We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fox

€€ - €€€, British,
469 Luton Road, Harpenden AL5 3QE, England
+44 1582 713817
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good38%
  • Average16%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“pork belly” (6 reviews)
“potatoes” (12 reviews)
“pastry” (6 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
469 Luton Road, Harpenden AL5 3QE, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When we arrived at the fox, the place was teaming with people, the atmosphere was great and the staff couldn’t have been more helpful. The girls and I were chatting so much that the waiter came past and we hadn’t even looked at the menu,...More

Thank Gemma H
Michael R, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Gemma H, Many thanks for your great review. I'm absolutely delighted to hear you all had such a great time on your visit to us here at the Fox. Your review has really put a spring in everyone's step, and we are thoroughly looking...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice atmosphere in the Pub. Stopped en-route for a drink and a bite to eat. Was early,but in no time the lunch time bookings poured in. I had a snack on a table towards the end of the bar,as the restaurant quickly filled up....More

Thank 853barry
Michael R, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi 853barry, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Myself and the team hope you will be stopping off again here soon :-)

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was amazed how busy this place was on a Wednesday lunchtime. Everything was good except there weren't enough staff, so we asked multiple times to order, get the bill and pay the bill.Very frustrating since we had deliberately booked an early table (noon) in...More

Thank CH0pps
General Manager A, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm happy to hear that your overall experience was a good one, but will certainly be taking your comments about staffing levels on board. We very much want to avoid situations...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a table for husband and I to dine after a late shift at work as I had received good feedback regarding this restaurant. Earliest availability was 9pm, we arrived a little earlier and struggled to find a parking space. The restaurant was busy however...More

Thank Ajanesteel
General Manager A, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for your review. I do apologise that certain aspects of your visit, were not to the standards they should have been. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with your Chicken Burger. Unfortunately, the specification of the dish is dictated to us,...More

Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Ted and I were entertained for lunch today at The Fox Well all enjoyed a very nice meal promptly served and very tasty My dish of sea bream was very good Easy parking , good food and excellent service the only negative issue being it's...More

Thank jeremy_hartigan
General Manager A, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Hi Jeremy, Many thanks for your review. I'm delighted to hear you had a great lunch, and will be passing your kind comments onto the kitchen and front of house team. Myself and the team look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We went to the restaurant for a family evening meal. Many items were unavailable, which is fine however no one told us. After choosing different meals three times because of items missing we decided to leave. Duty manager was defensive and didn’t handle the situation...More

Thank S123456123
General Manager A, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback in regards to your visit this past Sunday. Sunday lunch was an extremely busy service, and unfortunately we did run low on a number of our items as the day progressed into the...More

Reviewed 15 October 2017

Stopped at The Fox for a quick lunch. The pub is conveniently located on Luton Road with plenty of parking available. Inside the pub has atmosphere albeit in need of some brightening up with decoration. The menu is comprehensive but rather pricey for what is...More

Thank realisticr99
General Manager A, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Hi realisticr99, Thank you for your review. Thank you for your comments. I do hope we will see you at the Fox again soon to try a few other dishes from our menu.

Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

I stopped using The Fox a year or so ago after a few bad meals, but my Mum really wanted to go for her birthday so we booked. Service was really good and it's a nice place. Scallop starter was really good. The chatueabriand for...More

Thank david c
Michael R, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hi David c, Many thanks for your review. I'm very glad to here that you made a return to us here at the Fox, and that you all enjoyed your visit. I'm very sorry to hear though that the double cooked chips really let us...More

Reviewed 8 October 2017

Booked for a large group for a 40th birthday, our meal was very poor. Used to visit the Fox and the food was always nice so we were very surprised and disappointed. The crispy chicken starter came out on a large plate with three pieces...More

Thank corina204
Michael R, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hi corina, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your visit to us here at the Fox. I remember your table well, and I'm extremely sorry that some of the food you received was below par and not to your liking....More

Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

The Fox does gastropub well. It's another of the Mitchell and Butler pubs and I'm sure it's one of their premium inn ones...... And we find ourselves in those quite often. I'm guessing that's because we think they are pretty good and because there are...More

Thank simon d
General Manager A, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hi Simon, Thank you very much for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed the food and your overall experience at the Fox. As you say we are part of a group, but we do work very hard as a team to try and go...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Godfrey's
598 reviews
2.81 km away
Okka Cafe & Restaurant
491 reviews
2.73 km away
The Rose Garden Tea Rooms
5 reviews
2.88 km away
Zaza Harpenden
453 reviews
2.69 km away
Nearby Attractions
Redbourn Village Museum
7 reviews
4.03 km away
Harpenden Common Golf Club
25 reviews
4.40 km away
Big Space
87 reviews
3.80 km away
Stockwood Discovery Centre
596 reviews
4.43 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Patrick G
3 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from KCatravels | Reviewed this property |
No they are not.
1
Vote
Gail B
24 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Dewi J | Reviewed this property |
Yes there is a car although not in the traditional sense. It's a gravel car park both at the side and in front of the building
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$57 - US$57
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 469 Luton Road, Harpenden AL5 3QE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Harpenden
  • Phone Number: +44 1582 713817
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing