We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Leighton Buzzard Road | Water End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 3BD, England
+44 1442 213594
Website
Today
08:00 - 00:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

516 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 514: English reviews
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Looking for a quick place to stop for a drink and grab a bite we came upon this restaurant. What a nice find. Staff are friendly and welcoming and we found the food to be tasty and well priced. It being a sunny day we sat outside and made good use of the outdoor area. Very happy and look forward... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erik W
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I visited The Red Lion for a quick mid week treat, we didn't book and we were shown to a table immediately which was great. We had to wait 15 minutes before even ordering any drinks, after waiting to order the drinks came quickly and we ordered our food straight away and this came at a reasonable... More 

Helpful?
Thank sashaj0hns0n
OISite, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Hi Sasha, Thank you for your comments and I'm glad you felt comfortable in reviewing us like this; it is the only way we can improve. What saddens us, though, is the fact that you felt you couldn't bring the quality of your meal to the attention of our staff at the time of dining. We ALWAYS try to resolve... More 

Herts
Level Contributor
856 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The entrance to the bar and restaurant is very welcoming with soft chairs and sofas. The restaurant is clean and modern, but the tables are very tightly packed together. We were only a couple of feet away from the people at the adjoining table. The food is good, but not special. The chips I had were quite dry, but the... More 

Helpful?
Thank mouseHerts
OISite, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your comments. We are a little short of space, but we feel that we have struck a good balance with regard to creating a warm, friendly but busy atmosphere. Did you make any comment to your waiting staff at the time as we look to try to resolve all issues at the time of dining so... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This place has the most lovely roast dinners! I believe it is the same menu as the Kings Arms not far away in Berkhamsted, but the quality of food at the Red Lion is a lot better. I've had a fair amount of different dishes here (pizza, risotto etc) and it's always been good. I would say it's more restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
OISite, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Thanks for such lovely comments. We pride ourselves on the quality, sustainability, and freshness of our ingredients and when that transfers across to our guests in value for money, we know we're getting things right. We hope to see you again soon. Emily and The Red Lion Team More 

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Lovely greeting but our table was not ready, ordered drinks at the bar, I wanted an English wine but was informed this was taken off the drinks menu, such a shame, I really think a pub / restaurant of this calibre should have at least 1 English wine on the menu and why was it taken off? Food and service... More 

Helpful?
Thank janemartha67
OISite, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Hi Jane, Thanks for raising this question - our wines are refreshed along the lines of demand for them and we try our best to serve as much variety as possible but we simply can't cater for everyone I'm afraid. Hopefully, an English wine will make a return in the near future. I'm glad you like us as our repeat... More 

Little Gaddesden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Really friendly staff and good food, pasta is always cooked to perfection and their pizzas and calzones are unbeatable, they normally have a good selection of specials and the beer is well kept. The only things that stop it being 5/5 is it can seem abit pricey for what it is (I don't mind because of the consistency of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrWiggin
OISite, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. Our pricing directly reflects the high quality, sustainability and freshness of our ingredients and we believe that the pricing is very competitive in the local (and wider) market. Sometimes service does slip, however, we would encourage all our guests to make issues known to the waiting / Management staff at the time so that issues... More 

Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Place ok food run of mill and pricy Big But seriously £1.00 for parmesan i do not think so. Have been this restaurant three times have never really liked it last time was treated to the manager moving the furniture while we was eating. Really needs a menu update.

Helpful?
Thank alreggie
OISite, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we take every review very seriously. I'm concerned, though that you believe our menu needs a refresh. Our Spring / Summer menu for this year was launched at the start of April; can you advise on when you visited us? Kind regards, Emily & The Red Lion team. More 

Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2017

have visited three times - the first two visits we congratulated ourselves on a good find - however our visit in January has stopped us going again. The waiter was rude, the food disappointing and it was obvious the staff - who seemed to be a different team - where more engaged with a management visit who were taking photos... More 

Helpful?
Thank Snoutybird
OISite, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Dear Snoutybird Thank you for taking the time to write a review, since your visit in January we've had a bit of a shake up with a new head chef and new management team. We can only apologise that your previous visit wasn't up to the standard you've come to expect from us. The new team here would love to... More 

1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2017

I have to start by saying that I am not one for writing a review, but after my experience at the Red Lion I thought I just had to! It was fantastic from start to finish! What a beautiful pub/restaurant, with a lovely space outside perfect for summer. The open kitchen was great, the place felt fresh and the menu... More 

Helpful?
Thank LottieAndrews34
OISite, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Dear LottieAndrews34 Thank you so much for your lovely review! Phil is obviously thrilled that you enjoyed his service, we're looking forward to seeing you again in the pub soon Best wishes Emily & The Red Lion Team More 

UK
Level Contributor
145 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Good location and reasonable ambience - but poor lighting. Overall the place looks tired. Waiting staff do their best, but drink take too long to bring to the table Excellent soup of the day, and sour dough bread. raw materials in the caprese, Pizza mediocre - really expect better at the price. Will not visit again.

Helpful?
Thank PPPPPPPP
OISite, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review

Dear PPPPPP We're sorry to read you didn't enjoy your experience with us. We'd love to know a little more about your experience with us, at your convenience please could you email us at theredlion@oakmaninns.co.uk Looking forward to hearing from you Best wishes Emily More 

Travellers who viewed Red Lion also viewed

Tring, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Italian, Bar, Pizza, European, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
08:00 - 00:00
Saturday
08:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Leighton Buzzard Road | Water End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 3BD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Hemel Hempstead
  • Phone Number: +44 1442 213594

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Red Lion and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?