We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Camelia Restaurant

178 Eastern Esplanade | Camelia Hotel, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England
+44 1702 587917
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good15%
  • Average11%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“sandwiches” (17 reviews)
“eclairs” (3 reviews)
“mackerel” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
€€ - €€€
178 Eastern Esplanade | Camelia Hotel, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

I held a lunch here for 25 family and friends to celebrate my 60th birthday. From making my first enquiry right up to the moment we left, the service was fantastic and every little detail was perfect. We had a section of the restaurant to...More

Thank Susan W
Reviewed 1 week ago

excellent choice for joint birthdays and pre mothers Day . As much tea/coffee as you like and lovely choice of sandwiches and cakes/desserts

Thank dolphinjann
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a surprise meal for my husbands birthday and retirement on the 25th February. From the day I booked to the day of the meal I could have not asked for more kind support. We had 38 guests they have not stopped talking about...More

Thank Ann C
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited for Sunday Lunch with children as the hotel is local to us. Choice is limited to the Sunday Lunch menu and a couple of specials. The children's menu has quite a few choices. We both had 3 courses and I choose the Beef Roast...More

Thank Karen K
Reviewed 7 January 2018

What a find. Food was fantastic, I loved the Thai Prawns from the specials board. The staff were really friendly & attentive, without being intrusive. Wine fantastic & great value. You must try it & we will definitely be back.

Thank Kerry C
Reviewed 17 December 2017

This was our group's first time to visit the Camelia Restaurant. First I must compliment all the staff, from cloakroom, bar and restaurant their efficient friendly service was exemplary...well done Camelia! After a beautiful meal pre ordered from the Christmas party menu, the DJ soon...More

1  Thank Jack M
Reviewed 3 December 2017

After experiencing an expensive but disappointing Sunday lunch at a local hotel/restaurant recently , we thought we'd try the Camelia. We were not disappointed this time. Staff were welcoming and attentive and we were fortunate enough to have a table at the large picture window...More

Thank 55fitz
rcammidge, Owner at The Camelia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

So glad that you all enjoyed your Sunday lunch here at the Camelia, and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope that it will not be too long before we are able to welcome you back.

Reviewed 2 December 2017

Very disappointed in Christmas afternoon tea worst experience ever. Chocolate brownie very hard,mince pie if you could call it that was a star with a bit of mincemeat on top only other cake was a star with a bit of fruit on top.Scones were ok.some...More

1  Thank horselover676
rcammidge, Owner at The Camelia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your Afternoon Tea experience with us. We are sorry that you were disappointed, but wish that you had made this apparent to us at the time. Christmas is a very busy time as you will no doubt...More

Reviewed 2 December 2017

Generally I love the Camelia and all it has to offer, but today I was disappointed by the Christmas Afternoon Tea. Last year we thoroughly enjoyed it; however, today the tea lacked a festive sparkle, and at £24.95 it was a tad overpriced (it did...More

1  Thank jambutty123
rcammidge, Owner at The Camelia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry that you were not happy with your Afternoon Tea on this occasion. We would always advise speaking to us at the time, to let us know of any issues there and then....More

Reviewed 7 November 2017

Had a fantastic afternoon tea at the Camellia Hotel with work colleagues. Great service and the food was absolutely amazing. We had a vegetarian with us and she had her own sandwiches.We asked for more sandwiches and wraps as they were so good with no...More

Thank Allison T
rcammidge, Owner at The Camelia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thanks for the kind words Allison. We are pleased that you all enjoyed your Afternoon Tea. We hope to be able to welcome you back again sometime in the future

Nearby HotelsSee all 20 hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Camelia Hotel
570 reviews
.01 km away
Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea (Thorpe Bay) Hotel
432 reviews
.29 km away
Roslin Beach Hotel
1,790 reviews
.48 km away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
887 reviews
.71 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Toby Carvery Thorpe Bay
358 reviews
.25 km away
The Friary
37 reviews
.24 km away
Costa Coffee
30 reviews
1.11 km away
Pearl Dragon
287 reviews
1.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Thorpe Bay Beach
115 reviews
1.06 km away
Mayura Yoga Centre
6 reviews
.12 km away
Quinn's of Thorpe Bay
5 reviews
1.55 km away
Rendezvous Southend Casino
161 reviews
1.21 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
3 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from rcammidge | Property representative |
Hello Malijuka, Thank you for your enquiry. We serve Afternoon Tea every day of the week from midday onwards and have availability on the 12th March. Please call us anytime on 01702 587917 to book - we are here every day... More
22 November 2017|
Response from Andrew F | Reviewed this property |
Sorry you’ve asked the wrong person. I wrote a review for a diners view⁉️ I have no involvement in the Resturant.
23 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from rcammidge | Property representative |
Hi yes we do but sorry we are fully booked.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, View, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 178 Eastern Esplanade | Camelia Hotel, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1702 587917
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing