We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kings Head

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Hight Street, North Weald, England
+44 1992 525001
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 250: English reviews
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

good pub but tries too hard to be restaurant quality food go back to good old fashioned pub grub the food portions are small chips poor quality kids meal expensive

Helpful?
Thank timward61
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this review

Timward61, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Great meal and service here again. Never a let down and always a friendly face to greet you. Fast become my favourite out getaway out of town.

Helpful?
Thank David B
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this review

Hi David B, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The King's Head, North Weald. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so happy to have earned it. Thank you again for taking the time to let the world know about your positive experience. Have... More 

Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and I looked in yesterday for a quick lunch while visiting the Epping and Ongar Railway. The ham, egg and chips were excellent and the waitress, Michelle, was very helpful and friendly. It made for a most enjoyable break.

Helpful?
Thank feldwick1
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The King's Head, North Weald! We are always more than happy to assist you if anything else comes up. Take care! More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Came here for a week dinner treat with the girls. It was such a shame it was very disappointing as the food was lovely but service was so bad. There was two young girls who were suppose to be looking after us and they were rude and didn't seem like they cared or took pride in their job at all!!!!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amie1020
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. More 

1 review
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stopped off for lunch and enjoyed the ham,egg and chips. Michelle was delightful, very helpful and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this review

Anthony B, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The King's Head, North Weald! Please don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything additional we can do for you. More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a change. For 10 years wouldn't go there after bad experience with food and service........now it's so much better. Had heard change of management so tried again. So glad we did. Lunchtime Friday food so good and hot and large portions. Steak and mushroom pie delicious.....service so good Michelle was an outstanding waitress and went a couple a weeks... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joan S
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this review

Hi Joan, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The King's Head, North Weald. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Thank you so much again for your feedback! We hope you have a great day! More 

North Weald, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Whilst the pub has improved with new staff regrettably the beers have not. Only ever one real ale on even though there are pumps for 3 or 4 different selections. One gets the feeling they wont put another on until the existing one has finished. The choices are therefore extremely poor. Also insufficient bar staff on busy evenings.

Helpful?
Thank egel b
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this review

Egel B, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. More 

Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have eaten here many times in the past, food has been excellent (esp Sunday Roasts) and service great however... We arrived and discovered that the booking system was "down", then our waitress told us half of the dishes were off due to non delivery from Brakes. I appreciate the inconvenience but to not be serving fish finger sandwiches??? or the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this review

Stephanie B, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food was amazing but need more staff, and run out a lot of choices on the menu Was looking for a family Sunday lunch, but a few things we wanted had run out and had to wait a long time for food, a child's dinner came up on a plate that was so hot could not be touched.

Helpful?
Thank Lynn E
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this review

Lynn E, thank you so much for the positive review! Thank you so much again for your feedback! We hope you have a great day! More 

Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely ambience good food, prompt service with a smile . Knowledgeable staff all in all a good experience

Helpful?
Thank wendyphillips709
General Manager A, Manager at Kings Head, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind feedback, we love to receive great feedback and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Travellers who viewed Kings Head also viewed

 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hight Street, North Weald, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  North Weald
  • Phone Number: +44 1992 525001

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Kings Head and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Kings Head staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?