We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Mechanical Elephant - J D Wetherspoon

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
28-30 Marine Terrace, Margate CT9 1XJ, England
+44 1843 234100
Website
Today
08:00 - 00:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 08:00 - 00:00
Fri - Sat 08:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 225: English reviews
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Smart staff 'really on it, location location and fab food which you would pay twice as much for anywhere else. We have become great fans of the honest offer from Wetherspoons and the staff in the Mechanical Elephant lift the whole experience to another level.....

Helpful?
Thank Rory W
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have just spent a long week end in Margate,we found the premier inn food special offer one we could refuse because the tried and trusted wetherspoons was just around the corner,we were not disappointed and ate there every day,the place is open plan and airy,the staff are warm and friendly and the food and drinks,including unlimited coffee were great.The... More 

Helpful?
Thank twomorerollingstones
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We used to be able to count on a Wetherspoons as a "safe haven" for somewhere to eat. No longer. The menu continues to go downhill and staff go into meltdown if you want anything slightly non-standard. Won't be going back in a hurry.

Helpful?
Thank Dr_Paul_UK
Mechanical E, Manager at The Mechanical Elephant - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Hi, I'm sorry to hear that you are unhappy with our menu, we do make some changes from time to time. This is done centrally by our catering team and based upon sales of items on previous menus. We are always happy to swop similar items and make changes to menu items to suit particular customers needs. We also have... More 

Purley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We went for a drinks & some food last night 15/04/17 The Abbots Ale was exceptional & the food we ordered was a delight We had the sharing platter King Prawns , onion rings , chicken wings , chicken strips all with chips & dips & we couldn't fault it we shared it between two of us . The other... More 

Helpful?
Thank lamptechonthenet
Mechanical E, Manager at The Mechanical Elephant - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your lovely words! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and took the time to review us. Kind Regards Angela & Team More 

Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Because they serve a lot of meals here you know it is always fresh. Very good value for money and you always get a good tasty plate of food.

Helpful?
Thank Trish H
Mechanical E, Manager at The Mechanical Elephant - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Hi, We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Angela & Team More 

Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This pub has a lovely double front which I'm sure opens up on a hot day The staff were very friendly We ordered a large mix grill and when it arrived a sausage was missing I informed the young girl and she ensured 2 were cooked and bought them out ,the meal was lovely , meat was cooked really well... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharron B
Mechanical E, Manager at The Mechanical Elephant - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your kind feedback. Sorry about the sausages! I'm glad we resolved that issue for you in a timely manner. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Angela More 

1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have visited on many occasions different times of day great food range and cheap drinks/staff friendly but only thing letting you down is breakfasts never seems very hot and iv also noticed male toliets seem to smell of vinger 1st thing in the mornings not sure what your cleaning products are but certainly doesn't smell plesent

Helpful?
Thank Michael S
Mechanical E, Manager at The Mechanical Elephant - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Hi, Thank for your comments and I'm glad you find our staff to be friendly. I will investigate the issues with the vinegary toilets with our cleaning team as that certainly shouldn't be the case! If you have any issues with food not being hot enough in the future please let us know and we will sort that out straight... More 

London
Level Contributor
391 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent some time wandering around Margate on a Saturday evening trying to find somewhere to eat that wasn't fully booked. We were pleased in the end we chose the Wetherspoons which is well located, right on the harbour front. Although also busy, we managed to get seats in the upstairs bar. I think they may have been short staffed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travelfromessex
Mechanical E, Manager at The Mechanical Elephant - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Hi, I'm so sorry that you had to wait so long to be served at the bar. We do get a bit hectic sometimes but you are right that the bar certainly shouldn't have been unattended. I will speak to the team on shift to see what the issues were that day. I'm glad that despite of this you still... More 

Nottingham
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Our favorite breakfast with fast efficient service. Well located just on the sea front. We arrived on bicycles and could keep them in view through the pub windows.

Helpful?
Thank s-p-nottingham
Mechanical E, Manager at The Mechanical Elephant - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are really glad you enjoyed your visit. It was such a lovely day for cycling along the sea front! See you again soon Kind Regards Angela & Team More 

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Very very disappointed with our visit lunchtime today. We had walked our dogs and stopped here for a drink. We sat outside, and technically my wife was actually sitting on the pavement and not on Spoons land as they have stolen part of the pavement and put their barrier on public land. Sat down and I went inside to get... More 

Helpful?
Thank FrankDS
Mechanical E, Manager at The Mechanical Elephant - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Hi, I'm really sorry for your bad experience, the area of the pavement that you are talking about is in fact covered by our pavement license. This in effect means that it is governed by the same policies as our garden areas. However I do agree with you that it is a real shame that you aren't able to enjoy... More 

Travellers who viewed The Mechanical Elephant - J D Wetherspoon also viewed

 
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 
Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to The Mechanical Elephant - J D Wetherspoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, View
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
08:00 - 01:00
Saturday
08:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 28-30 Marine Terrace, Margate CT9 1XJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Isle of Thanet  >  Margate
  • Phone Number: +44 1843 234100

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Mechanical Elephant - J D Wetherspoon and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Witham, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Mechanical Elephant - J D Wetherspoon staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?