We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lemon Tree Restaurant

29-33 High Street, Tenterden TN30 6BJ, England
+44 1580 763381
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good26%
  • Average14%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“lunch” (103 reviews)
“welsh rarebit” (13 reviews)
“coleslaw” (12 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
29-33 High Street, Tenterden TN30 6BJ, England
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Great food served in a fine English Atmosphere We came here on a Tursday afternoon with a party of 12. All were served efficiently and kindly with fine food. Sheperd's pie is TOP.

Thank Jack V
Reviewed 6 days ago

We had often meant to visit The Lemon Tree but never had until this April - 'what-a-mistake-ter-make' (with apologies to 'Allo-Allo', The food was very good and staff were attentive, particularly Stephen, so keep an eye out for him. Food was very good, reasonably priced...More

Thank ayupmidook
Nick A, Owner at The Lemon Tree Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Many thanks for your great review and especially for mentioning Steve who has worked for us for coming up to 10 years and is still a star!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is closed in the evenings but serves a great roast dinner and has a great atmosphere in a very olde England setting. Very popular so book or go early! Lovely family business.

Thank ayeshamg
Nick A, Owner at The Lemon Tree Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for the great review and I hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went here for lunch with my in laws , and were very disappointed I had fish pie which contained a lot of potatoes and not much fish. My wife had fish and chips which was ordinary to say the least ,on our return home...More

Thank Tim P
Nick A, Owner at The Lemon Tree Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the review and I'm sorry you were disappointed on this occasion. We haven't changed Chef's or suppliers so I'm suprised to hear your comments. If you google food poisoning you'll see the chance of your wife's illness being from hear is extremely...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On visiting this place, the only table for two had extremely hard uncomfortable chairs. As my wife had just had an hip revision she was quite sore. We asked to sit at another unoccupied table [for 4] with more suitable chairs. This was refused by...More

Thank G6644ISjohno
Nick A, Owner at The Lemon Tree Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I'm somewhat surprised by your review. All our chairs are the same with padded seats. We try to keep tables near the front door free for people with walking disabilities. Whist it was half term last week and extremely busy I'm sure had you mentioned...More

Reviewed 15 May 2017

We visited on a Saturday morning around 10.30 for brunch. All the staff was super friendly, efficient and attentive. The food was excellent too. Situated in a lovely historic building. We will definitely return. One small comment would be to dust the front window cill...More

Thank Amanda W
Nick A, Owner at The Lemon Tree Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Many thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed it overall and I'll get everyone to dust more often. I hope to welcome you back soon

Reviewed 15 May 2017

First class service, no waiting around, food very good, staff never stopped, little bit pricey but you got what you paid for, first time of using would use again

Thank collard783
Nick A, Owner at The Lemon Tree Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Many thanks for your great review, I'm delighted you enjoyed it and hope to welcome you back soon

Reviewed 9 May 2017

Perhaps we went on the wrong day but we were very disappointed with our lunchtime meal. I had the goats cheese with Mediterranean vegetables, which was two pieces of peppers in what appeared to be tinned tomatoes, or passata. My friends fish cake was also...More

1  Thank Ann G
Reviewed 2 May 2017

This is simply one of the best restaurant's around for those who appreciate traditional places where good food, service and atmosphere combine to make an enjoyable visit.

Thank Jeffrey B
Nick A, Owner at The Lemon Tree Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your excellent review. You summed up exactly what we try to do!

Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Stoped for a little brunch and a coffee, really warm and welcoming environment. Service was very good and welcoming. I had the Royal Egg Benny really fancy portion and well priced. Love to come back again.

Thank Samuel E
Nick A, Owner at The Lemon Tree Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Many thanks for the review, I'm glad you liked it and hope you come back soon

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Ozgur Turkish Restaurant
425 reviews
.38 km away
Montalbano
177 reviews
.22 km away
HunnyBeez
187 reviews
.25 km away
Indulgence Cake & Coffee House
129 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kent & East Sussex Railway
722 reviews
.28 km away
The High Street
206 reviews
.31 km away
Old Dairy Brewery
45 reviews
.20 km away
St Mildred's Church
39 reviews
.18 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
J C
Please put your opening times on your website, or at the very least on your door. There was an 'open' sign in the window but the door was locked. We were hoping for breakfast but didn't want to stand in the rain for however long, so we went in Cafe Rouge and God was it awful!
26 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Nick A | Property representative |
I'm sorry the open sign was not turned over and I'll put the opening times on our new website. Just so you know for the future, we open at 9am every day except Sundays which is 10am. Sorry about Cafe Rouge
2
Votes
Linda W
there are no opening hours on the website and it says that breakfast is served between 9 and 11.30 but I don't think you open that early on a Sunday? many thanks
29 March 2015|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Nick A | Property representative |
Hi, We open at 10am on Sundays, 9am the rest of the week Hope it's not too late for you
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$15
Meals
Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 29-33 High Street, Tenterden TN30 6BJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Tenterden
  • Phone Number: +44 1580 763381
  • E-mail
Description
14th Century heavily timbered wealden hall house restaurant in the centre on Tenterden offering great British food. Open for breakfast, morning coffee, lunch and afternoon teas. All home-made dishes, desserts and cakes, freindly efficient staff.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing