We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Company of Weavers

31 Market Square, Witney OX28 6AD, England
+44 1993 777930
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good29%
  • Average18%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“mixed grill” (5 reviews)
“steak” (12 reviews)
“mushy peas” (3 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
DETAILS
31 Market Square, Witney OX28 6AD, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went Saturday 13th May whilst in Witney doing the brewery tour. Found this "Spoons" where they were serving Hobgoblin beer at £2.19 so you can go wrong. Food and atmosphere the usual "Spoons", not for everyone but we love them.More

Thank Nicholas F
WeaverManager, Manager at The Company of Weavers, responded to this review

Thank you. It was lovely to see you popping in the other night. We're proud to support our local brewery, and it excellent to see that this is appreciated by our customers too. Hope you had a nice evening. As always, we hope you pop...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here on tuesday evening and was really pleased to see the range of ales on. Its so rare these days to see care going into the beer that goes on sale in pubs. I was really happy to see this trend overturned here. Would...More

Thank BGJ58
WeaverManager, Manager at The Company of Weavers, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent feedback. We take great pride in our ales and try to offer a varied, and ever-changing, range. We're happy to take suggestions should you want to see your favourite ale on the pumps too. Thank you once again. We look...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A well priced and clean pub. Beers shown as "coming soon" which were priced as on sale. Only to be told they weren't available. Why have them on offer? Confusing and pointless as Why advertise a "coming soon" offer and make the pump look to...More

Thank burnzy34
WeaverManager, Manager at The Company of Weavers, responded to this review

Hello Burnzy, I'm afraid, in contrast to your beliefs - our beers are forever changing and customers (on the whole) prefer to know what's available next. Much like a television guide would show what programme is on next. This the reason for the 'available' soon...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We were attracted to this pub as it looked light and airy with a chilled out feeling. Good prices as expected from a spoons pub. Nice friendly staff.The only downside was the food was clearly reheated , and although perfectly edible, wasn't the best ,...More

Thank Vickster15
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Picture the scene, a sunny Wednesday lunchtime two days before Easter weekend in school holidays, lots of visitors to the area and yes only two rather slow bar staff and a queue of customers waiting to be served running the length of the bar. I...More

1  Thank squiboo
Reviewed 17 April 2017

one can always get a decent cup of tea here along with a yummy cake.The menu is always full of lovely dishes of food all at a good price the food is cooked to order and is always lovely and fresh the portion sizes are...More

Thank AngelaandRichard47
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

great food quick and easy looks good inside sometimes hard to get seats but foods always nice. has a different feel to it then most weatherspoons

Thank secret s
WeaverManager, Manager at The Company of Weavers, responded to this review

Thank you very much. We pride ourselves on looking a little bit different from the norm and strive to be friendly - we are currently addressing the lack of tables, please watch this space. ~ J

Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Always great value food , it's nothing fancy but we go here regularly and have never had a bad meal .

Thank 110delia23
WeaverManager, Manager at The Company of Weavers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you support. We look forward to your next visit. ~ J

Reviewed 25 March 2017

Love the weavers. Normally don't like weatherspoon pubs but this is good. They have craft ciders you cant get elsewhere in witney or oxford and only £2.50 a pint - for Old Rosie or Cheddar Valley or Black Dragon - these ciders generally when you...More

Thank Melissa Q
WeaverManager, Manager at The Company of Weavers, responded to this review

Thank you very much. A lot of work has gone into expanding our gin range (mostly with some staff feedback), and the recent addition of our rum shack. Glad to see you like to craft cider range. We are please to report Old Rosie and...More

Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Popped in for a quick drink with friends at 9.30 ish on a Friday.Dirty Glasses piled up on every table. The bar was floating in liquid so that you could not stand next to it. Given a dirty glass that still had some ones lipstick...More

Thank WitneyHamblins
WeaverManager, Manager at The Company of Weavers, responded to this review

Hello Sir/Madame. You are quite right in that the descriptions you have given (based on your visit) are not up to our standards and expectations. We can only strive to do better - and we apologise that this visit was sub par. We only hope...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Coffeesmith
202 reviews
.08 km away
Como Lounge
299 reviews
.07 km away
The Shaan
438 reviews
.09 km away
Meze Lounge and restaurant
263 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Wychwood Brewery
424 reviews
.23 km away
Cogges
171 reviews
.55 km away
St Mary’s Church
25 reviews
.25 km away
SOTA Gallery
16 reviews
.11 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Maria G
Would like to book table for four this evening about 7.30 but one of our group is in a wheelchair. Would there be an available table ? Thank you Maria
8 April 2016|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
Helen B
We are a party of 4 adults and 2 children travelling from Scunthorpe on 6th June for a surprise meal at your restaurant for my daughter Rachel's 40th. A table has been booked by her partner John Hall. I was wondering if we brought a birthday cake and some balloons could we bring them to the kitchen prior to our 5pm meal in Witney and you could place on the table for us? Thankyou in anticipation. Mrs Helen Beevers.
2 May 2015|
Answer
Response from Ervis K | Property representative |
Mrs Beevers Please do, we would be more than happy to do that for you.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$17
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Television, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 01:00
Friday
08:00 - 01:00
Saturday
08:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 31 Market Square, Witney OX28 6AD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Witney
  • Phone Number: +44 1993 777930