We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boardwalk Restaurant

Southwold Pier | North Parade, Southwold IP18 6BN, England
+44 1502 722105
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good31%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (80 reviews)
“burger” (24 reviews)
“salad” (18 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Southwold Pier | North Parade, Southwold IP18 6BN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Four of us eat lunch here, we chose here because they offer Gluten Free fish and Chips the 1 Saturday of the month ( believer this option would be available other times but phone first if it’s fish & chips your after) other food options...More

Thank Cathey W
Reviewed 2 days ago

We went as a group for afternoon tea ( this needs to be booked at least 24hrs in advance). The sausage rolls and scotch eggs were amazing as were the cream horns! Some of the other cakes were a little ordinary but there was so...More

Thank Margaret B
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

This cafe has a superb location, overlooking the sea and beach huts. We were given a table in the back of the restaurant, without views, and then ignored, despite our attempts to catch the eye of the waiting staff. We moved table as we saw...More

1  Thank Weeley1
Reviewed 2 days ago

I have decided to write this as a warning to the owners of this cafe to keep up their standards. We have been here often and came here on Sunday afternoon on Sunday Nov 4th We have always enjoyed the food here and a walk...More

Thank melaniehookuk
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went as a three generation family of 8, we turned up for an early lunch. Service was slow and they weren’t prepared to amend dishes to my parents taste. The food that turned up was very average with an expensive bill. I think you’re...More

Thank Andrew L
Manager_GoughGrp, Manager at The Boardwalk Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Andrew L, Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Boardwalk Restaurant. I have passed your feedback onto the management to review. Kind regards, Southwold Pier

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a disappointment. We've eaten here before and it was absolutely fine. But this time the experience was awful. We had to wait no less than 55 minutes for a couple of sandwiches. Okay, the place was busy but that's just unacceptable.More

1  Thank Ron T
Manager_GoughGrp, Manager at The Boardwalk Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Ron T, Thank you for your review. I do apologise that on this occasion for your experience. Unfortunately, sometimes when the restaurant is busy there will be a wait for food, as everything is freshly made to order. Do come back and see us...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We’ve been visiting Southwold for years and have eaten at The Boardwalk many times but oh dear what a disappointing meal tonight. Grey hard lambs liver mash tasting like Smash and tasteless gravy. Fish pie with not a single prawn. Service poor we’ll not be...More

1  Thank nickspal19
Manager_GoughGrp, Manager at The Boardwalk Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear nickspal19, Thank you for your review following your recent visit. I was disappointed to read that on this occasion you didn't enjoy your meal. I'm sure that this was just a one off and your previous experiences were the standard we expect. Do come...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had lunch and an evening meal here. Lunch outside in glorious sunshine, delicious. The evening meal was amazing and the place has a lovely atmosphere at night. We also stopped there a couple of times to sit out and have a coffee. Definitely a...More

Thank deirdre1c
Manager_GoughGrp, Manager at The Boardwalk Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Deirdre1c, Thank you for your review and kind comments. So pleased to enjoyed your visits to the Pier and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Southwold Pier

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Seven of our family came for lunch, we were impressed with the lovely views and enjoyed sitting in a restaurant on the pier. Unfortunately we waited a long time for our meals, this couldn't have been because they were busy - there were only 3...More

Thank cath b
Manager_GoughGrp, Manager at The Boardwalk Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear cath b, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm really sorry you felt the Restaurant was overpriced. We do regularly check our prices are inline with our competitors and also right for the menu. All the food is also freshly...More

Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

We popped in on a rainy Saturday afternoon and had really tasty Fish and Chips. My wife is a coeliac and they catered for her superbly - getting non-malt vinegar and asking whether she was intolerant or an actual coeliac for her Haddock and Chips....More

Thank mattp945
Manager_GoughGrp, Manager at The Boardwalk Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Matt P, Thank you for your lovely review. I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal so much and found the team to be helpful and friendly. We are able to cater for all dietary requirements so please do come back...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Southwold
The Crown
464 reviews
.63 km away
The Swan
248 reviews
.64 km away
Blyth Hotel
839 reviews
.68 km away
Randolph Hotel
405 reviews
1.45 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Sutherland House
1,525 reviews
.66 km away
Black Olive Delicatessen
231 reviews
.64 km away
The Little Fish and Chip Shop
790 reviews
.64 km away
Two Magpies Bakery
750 reviews
.65 km away
Nearby Attractions
Southwold Lighthouse
436 reviews
.37 km away
Southwold Pier
2,196 reviews
.04 km away
Adnams
103 reviews
.60 km away
Southwold Museum and Historical Society
81 reviews
.61 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
AdMic2
23 August 2018|
Answer
Response from Manager_GoughGrp | Property representative |
Hi there, We do allow dogs on the Pier but not in the Boardwalk itself. Outside is fine and both the Beach Cafe and Clock House allow dogs inside. Thanks.
1
Vote
Sawstongirl
11 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Manager_GoughGroup | Property representative |
Hi, Yes we do offer Gluten Free options. The team can advise on this as well. Kind regards, Southwold Pier
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$52
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 21:00
Monday
10:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 21:00
Thursday
10:00 - 21:00
Friday
10:00 - 21:00
Saturday
10:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Southwold Pier | North Parade, Southwold IP18 6BN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Southwold
  • Phone Number: +44 1502 722105
  • E-mail
Description
The Boardwalk Restaurant is a family-friendly restaurant serving delicious food all day from 10.00am. Many of the ingredients are locally sourced. Open everyday of the year except Christmas Day, we serve morning coffee and cakes from 10.00am, lunches from 11.30am through to the early part of the afternoon, cream teas are a speciality in the afternoon. In the summer months we do high tea for children from 5.30pm and then suppers all evening. The hours are slightly shorter in the autumn and winter months, please check our website for daily opening hours. Sit inside or enjoy sitting on the boards outside enjoying some of the finest views of Southwold. Fully licensed, there is no nicer place to have a pint of Adnams or a glass of wine, listening to the sound of the waves beneath your feet! Please note: our food service hours are 11.30am - 4pm, and 5pm - 8.30pm. These times are weather permitting and therefore can change.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing