We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Der Dutchman Restaurant

720 State Route 97 W, Bellville, OH 44813-8814
+1 419-886-7070
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good27%
  • Average18%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“chicken” (36 reviews)
“pies” (23 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
American, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
720 State Route 97 W, Bellville, OH 44813-8814
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 271 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
10
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We never miss a chance to dine here when we come to town. They offer a great menu as well as a large buffet. The Amish food items are great! I love the homemade noodles over mashed potatoes and the baked chicken is wonderful. This...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Jeremy H, General Manager at Der Dutchman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for your kind words. They are very much appreciated! We hope to see you again soon. Have a great day! Jeremy

Reviewed 2 days ago

We were seated right away and both decided on the buffet. I got salad bar only (about $10) and hubby got the full buffet (about $14.50). I don't think our drinks (sodas) were included, but I didn't see the bill. The salad bar was good...More

Thank Liz A
Reviewed 5 days ago

The restaurant serves Amish style cooking. Their portions are large and were more than we could eat, but the taste was great.

Thank William M
Jeremy H, General Manager at Der Dutchman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear William M, Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor. I'm glad to hear that you really enjoyed the food and I'll pass along your kind words to our heart of the house team. Have a great weekend! Jeremy

Reviewed 5 days ago

We go here all the time off I-271 for a excellent homemade Amish cooking, Delicious salad and hot food buffet is very filling - ask for rolls with your meal - make a sandwich with the ham salad! The front food shop has many Amish...More

Thank SusanRN1116
Jeremy H, General Manager at Der Dutchman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you SusanRN1116 for your review. Your kind comments are very much appreciated and I'll share them with my team. Have a great day! Jeremy

Reviewed 1 week ago

Broasted chicken is excellent. Buffet is more then you could possibly eat. There is a special every night on the buffet. Desert is included at the buffet. If the buffet isn't your 1st choice, they have a full menu to pick from. Breakfast and lunch...More

Thank Robert s
Jeremy H, General Manager at Der Dutchman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks Robert for your kind review. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our buffet! Have a great day! Jeremy

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to stop for breakfast, nice mid-way on our trip. I must admit the food was not the best. We've been here several times over the years and this was disappointing. For the price I think we'll go some where else. The eggs had...More

Thank Terrie3566
Jeremy H, General Manager at Der Dutchman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Terrie3566, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that we fell short of your expectations on your recent trip. We sincerely appreciated the opportunity to serve you over the years and I'm very disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your breakfast on this...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed next door at the Comfort Inn and we were excited to visit this sister location to the one we know in Shipshewana. As these have now become chain restaurants the food has lost its special extra touch. Nothing was awful but even the...More

Thank Josh-and-Malena
Jeremy H, General Manager at Der Dutchman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Josh-and-Malena, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations on your recent visit. We pride ourselves on sharing made-from-scratch foods that celebrate the traditional foods of our Amish and Mennonite Communities. I'd welcome...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our tour bus group of 55 enjoyed an amazing buffed dinner. We sat in a private area, had no waiting problems at the buffet, the food was outstanding and the service was efficient and pleasant. Love this place. Good thing I don't live nearby -...More

Thank Denny M
Jeremy H, General Manager at Der Dutchman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Denny for your review. I'm glad that you had a great experience during your visit with us. Your kind words are very much appreciated and I'll be sure to share with my team! Have a great day! Jeremy

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As buffets go this was a good choice for us. Everything was hot and fresh, plenty of choices and refilled immediately. Its def comfort/home cooked type foods. Price was reasonable too and we added a slice of pie each .....so many choices but all good.More

Thank UKVISIT
Jeremy H, General Manager at Der Dutchman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear UKVISIT, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our buffet. Our staff works hard at keeping a hot, clean, & well-stocked buffet, so they'll be happy to hear how much you enjoyed it! Have...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had lunch while visiting Amish country. The lunch buffet was wonderful and the chicken was amazing. Even my picky eater loved the chicken, mashed potatoes and green beans. So many choices on the lunch buffet will definitely eat there again.

Thank SoccerSwimDance3
Jeremy H, General Manager at Der Dutchman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear SoccerSwimDance3, Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear how much you enjoyed your visit with us. It was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to doing so again in the future! Have a great day! Jeremy

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Buckeye Express Diner
167 reviews
.27 km away
Black Dog Tavern At Deer Ridge
78 reviews
.50 km away
Burger King
10 reviews
.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mid Ohio Sports car course
51 reviews
9.32 km away
Malabar Farm State Park
112 reviews
12.19 km away
Ohio Bird Sanctuary
57 reviews
12.85 km away
B&O Bike Trail
44 reviews
6.25 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Carmee R
Dear Jeremy or top Manager of Der Dutchman, I have not been to this restaurant in at least a decade, I see there is a common thread here. The food has gone down hill and does not have the same quality it had years ago and is not hot on the buffet. I see that you keep asking people what the problem of their meals was, I can spot these same issues. Surprised you don't see it. I am a frequent reviewer on tripadvisor, so naturally, I looked your restaurant up because I am coming to the area and wanted to bring family. I am very disappointed to see these issues and will probably look elsewhere to dine. I wish you would take care of these issues to return this restaurant to the wonderful establishment it once was. I hope to return when I see the reviews are a steady stream of positives. Loved this place! Thank you for reading my comments. Carmee Ross
28 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Jeremy H | Property representative |
Dear Carmee R, While we always strive for perfect reviews, we realize that we will make mistakes from time to time. We truly value all of our feedback we receive and work hard to learn from it and improve. We’ve had a few... More
0
Votes
conmer43
19 November 2016|
Answer
Response from Jeremy H | Property representative |
$17.99
0
Votes
conmer43
19 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from dutchmanhospitality | Property representative |
Hi conmer43, we are open on Thanksgiving, 11am to 4pm, and the Thanksgiving Buffet is $17.99 per person.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Monday
07:00 - 20:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 20:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 20:00
Thursday
07:00 - 20:00
Friday
07:00 - 20:00
Saturday
07:00 - 20:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 720 State Route 97 W, Bellville, OH 44813-8814
  • Location: United States  >  Ohio (OH)  >  Bellville
  • Phone Number: +1 419-886-7070
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing