We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hogs Head Inn

€€ - €€€, British,
Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF, England
+44 1665 606576
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good30%
  • Average18%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (24 reviews)
“stuffing” (7 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After 3 hours on the road going north and in need of a lunch stop and thirsty quenching drink we found the Hogs Head Inn ideally located by the Alnwick A1 service station. A huge pub with hotels also part of the building located in...More

Thank Dan H
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Ah, thank you for leaving this review and for your kind words. I am so pleased to hear you have enjoyed your experience with us and we do hope to see you returning again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago

Took my daughter here for her birthday, we had a loveky sunny afternoon so sat outside and kids played in the play area (recommend 4+) was quite quiet when we visited at 5, service was quick, food was tasty and we had puds too. We...More

Thank Vikki H
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Ah, thank you very much for leaving this review, so pleased you and your daughter enjoyed your time with us and we would love to welcome you back in again in the near future!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Marie, Sally, Lynn and myself stayed at the Hogs Head prior to going to a friend's wedding, Marie had a salad, Sally had fish and chips, Lynn and I had the steak and ale pie. All were lovely

Thank George G
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for leaving this review, so pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and we do hope to welcome all of you back again soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

busy local pub on an industrial estate with a good selection on the menu.It is situated just off the A1

Thank n0rmski
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We do hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

£3.70 for a Pineapple and Lemonade.... £2.70 for the pineapple juice and £1 for a shot of lemonade!? Yes, you heard right..... that’s £1 Had Gammon & Chips to eat, which was ok.... had it been on a 2 for £8 menu in a Wetherspoons.........More

Thank Rachilou
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving this review, we do always appreciate feed back and take it on board. We continue to review our price structure and menu and believe we are competitive in our local market.

A TripAdvisor Member
135
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

I left my booking of a hotel until last minute for my friends’ wedding and rang to book a room. Although all standard rooms were booked, the manager who I spoke to was able to give me a family room for the same price, which...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Ah, thank you very much for leaving this great review! I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to do that for you. We do supply many taxi company numbers to our guests, it is unfortunate you wern't...More

Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

I have been to the hogs head inn for a meal, the food was cold when it got served and the service wasn’t great would not recommend to people!!

Thank Joe M
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Oh no! I am so sorry you feel this way, did you mention to a member of staff about the issues with your food as they would have happily changed it for you? We do hope you come back to give us another try.

Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

Visited on Thursday to celebrate an anniversary & 3 birthdays. Ordered the special of venison cobbler, expected chunks of tender venison in a rich gravy topped with a scone...in reality got an bowl full of mince swimming in gravy, topped with a couple of slices...More

Thank Diana S
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for leaving this review. So sorry to read you didn't enjoy your Venison Cobbler and while we can understand not wanting to complain during your celebrations, it would have given us the chance to rectify the issues with your meal. We do hope...More

Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

We just enjoyed a nights stay in a family room with the kids. Excellent beds & amenities in the rooms. The food is amazing at both dinner & breakfast and the staff are brilliant. So attentive & nothing was too much trouble. This is a...More

Thank Claire D
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for leaving this great review and lovely comments! I am so pleased to hear you have enjoyed your experience with us at our beautiful Inn and we would love to welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 6 April 2018

We have eaten here several times - it is very conveniently located just off the A1 at the southern end of Alnwick town and there is plenty of parking outside the hotel. The bar area is nicely furnished and service is welcoming and prompt. We...More

Thank profjoypc
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at Hogs Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for leaving this review and for your lovely comments about our Team, Location and Inn. We do try to meet all of our customers needs with around 15 vegetarian dishes to choose from on our current menu, we are sorry you didn't feel...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Alnwick
The Hog's Head Inn
570 reviews
.00 km away
The White Swan Hotel
1,134 reviews
1.80 km away
Warkworth House Hotel
380 reviews
7.59 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
899 reviews
11.61 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Station Buffet Barter Books
512 reviews
1.40 km away
The Oaks Hotel
184 reviews
1.13 km away
Earl Grey Tea House
47 reviews
1.54 km away
Nearby Attractions
House of Hardy Fishing Tackle Museum
20 reviews
.63 km away
Willowburn Sports and Leisure Centre
25 reviews
.50 km away
The Bakehouse Gallery
7 reviews
1.59 km away
Barter Books
1,357 reviews
1.46 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
gwilkie69
12 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from northumberlandlad | Reviewed this property |
You will need to talk to the hotel direct as never stayed in a room, just visited for a meal.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Alnwick
  • Phone Number: +44 1665 606576
  • This restaurant is at The Hog's Head Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;