We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
109 London Road | Bexhill-on-sea, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 3LB, England
+44 1424 219159
Today
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 23:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 229: English reviews
Sussex
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Went yesterday for the 3rd time & never again, maybe because it was lunch time but all main dishes were tasteless and the lamb was tough - told the waiter & he said I will tell the 'chef' ( Felt remains from Saturday night ) popadom accompaniments not good . Only ate half & for my sins took a doggy... More 

Helpful?
Thank minesabeer
BexhillShiplu, Public Relations Manager at Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we very are surprised at your comments as we were given every indication the meal was enjoyable. When our check backs were completed and again on your departure, we were given the clear impression that everyone had had a great time. All our dishes are prepared daily and we do not use 'left over' food... More 

Level Contributor
81 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wednesday - didn't know it was banquet night. Under £15 per person. Poppadoms. Starters. Mains. Sides. Rice or bread and coffee. Such good value and really good food. Was actually too much. Highly recommended. The lamb chop starters were fantastic as was the prawns.

Helpful?
Thank Rod P
BexhillShiplu, Public Relations Manager at Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we greatly appreciated your comments and recognition of great value enjoyable meal. More 

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

Surprisingly not too busy for a Friday night near Christmas. Food was high quality and exactly as we had ordered except for an extra dish which they gave us on the house! We weren't rushed and at £25 a head for drinks, poppadoms, starters, mains and sides we thought it good value. We even took home a doggie bag! Will... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsBish67
BexhillShiplu, Public Relations Manager at Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, we value your comments on the great food and excellent service we provided. More 

Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2016

We had been recommended the restaurant, how disappointing, the restaurant was fairly busy so we had high expectations. We should have stopped at the popadoms, very oily the accompaniments that came with them resembled nothing like your normal mint sauce or sauces you would expect. (Completely synthetic sauces with no flavour lots co colouring). Starters oily again and when the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rogerjpeters
BexhillShiplu, Public Relations Manager at Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori, responded to this review

Thank you for your review but we must challenge the version events in it. We are very surprised at your comments as when we did a check back everything was to your satisfaction. We were only made aware of your dissatisfaction at the end of the meal when most if not all the dishes had been eaten. We would have... More 

Hastings
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

The staff are always absolutely lovely and the food never fails to please us. Lovely sectioned seating too for a more private dining session & also an interesting selection of desserts. My favourite place to go for an Indian so far!

Helpful?
Thank Sm19971006
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2016

Got my takeaway from there last night, Tuesday night and wowwwwwww, was amazing thankyou guys, it was awesome. I had the Tandoori Mixed Grill, Peshwari rice and 1 of my fav side dishes, I just love the way they do this Sag Ponir (spinach and Cheese)

Helpful?
Thank John B
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016

The food is ok but the service can be very slow, especially when they are busy. The prices are a little over the top for what you get.

Helpful?
Thank 784jacquiv
bexhill-on-sea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2016

I have been using this restraint for many years. Recently we ordered a takeaway which wasn't up to normal standards but didn't complain. Tonight I went with friends we had a waiter who was polite however that's the only positive thing. The food was extremely poor firstly Lukewarm and then tasteless. They deny changing hands but when we asked to... More 

Helpful?
Thank photoqueen47
BexhillShiplu, Public Relations Manager at Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are fully aware of your 'issue' and need to provide some balance on fairness on your comments. We do not usually respond to malicious and suspicious reviews, however on this occasion we have no choice. We value all our customers business and feedback, but we really have to defend the comments in your highly... More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

I have eaten at the Shiplu for many years but on the last few occasions something small has gone wrong and the staff have been understanding ,but always put things rite , but this evening i took a party of 4 to the Shiplu for a birthday meal , we arrived at 6:30 in the evening and to cut a... More 

Helpful?
Thank BarryGM2016
BexhillShiplu, Public Relations Manager at Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we apologise for the manner inn which you were spoken to and the meal was not to your expectation and we were not able to put it right on this occasion. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Got a takeaway while staying nearby, superb service and even better food. Flavoursome, precisely what I ordered and even delivered to be by foot so I didn't have to wait around! First class service by friendly, polite people, can't wait for my return.

Helpful?
Thank Aaron G
BexhillShiplu, Public Relations Manager at Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, we are glad to of been of service!. More 

Travellers who viewed Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori also viewed

Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 

Been to Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$18 - US$25
Cuisine
Indian, Balti, Asian, Eastern European, Bangladeshi, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 23:30
Monday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 23:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 23:30
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 23:30
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 109 London Road | Bexhill-on-sea, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 3LB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Bexhill-on-Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1424 219159
Description
“We welcome customers to the best Indian Restaurant around. Our beautiful restaurant, attentive service and genuine hospitality is the ideal plae for a memorable night out. We guarantee you will want to come again and again and again. Every time you do, we will assure you of the same warm welcome, great food and wonderful atmosphere.”Eat in and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, along with our spectacular, mouth watering dishes, as the staff and surroundings take you through the mystical journey of India. Our 150 seat restaurant also provides a 20 seat waiting area where customers can enjoy a pre-dinner drink. The restaurant is equipped to welcome disabled customers. Our Authentic Indian Cuisine is targeted to the curry lovers and the first timers. Once you’ve tried a curry at the Shiplu, you’ll be a convert and regular customer. For parties of 10 or more, we recommend booking in advance to avoid disappointment or waiting.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
East Sussex
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?