We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waters Edge Cafe

9 Palmeira Parade, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7RR, England
+44 1702 353331
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good23%
  • Average1%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“latkes” (17 reviews)
“salt beef” (31 reviews)
“salad” (11 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
9 Palmeira Parade, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7RR, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely setting for dinner before a trip to the theatre. Service was very personal, had called before to tell us about the car machine being broken. Food was lovely, even accommodated by offering us sides of mushy peas. Well cooked food, VERY generous portions. My...More

Thank 330jessica12
Steve H, Owner at Waters Edge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Jessica thank you so much for such a glowing review. We are all delighted you both enjoyed your 'Waters Edge experience' and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A salt beef paradise!! Wonderful flavour, great salad ,gherkins and potato cake. Followed up with pancakes. Nothing fussy just good food. Friendly staff and a wonderful view of the Thames on a sunny day.Southend at its traditional best!!More

Thank RICHARDCHELMSFORD
Steve H, Owner at Waters Edge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Richard, we agree totally about the Salt Beef paradise, all my mothers fault bless her. I am delighted you enjoyed your meal. Something you might want to consider in the future, is ordering an amount of meat to take away, we can cook and slice...More

Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Do a brilliant fish and chips! Right on the waterfront so lovely setting and view good prices can't knock it!

Thank suzyjazzc
Steve H, Owner at Waters Edge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I am delighted you enjoyed your meal and look forward to welcoming you again soon

Reviewed 15 June 2017

This little cafe is located amongst a group along the esplanade. We both had the salt beef lunch, nicely presented, very tasty. Good bottle of wine, nice coffee, friendly service. Great location. Will do again.More

Thank Ronald D
Steve H, Owner at Waters Edge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Thank you for choosing to review us, we welcome all comments. The Salt Beef is an homage to my Mother (she is still alive), had we not taken all the knowledge she has and incorporated it into our menu, those skills would probably have been...More

Reviewed 13 June 2017

Following our positive experience and review in September 2016 we have, as promised, been back twice so far this year. Despite an excellent enjoyable meal (only issue was I was too full to have dessert!) and perfect service the first time I told the friendly...More

Thank Jacqal
Steve H, Owner at Waters Edge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Thank you again for such a glowing review. You are completely correct, any eatery is only as good as the last meal it serves. We always strive to provide the same (or better) level of service as when we started the business 12 years again.

Reviewed 27 May 2017

Four of us went on Thursday,we had Beautifully fried fish My wife had an omelette with salmon absolutely delicious Steve and his staff could not be more accommodating I have had their Saltbeef in the past,also fantastic . Excellent all round. We will back soon...More

Thank Bryan G
Steve H, Owner at Waters Edge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Bryan thank you so much for the glowing review, to keep up this standard is always a challenge, but a welcome one. I buy only the best quality products available, this seems to be justified by the number of clients returning time after time to...More

Reviewed 13 May 2017

We went for an early walk just after 8 am and thought we would try somewhere for breakfast on the seafront. This was one of the few places open and ready to serve. We were the only ones in there to begin with but more...More

Thank Jphfitz
Steve H, Owner at Waters Edge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to review our cafe. Its great when we get such positive feedback, makes all the effort worthwhile. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

Amazing food and friendly staff. I'd heard so many good things about this restaurant and all of them proved to be true. The salt beef and latkes were fantastic (great job Steve's mum!!) and the gourmet burgers equally so. This will be my "go to"...More

Thank Pinky_081973
Steve H, Owner at Waters Edge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

'Pinky' thanks so much for the glowing review. I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your meal with us, its brilliant when customers appreciate the effort we put in. Hopefully see you all again soon.

Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

We stumbled across this cafe a month ago and returned today. On both occasions we had a lovely breakfast. The sausages are of a good quality, the bacon isn't fatty and the bread/toast is proper crusty bakers bread. The coffee was lovely too. The staff...More

Thank Royalnette
Steve H, Owner at Waters Edge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are delighted you continue to enjoy the experience. A cafe is only as good as the last meal they produce, so we are delighted to have such a long list of satisfied customers...More

Reviewed 26 March 2017

Unsociable, they won't serve you for just drinks you have to order food as well, the man was very rude, the worst place I've ever been to for a drink and completely gutted with the service provided.More

1  Thank Elliot A
Steve H, Owner at Waters Edge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

I remember you from Sunday, you came in and were given menu's, if you just wanted drinks, why accept them, we were very busy when you arrived, NONE of the cafes in the line would accept drinks only on Mothering Sunday. Had you mentioned on...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Coastal Bite
242 reviews
.05 km away
Padrino
425 reviews
.02 km away
Flying Pasta
410 reviews
.02 km away
Piccolo Italian Restaurant
404 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Chalkwell Park
96 reviews
1.45 km away
Genting Casino
128 reviews
.64 km away
Westcliff Beach
66 reviews
.70 km away
Cliffs Pavilion Theatre
631 reviews
.25 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jamie O
2 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Justaski | Reviewed this property |
Have seen dogs both inside and out. Obviously to be inside, they have to be very well behaved and not cause other customers annoyance. So, go and enjoy x
0
Votes
Wendy K
28 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Steve H | Property representative |
Wendy of course we would be delighted to host your wedding breakfast. We are flexible as regards opening, i am sure we can be available when you need us to be. We are always open by 8 am Saturdays and Sundays throughout the... More
0
Votes
Carol P
16 March 2016|
Answer
Response from Steve H | Property representative |
Carol, we are licensed, but our choice is limited to 1 white, 1 rose and 1 red wine, becks, stella, bulmers and Pimms. We dont stop customers bringing their own alcohol, but would rather they use ours. Thanks for asking... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Delivery
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 Palmeira Parade, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7RR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea  >  Westcliff-on-Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1702 353331
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing