We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Market Inn

€€ - €€€, British,
7 Cattle Market, Sandwich CT13 9AE, England
+44 1304 448410
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good31%
  • Average11%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“ham” (4 reviews)
“sunday roast” (2 reviews)
“bar billiards” (5 reviews)
Open Now
18:00 - 21:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
7 Cattle Market, Sandwich CT13 9AE, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

choice of food was ok on menu but veggie burger was sold out and veggie replacement was rubbish. Also fish and chips was poor my salad was ok. the town was busy but in a large place like this you expect better. Waitress apologised as...More

Thank smileatcamera
Melissa C, Public Relations Manager at The Market Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you for your review however it would appear that you have left us this review in error as we neither have fish and chips nor a veggie burger on our menu.

Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Lemonade is good - 3.05 so middle of the range in price. Comfortable atmosphere and a nice pool table.

1  Thank JohnsLemons
Reviewed 21 May 2017

Went in midweek for a sandwich and a pint a couple of weeks ago. Have never visited this pub before. Very limited selection of sandwich's.....cheese, ham, fish finger Ciabatta?? Came out cut into two halves with a small pile of crisps on plate. No garnish....More

2  Thank non-bias
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Cosy pub with good food and friendly staff. Near bus stop and historic Town Hall. Has a fire in winter. Very old building with low beams.

1  Thank Lesley K
Reviewed 11 February 2017

Another fantastic evening of entertainment with the superb singing of Phoebe Rose, we are looking forward to the next performance of this talented young vocalist at the Market Inn

Thank Colin M
Reviewed 6 December 2016

We started our evening in the market Inn and could happily have stayed all evening. Nice local pub which had local people in it rather than tourists. Very friendly staff and dog-friendly too. Enjoyed a game of bar billiards and my other half assured me...More

Thank Lizzyp1962
Reviewed 24 November 2016

great bar, great staff, good bar sports available with Darts, Bar billiards and 8 ball UK pool, only downside NO sport on the TV, which is the only reason we moved on during our 10 man pub crawl

Thank Tony C
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Husband said the beer was very nice, and they let the dogs come too. We went back on sunday for soft drinks, friendly folk

Thank 317JulieG
Reviewed 8 October 2016

We had a great evening at this pub, the food was first class and the entertainment was fabulous there was a young female vocalist called Phoebe Rose, a unbelievable talented performer. It was well worth the visit.

Thank Colin M
Melissa C, Public Relations Manager at The Market Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. Phoebe Rose was fantastic, a great evening had by all!

Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

One of the best rost dinners iv ever had with a lovely warm and family you have to visit 😀😀really good atmosphere and friendly feel I would definitely recommend it thank you for the lovely food x

Thank Paulip00
Melissa C, Public Relations Manager at The Market Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2016

Thank you very much Stephen! We're glad you enjoyed your roast! See you again soon!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Luigi's
631 reviews
.24 km away
The Hop and Huffkin
578 reviews
.09 km away
The Beach Hut Cafe
187 reviews
.17 km away
The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant
319 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Salutation Gardens
233 reviews
.45 km away
St Peter's Church
59 reviews
.08 km away
The Guildhall Museum
38 reviews
.06 km away
St Clement's Church
24 reviews
.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Market Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 Cattle Market, Sandwich CT13 9AE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Sandwich
  • Phone Number: +44 1304 448410
  • E-mail
Description
Situated in the ancient market town and Cinque Port of Sandwich, the Market Inn was first licensed as a pub in 1874 although the building is almost certainly much older. In the early days, the pub was the meeting place for traders bringing their livestock to the market, hence of course its name. It continues the tradition of warm hospitality to this day. The Market Inn is a family run public house & restaurant under the supervision of the Cavell Family. All The food is homemade and made fresh to order. We serve hand pulled real ales alongside wine, draught lager, cider and spirits. We are open daily from 10:00 am. Breakfast is available between 10:00am and 12:00pm. The main menu is available everyday from 12:00pm until 3pm and 6:00 until 9pm.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing