We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Duke of Wellington

) #4 of 6 Restaurants in Hatfield Peverel €€ - €€€ , British,
The Street, Hatfield Peverel CM3 2EA, England
+44 1245 380246
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good20%
  • Average12%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“lamb shank” (7 reviews)
“quiz night” (5 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Street, Hatfield Peverel CM3 2EA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Went back here recently after having a really great experience barely two months ago. On arrival I went to the bar to order some drinks but the girl behind the bar told me that she could not serve me as she was under age -...More

Thank Kgellis
Sarah S, General Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Sir Thank you for your review. Could you please contact me at 8225@greeneking.co.uk to discuss your feedback and enable me to investigate with my team the reasons for your poor experience.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Really lovely food I had rib eye steak ando my partner had fish and chips which were amazing. Good service reasonable prices

Thank lotts21
Sarah S, Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

So glad you had a great meal, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Sarah Silva General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ok, so it's a basic boozer/ Resturaunt. However, the food was hot, well cooked & served by friendly helpful staff. What more could you ask for. Sensible prices means it's GOOD value for money. Happily would return. It gets busy, so you might have to...More

Thank dmarti32
Sarah S, Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review glad you enjoyed the food and we look forward to seeing you soon. Sarah Silva General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a disappointment! How can Green King even put this on your plate! Put aside the immediate vision that the rats had been at it. That it had been left over from the Chef's grating is perhaps more charitable. Brought to their attention, the reply...More

Thank GoldenYears42
Sarah S, Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I am so sorry you felt this way and that you did not have a pleasant experience. Could you please contact me to discuss the details of your visit and meal. Sarah Silva General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went for dinner during the week and called in for breakfast this morning. The breakfast wasn't on, even though they just introduced it this month. We got all our family together and went up to be told "theres mo breakfast, im on my own...More

Thank Lisa R
Sarah S, General Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Unfortunately due to unforeseen circumstances on the day in question we had a shortage of staff. I am sorry that this affected your overall experience with us. We are working hard to correct these issues. Sarah Silva General Manager

Reviewed 18 July 2017

We were at the Duke of Wellington on Sunday for my mothers 90th birthday celebration. We had the conservatory overlooking the garden and our party of 30 were easily accommodated. The buffet was of a good quality, reasonably priced and varied in content. Karen and...More

Thank GrahamS2105
Sarah S, Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Sir Glad you had a great time at the Duke of Wellington it's always wonderful to celebrate our guests special occasions with them. Recently having changed management we hope to please and make every visit that something special. Sarah Silva General Manager

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

We came for New Year's Eve, the food was poor, it appeared all to be premade and was really not great, on par with a microwave ready meal. We left well before midnight to carry on the celebrations at home, as it was all a...More

Thank Lulabellec
Reviewed 11 July 2017

there was some improvement over the last 2 weeks perhaps now they have a new manager the lack of supplies issue will be addressed and fries will be available they hadn't had any for a week on my last visit but overall its getting back...More

Thank Bill C
Sarah S, Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Sir Thank you for your support and we do aim to exceed our guests expectations. We appreciate your custom looking forward to seeing you soon Sarah Silva General Manager

Reviewed 11 July 2017

We visit once or twice a month on Sunday evenings and always get a welcome and very good service, if there is a delay because they are busy its explained before we order which is as it should be, we still order. Nice place to...More

Thank Ron W
Sarah S, Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Sir Glad you enjoy your coming to the Duke of Wellington. We appreciate your custom and look forward to seeing you soon. Sarah Silva General Manager

Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

To begin with, there was a very long wait to get served at the bar. They obviously needed more bar staff. The staff looked stressed and the welcome was less than friendly. 'Locals' seemed to be being served in front of 'visitors. The lady who...More

Thank dave8dmb
Sarah S, Manager at Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Sir Truly sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us.We hope you do give us another opportunity Sarah Silva General Manager

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Wheatsheaf Pub
109 reviews
.72 km away
William B
497 reviews
.76 km away
Mr Chips
23 reviews
.42 km away
Nearby Attractions
River Walk
50 reviews
3.80 km away
Witham Library
21 reviews
3.92 km away
Dorothy L Sayers Statue
19 reviews
3.86 km away
Witham Town Hall
10 reviews
3.64 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
KDCK13
25 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from LabOwner33 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, the garden is a good area for children (though noisy, it's right next to the A12)
1
Vote
viv b
4 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Rich W | Property representative |
Many thanks for letting us know, sadly we are unable to change this. If you contact the Trip Advisor team then I'm sure that they will be able to assist. We look forward to seeing you again.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Street, Hatfield Peverel CM3 2EA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Hatfield Peverel
  • Phone Number: +44 1245 380246
  • E-mail
Description
The Duke of Wellington is a busy pub in the heart of Hatfield Peverel. It is just 7 miles outside Chelmsford, and the perfect place for anything from a light lunch to a three course dinner. We have an exstensive wine menu with a range of world wines, and a cask marque for our real ale. Recently rated 4star by the food assosiation and environmental health.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing