We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melvyn's Cafe

10 Market Place, Alnwick NE66 1HS, England
+44 1665 604462
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good25%
  • Average8%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“scones” (13 reviews)
“hash browns” (3 reviews)
“black pudding” (7 reviews)
Open Now
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly
10 Market Place, Alnwick NE66 1HS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Can't fault the place food is excellent staff are always busy great quality good for the price and u pay 6:50 for a breakfast but u get a free tea or coffee plus refills and they make the greatest hot chocolate In the world 10/10

Thank JosephTribbiani1
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely atmosphere, happy smiling staff especially Stacey great value for money recommend completely and in a very central location too

Thank Joe R
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Went to this cafe to get some lunch and was not impressed. We entered to a stench of chip fat that cling to us even hours later. There was no extractor fan so the small room was quickly filled with smoke, to get rid of...More

Thank sian g
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Been here for 2 days in a row on a weekend getaway. The breakfast was one of the best i've ever had, the service was quick, very friendly and efficient. Highly recommended.

Thank Andrei P
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

Our last day up here and needing a hearty breakfast before the drive home , this came up in TripAdvisor as a likely spot. Grub ordered, swiftly served, staff cheery and helpful, grub nice and tasty, set us up for the day, can't argue with...More

Thank 8bitfiend
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

We called for lunch and we're very pleasantly surprised the cafe is located in the centre of Alnwick and the food was very good. There were lots of meals on the menu to choose from and I had beefburger and chips which came with coldslaw...More

Thank Andrew B
Reviewed 28 October 2017

I don't usually write food reviews, unless I've had a truly terrible experience. My wife and I called in the cafe by for lunch earlier this week. My wife ordered the Cullen Skink and I ordered the fishcakes. The Cullen Skink was at best look...More

1  Thank Graham1200
deandot, Owner at Melvyn's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

I am very sorry for your recent experience. I do remember you and was alerted to the fact that your cullen skink was warm so we rectified that - though we weren't aware of your cold fishcakes - if you had mentioned this we would...More

Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Disgusted at the treatment shown to my daughter parents and 94 year old grandmother, I have never witnessed such bad customer service - ever!!!!. No respect shown with items slapped down on the table, staff sighing and comments made.More

1  Thank Tracy Y
deandot, Owner at Melvyn's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

hello, I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the lack of service you had to endure at Melvyns. When I read this I was very shocked as we thrive on giving our customers first rate service, we spend a lot of time with...More

Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

All the noisy bad smelling establishment around the town. What a disappointment. Thank heavens for this little jewel! Dog allowed in seating outside. Homity pies with chips and salad. Absolutely delicious. Our friend ate a proper oven jacket potato that actually tasted of potato. Filling...More

Thank muchado55
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Walked in and asked to join 2 tables together as staff realised that there was a bigger group of us that needed more seats. Was looked at like I had two heads and no help was offered. Staff at this point were sitting on their...More

Thank ey114
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Alnwick
The White Swan Hotel
1,114 reviews
.16 km away
The Hog's Head Inn
552 reviews
1.90 km away
Warkworth House Hotel
368 reviews
9.41 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
865 reviews
10.34 km away
Nearby Restaurants
386 reviews
.04 km away
565 reviews
.06 km away
The Olive Branch Cafe
292 reviews
.03 km away
486 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bailiffgate Museum and Gallery
144 reviews
.34 km away
Alnwick Castle
3,982 reviews
.25 km away
The Alnwick Garden
3,669 reviews
.66 km away
Howick Hall Gardens
462 reviews
.26 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Melvyn's Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
08:30 - 17:00
08:30 - 17:00
08:30 - 17:00
08:30 - 17:00
08:30 - 17:00
08:30 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 10 Market Place, Alnwick NE66 1HS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Alnwick
  • Phone Number: +44 1665 604462
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing