We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Camelia Restaurant

178 Eastern Esplanade | Camelia Hotel, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England
+44 1702 587917
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good16%
  • Average11%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“sandwiches” (15 reviews)
“eclairs” (3 reviews)
“mackerel” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
178 Eastern Esplanade | Camelia Hotel, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 122 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

This was our group's first time to visit the Camelia Restaurant. First I must compliment all the staff, from cloakroom, bar and restaurant their efficient friendly service was exemplary...well done Camelia! After a beautiful meal pre ordered from the Christmas party menu, the DJ soon...More

Thank Jack M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After experiencing an expensive but disappointing Sunday lunch at a local hotel/restaurant recently , we thought we'd try the Camelia. We were not disappointed this time. Staff were welcoming and attentive and we were fortunate enough to have a table at the large picture window...More

Thank 55fitz
rcammidge, Owner at The Camelia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

So glad that you all enjoyed your Sunday lunch here at the Camelia, and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope that it will not be too long before we are able to welcome you back.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very disappointed in Christmas afternoon tea worst experience ever. Chocolate brownie very hard,mince pie if you could call it that was a star with a bit of mincemeat on top only other cake was a star with a bit of fruit on top.Scones were ok.some...More

Thank horselover676
rcammidge, Owner at The Camelia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your Afternoon Tea experience with us. We are sorry that you were disappointed, but wish that you had made this apparent to us at the time. Christmas is a very busy time as you will no doubt...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Generally I love the Camelia and all it has to offer, but today I was disappointed by the Christmas Afternoon Tea. Last year we thoroughly enjoyed it; however, today the tea lacked a festive sparkle, and at £24.95 it was a tad overpriced (it did...More

Thank jambutty123
rcammidge, Owner at The Camelia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry that you were not happy with your Afternoon Tea on this occasion. We would always advise speaking to us at the time, to let us know of any issues there and then....More

Reviewed 7 November 2017

Had a fantastic afternoon tea at the Camellia Hotel with work colleagues. Great service and the food was absolutely amazing. We had a vegetarian with us and she had her own sandwiches.We asked for more sandwiches and wraps as they were so good with no...More

Thank Allison T
rcammidge, Owner at The Camelia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the kind words Allison. We are pleased that you all enjoyed your Afternoon Tea. We hope to be able to welcome you back again sometime in the future

Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Brilliant atmosphere, and staff are all lovely and friendly. We hosted a surprise baby shower for a friend and couldn’t be happy with how it turned out. The afternoon tea is a must, it’s beautifully presented and tastes amazing! We had such a lovely time,...More

Thank LucyLayzell28
rcammidge, Owner at The Camelia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for posting this lovely review and for recommending friends. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 17 September 2017

We chose the Camelia as it was in a perfect location, and as we had a family occasion in Southend we decided to stay over for a couple of days rest. I forgot all about my wife not being able to tackle more than 3...More

Thank Bob T
rcammidge, Owner at The Camelia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you for your review Bob. We are so pleased that we were able to make your stay with us possible after all. Unfortunately, all of our Sea View rooms are positioned on higher floors. We do however, have a Sea View Suite on the...More

Reviewed 14 September 2017

This is a great little place on the esplanade. Good selection for all courses with large portions of excellent quality. Their crayfish and prawn starter is very good! Steaks are also of excellent quality.

Thank Hemingway470
rcammidge, Owner at The Camelia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you - very pleased you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 8 September 2017

I have visited a few times recently for the afternoon tea. Delicious selection of sandwiches and sweet treats, recommend a visit soon.

Thank margaretrevell
rcammidge, Owner at The Camelia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you for the recommendation which is much appreciated. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Was given a couple of voucher as a present. One for dinner at the The Roslin and one for over night stay. Couldn't afford to stay at the Roslin. So we chose a hotel that was in walking distance. Which meant I could have a...More

Thank Andrew F
rcammidge, Owner at The Camelia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you for your review Andrew. Hope to welcome you back again sometime and perhaps you will dine with us then too.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Toby Carvery
337 reviews
.25 km away
The Friary
35 reviews
.24 km away
Billy Hundreds Fish n Tapas Restaurant
624 reviews
.29 km away
Roslin Beach Hotel Restaurant
1,085 reviews
.49 km away
Nearby Attractions
Thorpe Bay Beach
113 reviews
1.06 km away
Mayura Yoga Centre
6 reviews
.12 km away
Quinn's of Thorpe Bay
5 reviews
1.55 km away
Sea Life Adventure
619 reviews
1.03 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
stedman66
22 November 2017|
Answer
Response from Andrew F | Reviewed this property |
Sorry you’ve asked the wrong person. I wrote a review for a diners view⁉️ I have no involvement in the Resturant.
0
Votes
clairebabe
23 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from rcammidge | Property representative |
Hi yes we do but sorry we are fully booked.
0
Votes
DaveFirth
12 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from rcammidge | Property representative |
Yes we are open 7 days a week for breakfast lunch and dinner.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
View, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 178 Eastern Esplanade | Camelia Hotel, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1702 587917
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing