We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Paper Mill

€€ - €€€, British,
Stationers Place | Apsley, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
+44 1442 288800
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good39%
  • Average19%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (19 reviews)
“fullers pub” (8 reviews)
Opens in 16 min
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Stationers Place | Apsley, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Disappointed! Lovely location, polite helpful staff but food very lacking! I had roast belly pork, it was over cooked and dried out. Roast potatoes were re heated and not crispy at all. Vegetable portions too small and small meat portions as well. The only thing...More

Thank Tracey J
Robbie B, General Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Tracey, I'm Sorry to hear about your experience not being a positive one. At the Papermill we aim that every customer leaves happy, We use only the best quality ingrediants and try to make sure that we do the produce we use justice when...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We had lunch here today with family, the food wasn’t great . Pre cooked roast potatoes, carrots were to thinly sliced which made the dry and chewy. We had the pork belly which was tough , the crackling was nice. The sticky toffee pudding and...More

Thank jason j
Robbie B, General Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Jason, I'm Sorry to hear about your experience not being a positive one. At the Papermill we aim that every customer leaves happy, We use only the best quality ingredients and try to make sure that we do the produce we use justice when...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This pub is a very good one. the food menu is varied and the burgers are particular good. Drinks are good , if a little pricey (gin and tonic was £11.50 ) -West End prices . However, we sat outside and felt like we were...More

Thank Christian4
Robbie B, Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Christian, Thank you for your great review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit. We aim to offer only a higher end product to our guests ranging from Tanqueray to Chase and only the best quality fever tree tonic. We look forward to seeing...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered a roast chicken and a roast beef, both were terrible, dry uncooked potatoes, no sauces, very little gravy, it wasn't very hot and staff were so busy I didn't think it was worth asking for more gravy. The beef was mostly fat and gristle,...More

Thank maxines746
David C, General Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, I am very sorry to hear that our roast was not up to our usual standard. Our staff no matter how busy, are trained to do check backs, so we can right any wrongs at the time. I am sorry, as it seems this...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went for a lunch on the 21th with friends. All the burgers we order where over cook. Drinks came late waitress rude. I do not recommend.More

Thank polinaattah
David C, General Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your meal with us. Burgers are one of our best sellers and all staff are trained to give check backs, so we can deal with anything that may arise. I...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great pub to go to with the family. Fantastic variety of food on offer, with lovely views! Everyone left happy!

Thank jdp12345
David C, General Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the lovely review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us, hope to see you again soon. Thanks Sam and team

Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

I visited The Paper Mill on my 21th birthday on 28th August. I was accompanied by guests that had travelled 3 hours to join the special occasion. It began when I rang The Paper Mill at 8pm to ask whether they would be serving and...More

1  Thank Vicky L
David C, General Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time with us. If you would like to email me personally, I would like to discuss this further. Kind regards Samantha Croft...More

Reviewed 8 September 2017

I visited the Paper Mill with a large party of work colleagues. I often eat out with large groups, and the experience is generally fair to middling, but The Paper Mill was a different story altogether. Thanks to Cheri and the rest of the team,...More

Thank Lisa W
David C, General Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for the 5 star review! We are very happy to hear you had a great night, I will pass on the praise to Cheri and the team. Thanks Again Sam

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Lunch with friends. Very nice lunch and friendly staff. Nice weather so had coffee outside watching swans, ducks and barges go by on canal.

Thank Sandra H
David C, General Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

5 Stars! Thank you. Very happy to hear you enjoyed your time here with us, please call again soon. Thanks Again Sam & Team

Reviewed 3 September 2017

I'm a local and I love the The Paper Mill, but the quality of the food this year has declined dramatically. The menu is still varied, but the execution of the dishes is poor. Pasta dishes that used to have lovely creamy sauces are now...More

Thank Louise S
David C, General Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for the feedback, I am sorry to hear you feel things have declined. I can assure you all our food is fresh and prepared on site by our very talented team. We train all staff to do check backs during meals, so if...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Watling Street Cafe
6 reviews
.68 km away
Bull Rodizio
296 reviews
.80 km away
K2 Balti House
398 reviews
1.26 km away
Woody's Vegetarian Restaurant
334 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Snow Centre
1,514 reviews
1.28 km away
Frogmore Paper Mill - The Paper Trail
72 reviews
.74 km away
Planet Ice - Ice Rink
52 reviews
1.23 km away
XC
48 reviews
1.23 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
vickykaur
16 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from furryhamster | Reviewed this property |
Yes, a car park. Leave your reg at the bar. Also very close to Apsley rail station and canal. Nice to cycle too along the canal.
1
Vote
Anne P
16 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from David B | Reviewed this property |
You need to get in touch with the Restraunt direct I can't help you sorry
0
Votes
Ian C
5 February 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from telephonegirl48 | Reviewed this property |
This is simply addressed.tell them not to! Most dishes are seasoned in some way.I have never had a prob!em with them over seasoning food.perhaps you should ring ahead and speak to the chef about your queries?
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, View, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stationers Place | Apsley, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Hemel Hempstead
  • Phone Number: +44 1442 288800
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing