contributor
269 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016

Nothing here inedible but the service is poor and the lighting is a bit bright. It is easy to park and useful if other nearby eateries are full

Helpful?
Thank Glinys W
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016

Great service and varied menu. Their dishes are gorgeous and the portions are just right. Best latte in town too!

Helpful?
Thank Cécile G
Jennie C, Administrator at Hacketts, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Hackett's, Cécile. Customer feedback, whether good or bad, is helpful to us. We look forward to seeing you here again soon. More 

London UK
Level Contributor
132 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016

After a warm welcome, the service tailed off, and several times we had to go in search of staff. Starters of crab chowder were excellent: creamy and full of flavour, crab- cakes were good, but there was no accompanying wasabi dip, as described. However mains of Indian fish and chips were disappointing: the fish was cod, not plaice as described... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maggiemay07

Travellers who viewed Hacketts also viewed

Witney, Oxfordshire
Witney, Oxfordshire
 
Witney, Oxfordshire
Carterton, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Hacketts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$8 - US$23
Cuisine
European, British, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 18:00
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 00:00
Saturday
09:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street, Witney OX28 6ZJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Witney
  • Phone Number: +44 1993 700858

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Hacketts and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hacketts staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?