We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Swan Hotel Restaurant

€€ - €€€
British, Contemporary, Pub, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Market Place, Southwold IP18 6EG, England
+44 1502 722186
Website
Today
08:00 - 10:00
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 21:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 10:00
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 348: English reviews
Brentwood
Level Contributor
102 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017

WE used to stay here , often eating at The Crown , until one weekend we arrived after work on a Saturday ( as planned & they had been notified & we had a reservation ( contract???)) We checked in as normal wanting to get a meal before they closed the restaurant. They confirmed our room number , we ordered... More 

Helpful?
Thank BrandlerGalleries
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Lovely food, beautifully presented and friendly efficient service. Hotel now closed for refurbishment for 6 months, will be a loss to Southwold during this time but looking forward to experiencing the new concept!

Helpful?
Thank Sheila C
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review and do hope you will stay with us after the refurbishment. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We booked the Reading Room at the Swan for a 60th birthday party, attended by family and friends. The room was stunning and the tables beautifully set. The food, which was pre ordered from an agreed upon short menu, was superb. The ages of the group ranged from 10 to 70 and all tastes were catered for. The service was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zuzu24
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

We are so pleased you chose us to celebrate such a special day! We do hope you will visit once we reopen in June. More 

Norfolk
Level Contributor
149 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Having stayed and had lunches over some 25 years with family we were rather shocked at how the overall hotel experience had gone from excellent to average recently. Sunday lunch used to be top notch but the brought in staff on Sunday were varied and did not know how to lay a table for silver service or which side to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Prassky
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2016

We were staying in The Swan Hotel as we were in Southwold for a Weekend to do The Brewery Tour. We had our Breakfast in the Restaurant on the Saturday & Sunday. I cannot comment on the Dinners, but if anything like the Breakfast, it will be Hot, Tasty and Well Presented.

Helpful?
Thank Roger97544
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review/ More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2016

The atmosphere was subdued and the setting high-end. Found this a surprise as was expecting a buzzier place. That said, and once settled, the food was good and at £35 for a three course just about right - just.

Helpful?
Thank Sean R
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2016

We had lunch in the bar today which was great. We like having two light bites from the menu rather than a starter and main. It means we can sample four dishes, not pay a fortune and still not feel to bloated for an afternoon walk. But that's not the point of this review. We were told that the San... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Tripper1941
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2016

A pre-hibernation outing to Southwold. Afternoon tea is our favourite meal if it is done right, this wasn't. We had reserved, and a table was laid out for us in the pleasant lounge, but had no menu on it so when we were asked what tea we wanted we didn't know what our options were. The waiting staff then took... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 53farmers
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review
Google Translation

Apologies for your disappointing experience. More 

Tiptree, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Came here Saturday night with my husband and absolutely loved it. The presentation and quality of food was wonderful. A true Al la carte dining experience. We had a complimentary mini leek and potato soup with homemade breads. The tomato bread was just so tasty. Our starters tasted divine. I had the salmon and haddock mousse, wrapped in smoked salmon;... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diana L
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased you found us at our best. More 

Central Saanich, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We had a delicious dinner at The Swan Hotel. Trout followed by this trio of chocolate - chocolate mouse, chocolate sorbet, chocolate ice cream - lots of calories but yummy. We did laugh as on the cheese platter they had Norfolk Alpine Cheese - where is there a mountain in flat Norfolk!

Helpful?
Thank Katie B
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your dinner and although Norfolk is not renowned for its mountain ranges Mrs Temple’s Alpine (also known as Wells Alpine) is a pasteurised, semi-hard cow’s milk cheese, produced by Dr Catherine Temple of Copys Green Farm and made on the Holkham Estate, Norfolk. More 

Travellers who viewed The Swan Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Southwold, Suffolk
Southwold, Suffolk
 
Southwold, Suffolk
 

Been to The Swan Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$13 - US$32
Cuisine
British, Contemporary, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 10:00
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 21:30
Monday
08:00 - 10:00
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
08:00 - 10:00
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
08:00 - 10:00
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 21:30
Thursday
08:00 - 10:00
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 21:30
Friday
08:00 - 10:00
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 21:30
Saturday
08:00 - 10:00
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Market Place, Southwold IP18 6EG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Southwold
  • Phone Number: +44 1502 722186
  • This restaurant is at The Swan Hotel
Description
The Swan is currently closed for an exciting refurbishment. Reopening Summer 2017.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Swan Hotel Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Swan Hotel Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?