We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
109 London Road | Bexhill-on-sea, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 3LB, England
+44 1424 219159
Website
Today
17:30 - 00:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 17:30 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 226: English reviews
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We had been recommended the restaurant, how disappointing, the restaurant was fairly busy so we had high expectations. We should have stopped at the popadoms, very oily the accompaniments that came with them resembled nothing like your normal mint sauce or sauces you would expect. (Completely synthetic sauces with no flavour lots co colouring). Starters oily again and when the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rogerjpeters
BexhillShiplu, Public Relations Manager at Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori, responded to this review

Thank you for your review but we must challenge the version events in it. We are very surprised at your comments as when we did a check back everything was to your satisfaction. We were only made aware of your dissatisfaction at the end of the meal when most if not all the dishes had been eaten. We would have... More 

Hastings
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff are always absolutely lovely and the food never fails to please us. Lovely sectioned seating too for a more private dining session & also an interesting selection of desserts. My favourite place to go for an Indian so far!

Helpful?
Thank Sm19971006
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Got my takeaway from there last night, Tuesday night and wowwwwwww, was amazing thankyou guys, it was awesome. I had the Tandoori Mixed Grill, Peshwari rice and 1 of my fav side dishes, I just love the way they do this Sag Ponir (spinach and Cheese)

Helpful?
Thank John B
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food is ok but the service can be very slow, especially when they are busy. The prices are a little over the top for what you get.

Helpful?
Thank 784jacquiv
bexhill-on-sea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been using this restraint for many years. Recently we ordered a takeaway which wasn't up to normal standards but didn't complain. Tonight I went with friends we had a waiter who was polite however that's the only positive thing. The food was extremely poor firstly Lukewarm and then tasteless. They deny changing hands but when we asked to... More 

Helpful?
Thank photoqueen47
BexhillShiplu, Public Relations Manager at Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are fully aware of your 'issue' and need to provide some balance on fairness on your comments. We do not usually respond to malicious and suspicious reviews, however on this occasion we have no choice. We value all our customers business and feedback, but we really have to defend the comments in your highly... More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

I have eaten at the Shiplu for many years but on the last few occasions something small has gone wrong and the staff have been understanding ,but always put things rite , but this evening i took a party of 4 to the Shiplu for a birthday meal , we arrived at 6:30 in the evening and to cut a... More 

Helpful?
Thank BarryGM2016
BexhillShiplu, Public Relations Manager at Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we apologise for the manner inn which you were spoken to and the meal was not to your expectation and we were not able to put it right on this occasion. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Got a takeaway while staying nearby, superb service and even better food. Flavoursome, precisely what I ordered and even delivered to be by foot so I didn't have to wait around! First class service by friendly, polite people, can't wait for my return.

Helpful?
Thank Aaron G
BexhillShiplu, Public Relations Manager at Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, we are glad to of been of service!. More 

Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Whether it's in the restaurant or by take-away the food is always amazing! Lovely, relaxed, traditional interior. Friendly staff. Highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Sarahhh_412
BexhillShiplu, Public Relations Manager at Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive praise of our great food and friendly staff. More 

East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016

I have been going to the Shiplu for many years but the last two times it has been so busy (which is good for them) but the food is not as tasty especially the Vegetarian Dishes. Excellent service and staff manners, shame about the food on those occasions.

Helpful?
Thank hcarte_882675
BexhillShiplu, Public Relations Manager at Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind words regarding our service staff, we are sorry to read our food did not meet your expectation on this occasion. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Absolutely gorgeous food. A must try Love it every time. Top quality so tasty lovely staff. I will be back again and again.

Helpful?
Thank IvyCB22
BexhillShiplu, Public Relations Manager at Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori, responded to this review

Thanks for your recent review, glad to hear you enjoy our great food and excellent and attentive service from our team. More 

Travellers who viewed Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori also viewed

Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 

Been to Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$19 - US$25
Cuisine
Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
17:30 - 00:00
Monday
17:30 - 00:00
Tuesday
17:30 - 00:00
Wednesday
17:30 - 00:00
Thursday
17:30 - 00:00
Friday
17:30 - 00:00
Saturday
17:30 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 109 London Road | Bexhill-on-sea, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 3LB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Bexhill-on-Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1424 219159
Description
“We welcome customers to the best Indian Restaurant around. Our beautiful restaurant, attentive service and genuine hospitality is the ideal plae for a memorable night out. We guarantee you will want to come again and again and again. Every time you do, we will assure you of the same warm welcome, great food and wonderful atmosphere.”Eat in and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, along with our spectacular, mouth watering dishes, as the staff and surroundings take you through the mystical journey of India. Our 150 seat restaurant also provides a 20 seat waiting area where customers can enjoy a pre-dinner drink. The restaurant is equipped to welcome disabled customers. Our Authentic Indian Cuisine is targeted to the curry lovers and the first timers. Once you’ve tried a curry at the Shiplu, you’ll be a convert and regular customer. For parties of 10 or more, we recommend booking in advance to avoid disappointment or waiting.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
East Sussex
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bexhill Shiplu Tandoori staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?