We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dobbies Garden World Restaurant

Courteney Road, Gillingham ME8 0FB, England
+44 1634 224630
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good33%
  • Average23%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“scones” (39 reviews)
“sandwich” (19 reviews)
“cream cake” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Courteney Road, Gillingham ME8 0FB, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 402 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Have used this restaurant since it was opened and always satisfied with the service and quality and range of the food available. During a recent visit we discovered many changes which were not for the better. The choice of sandwich fillings were greatly reduced and...More

Thank Wengenite
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

All of the family enjoy coming to Dobbies for a hot drink. Kids look forward to it, they like the small climbing frame and slide outside as well as the host chocolate. Food here is a bit pricey but you get good quality. Lovely atmosphere...More

Thank Natalie W
Reviewed 1 week ago

A reasonable range of well presented hot meals, snacks and cakes, plus good coffee ... in a well-appointed cafe looking out on the Garden a Centre.

Thank PilgrimfromRTW
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely food bit pricey but still nice tables were dirty needed cleaning. Not enuff staff on the floor. Afternoon tea dude empty maybe use that more in lunch time as seat few and far betweenMore

Thank unic0rn66
Dobbiescc, Customer Service Advisor at Dobbies Garden World Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, Thank you very much for your Dobbies review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your recent visit to Dobbies as much as we would like. Your comments are important to us and if you wish to discuss this further please email us...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Been going here for years food seems to always be cold the time you have qued for tea or coffee staff serving behind counter aren’t always polite but on the whole it’s ok Good toilet facilities although could do with some tlc to get them...More

Thank Fiona S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we went for cream tea when we got there we were expecting salmon to be in some of the sandwiches but were told salmon didn't come in tuna had been substituted when we were served the sandwiches the cucumber one had half a slice and...More

1  Thank kayebrack
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went with an elderly relative for lunch today. Despite the website saying they offered fish and chips seven days a week, they didn't have any today! We ordered three main meals at around £8 to £9 each. They gave us a heat cover for our...More

2  Thank Pete W
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We thought we would have lunch here and tried to order a panini. The only choice was what was already made and you could not deviate or add an extra ingredient. Which I found incredible. The food came and was limp tasteless and under cooked...More

Thank sparepart68
Dobbiescc, Customer Service Advisor at Dobbies Garden World Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to review Dobbies. I am sorry to hear that your recent visit was disappointing and that you were unable to select a panini to your own choice. Your feedback is appreciated as it enables us to resolve...More

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

After writing a review for here not long ago about the let down breakfast we had and a reply saying this would be fed back to the store. Not just my complaint but many others! We thought we would give it another go! Unfortunately not...More

1  Thank heinson_rainham
Dobbiescc, Customer Service Advisor at Dobbies Garden World Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to submit your Dobbies review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your breakfast at Dobbies and there has been no improvement since your last visit. This is not the standards that we aim...More

Reviewed 11 October 2017

My jacket potato was nice with a generous portion of cheese melted on top. Nice salad with tomatos and cucumber. There is a large selection of cakes and cookies to choose from which go well with tea in the afternoon. The seating area is large...More

Thank JM1990UK
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Featherbys
24 reviews
.76 km away
Rainham Mark Fish & Kebab
43 reviews
.28 km away
Manor Farm Beefeater
403 reviews
1.51 km away
Nearby Attractions
Prince of Ales
27 reviews
2.03 km away
Riverside Country Park
332 reviews
2.18 km away
St Margaret's Church
14 reviews
1.92 km away
The Vintage Dove
7 reviews
1.68 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
uk-connect
22 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from sharon p | Reviewed this property |
I agree that a good manager will stop things falling into chaos. However my beef was watching people handling food with their hands, ignoring the tongs. I was aghast at one woman who picked up a scone, licked her fingers... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 - 16:30
Monday
09:00 - 18:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 18:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 18:00
Thursday
09:00 - 18:00
Friday
09:00 - 18:00
Saturday
09:00 - 18:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Courteney Road, Gillingham ME8 0FB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Gillingham
  • Phone Number: +44 1634 224630
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing