We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Giannis

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
3 Market Place | NE61 1HG, Morpeth NE61 1HG, England
+44 1670 511547
Today
11:30 - 14:00
17:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 18:30 - 22:00
Sun - Sat 11:30 - 14:00
Mon - Sat 17:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

288 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 288: English reviews
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our 3rd visit over the last 12 months and it will be our last for a long time. Prime time on a Friday evening and half the tables where empty, alarm bells didnt ring at that point but afterwards i now know why. The over priced Peroni tasted awful! Out of date, watered down or flat, whichever, it was bad!... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank kungfuned
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We have been visiting the restaurant for a number of years now and have been twice this month and been disappointed on both occasions. The first time put down to simply a bad experience. There was no ice so had warm drinks and after asking if we could have ice the waiter said there was nothing she could do, couldn't... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun C
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a delicious 3 course meal. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was cooked to perfection. The atmosphere were really excellent and the restaurant was full.

Helpful?
Thank Liz M
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Food was nice but expensive in my opinion. I think £4.75 for a pint of lager is utterly off the chart £9.50 for 2 pints crazy🤔😂. I think nearly £90 for a family of 5 that had pizza and pasta is way to much! We won't be back.

Helpful?
Thank Mark R
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good atmosphere with a good menu at reasonable prices. Staff pleasant and efficient. Note disabled access a drawback.

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Revisited Giannis after a long time away. Was delighted to see that the place had recently been rearranged and redecorated. It was clean and bright with a happy atmosphere. The food was excellent and the waiting staff efficient and attentive. A jolly good evening was had by all. A very popular place so pre-booking is advisable.

Helpful?
Thank Pamelabeau
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Haven eaten here many times over the years we found tonight's visit very disappointing,our last visit was in August and everything was fine,just as it always has been.What has happened to the portion sizes?the potato skin starters usually come heaped on the plate so we got one to share I would guess there was a third less on the plate... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bryon c
Giannis_Restaurant, Owner at Giannis, responded to this review

Hi Byron. We are sorry you were disappointed with the portion sizes during your last visit. However, we are happy that you enjoyed the food nonetheless. We have decided to reduce the size of some of our dishes and this does include the potato skins. Some of our customers had provided some feedback to say that they felt the portion... More 

Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went for the first time 22.1.2017. The food was amazing and plenty of it. The staff are really friendly lovely surroundings. Have booked for my birthday next month!

Helpful?
Thank Caroline P
Giannis_Restaurant, Owner at Giannis, responded to this review

Hi Caroline! Thank you so much for your lovely review of our restaurant! We love welcoming new customers to Gianni's and we're so happy that you enjoyed the food, service and ambience here at the restaurant. I will pass on your wonderful comments to my team of staff. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for your birthday-... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Poor service, no wine menu, unable to taste wine unless you buy the bottle. Not advised of specials by the server. I could have cooked the pasta dish better at home. Wrong order delivered, supposedly warm dessert served straight from the fridge. Really disappointing, would not return.

Helpful?
1 Thank June G
Giannis_Restaurant, Owner at Giannis, responded to this review

Hello June. Apologies for the delay in responding to your review. As the owner of the restaurant, I have spent time finding out what happened the evening you visited. We were fully expecting you to leave a review following your visit. What you neglect to mention in your review is that you expected the floor staff to open three different... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

We booked a table for 5 For a surprise meal on arrival we were met by a member of staff who was friendly Showed to our table After a while we were asked if we wanted a drink When we looked at the menu we ordered Starters and main Starters were nice but nothing spectacular meals were average the daughters... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank James48181
Giannis_Restaurant, Owner at Giannis, responded to this review

Hi James. We are sorry that you that you didn't enjoy your visit with us. I will respond to your points in turn. Regarding your point about the ingredients in your meal, all ingredients are clearly labelled on either our menus or blackboards. We do have a new waitress, who I assume served you when your visited, and whilst I... More 

Travellers who viewed Giannis also viewed

Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 

Been to Giannis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Italian, Pizza
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 14:00
18:30 - 22:00
Monday
11:30 - 14:00
17:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 14:00
17:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 14:00
17:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:30 - 14:00
17:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:30 - 14:00
17:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:30 - 14:00
17:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3 Market Place | NE61 1HG, Morpeth NE61 1HG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Morpeth
  • Phone Number: +44 1670 511547

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Giannis staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?