We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chaser Inn

€€ - €€€, British,
Stumble Hill | Shipbourne, Tonbridge TN11 9PE, England
+44 1732 810360
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good28%
  • Average16%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (22 reviews)
“lamb” (24 reviews)
“mash” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Stumble Hill | Shipbourne, Tonbridge TN11 9PE, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good Sunday main course but beware baked apple pudding! Not large, soft apple as I expected but a small, hard dessert apple with a couple of walnuts stuffed inside! Walnut brittle good but ‘ decorative ‘ touches ( a sliver of pear and a...More

Thank Deborah D
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location with a lovely conservatory area. The lunchtime menu is comprehensive. We both had the steak wrap. Service was quick, food good and staff very friendly.

Thank Nimrod104
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have been to the Chaser quite a few times before & will probably go there again however, each time I go it leaves me feeling a little more disappointed and a little more 'mugged off'. I have in the past (when Whiting & Hammond...More

1  Thank Andy W
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Despite it being a very busy Saturday lunch service, and having not booked in advance, we enjoyed friendly, attentive service throughout. The fish and chips were excellent and the 'small' portions requested were an ideal size leaving room for the excellent rum & raisin ice...More

Thank JS2003
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

very very busy pub restaurant. All very young staff. Service was a bit slow, food was just average, nothing special. I did comment to them that meat was a bit tough. Veg could have been served in bigger dishes. two of us had roast and...More

Thank LillithSophie
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my partner went for lunch today was served buy Samantha again service was brilliant and the food was very nice

Thank Tom J
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went for a family gathering and enjoyed 3 courses off the set menu, we were disappointed! Fish cakes, Steak and brownies all came out beautifully. Lovely beer also with a good selection and plenty for the gin lovers!! Worth a stop if your passing!

1  Thank cust87
TheChaserInn, General Manager at The Chaser Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Cust87 Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. It was a pleasure having your party in. Hope to see you again soon Regards Jan Webb General Manager

Reviewed 17 October 2017

I have been to this pub a few times over the summer. The beer garden is one of the prettiest I have been to, but can get busy quite early. The food and drink isn't the cheapest around, but I feel it is worth it...More

1  Thank KatyM3094
TheChaserInn, General Manager at The Chaser Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi KatyM3094 Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review. We are very lucky to have such a pretty garden with beautiful views of the church and common. Sadly won't be using the garden for a while now but inside is cosy...More

Reviewed 17 October 2017

Have eaten Sunday Lunch a couple of times recently. Food mainly good although roast potatoes far too big so you are mainly eating just plain potato. Also, gravy should be served on the side, I had far too much gravy the last time we went....More

1  Thank MagicFlute
TheChaserInn, General Manager at The Chaser Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi MagicFlute Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, all feedback is extremely useful. Please do feel free to ask for your gravy to be put into a jug on the side, we are more than happy to do this. Hope to...More

Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Thought menu was limited had a Thai fish curry very disappointed description was fish mussels squid had 3 bits of fish and a couple of mussels served in a curry sauce no rice certainly wasn’t what it was described as. No real Thai curry tasteMore

Thank Lauren T
TheChaserInn, General Manager at The Chaser Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Lauren Thank you for leaving a review, all feedback is useful. The Thai curry came with rice on the side, I am disappointed to read it clearly didn't make it to your table. Should you wish to discuss this further please do email me...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Papermakers Arms
207 reviews
1.92 km away
The Rose Revived
167 reviews
2.86 km away
Perfetto Country Store
83 reviews
4.51 km away
The Golding Hop Tea House
42 reviews
2.62 km away
Nearby Attractions
Ightham Mote
958 reviews
1.47 km away
Old Soar Manor
24 reviews
3.32 km away
Reynolds Retreat
89 reviews
4.57 km away
Hadlow Tower
45 reviews
4.87 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Amanda M
30 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TheChaserInn | Property representative |
Hi, yes we do breakfast, we cater for both vegetarians and meat eaters. We serve from 9am on Thursday, Saturday and Sunday
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$26 - US$40
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 00:00
Saturday
09:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stumble Hill | Shipbourne, Tonbridge TN11 9PE, England
  • Public Transportation: There is a bus stop directly opposite the pub as well as main line train stations in Borough Green and Tonbridge which are both approximately 10 mins drive.
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Tonbridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1732 810360
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing