We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rice Bowl

) #20 of 31 Restaurants in Towcester €€ - €€€ Chinese, Asian
132 Watling Street East, Towcester NN12 6BT, England
+44 1327 351482
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good21%
  • Average15%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“rice bowl” (12 reviews)
“crispy duck” (2 reviews)
“prawns” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Asian
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
132 Watling Street East, Towcester NN12 6BT, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited this place with friends in early August 2017. We had booked a reservation but on the night , it was pretty quiet. This suited us as we like to have a chat with friends and some restaurants are noisy. The rice bowl was...More

Thank bluenose1961
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We must of eaten here over 100times The service is always good The food is consistent and good That's why this place has stood the test of time One of the oldest Chinese restaurants in the county What more would you need to say Peking...More

Thank mikeyintheuk
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner really fancied some Chinese food whilst we were away for the weekend in this area. We looked on Tripadvisor for some ideas. We found this restaurant but were a bit worried about going as the reviews were very mixed. However, we needn't have...More

Thank Liz R
Reviewed 5 June 2017

We arrived very late and were well welcomed, served efficently and food was very tasty and well displayed. It can be describe as a gastronomic chinese restaurant.

Thank Nicolas C
RiceBowl132, Guest Relations Manager at The Rice Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Hi, I am very glad to hear you had a great experience. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

Absolutely appalling, I've never been treated so bad in all my life, being told off for not eating everything off of my plate, so rude, food isn't even that good and I love Chinese food, I definitely wouldn't call it an all you can eat...More

1  Thank sarahjanekeal
RiceBowl132, Guest Relations Manager at The Rice Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Hi there. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your All-You-Can-Eat experience. Our All-You-Can -Eat menu is a very popular choice for many of our customers with both big and small appitite. The portions we serve in that menu are smaller than...More

Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Lovely first experience here and worth a visit but you may want to chose a set menu as I got a bit carried away and consequently the bill was a big one x the food was delicious and the staff very helpful. Have lived in...More

Thank JES1253
RiceBowl132, Guest Relations Manager at The Rice Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

We are glad you had a good time and left with what sounds like a very fulfilled stomach. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

We have just had a takeaway from the Rice Bowl which we were extremely disappointed with. Two of our three dishes were, if I'm honest, inedible. The chicken with cashew and yellow bean sauce has left me with a horrible coating in my mouth and...More

Thank alison m
RiceBowl132, Guest Relations Manager at The Rice Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Good evening, We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your takeaway order. As a Restaurant/ takeaway, we cook our takeaway orders the same as how we would with our restaurant dishes. The dishes that your ordered are amongst some of our most...More

Reviewed 19 April 2017

Have eaten their takeaway on a number of occasion's over the years and I've never been disappointed. Really good Chinese food. would recommend.

Thank chestercake
RiceBowl132, Guest Relations Manager at The Rice Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Thank you for letting us know of your experiences. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 5 April 2017

Good service, nice food, reasonably priced, managed to fit us in even though we hadn't booked a talbe.

Thank Jackiesreviews
RiceBowl132, Guest Relations Manager at The Rice Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Thank you for your kind comments. We will always try and endeavour to seat all our customers whenever possible.

Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

We arrived at 1.30pm on Saturday lunchtime, the restaurant was open and entirely empty - not one customer. We asked if we could have a table and the lady apparently in charge said "we close at 2 so you'd have to be quick". We about...More

Thank Dick C
RiceBowl132, Guest Relations Manager at The Rice Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Sir, we are sorry that you felt you were unreasonably turned away. At lunch time we are open from 12-2pm. Our doors are still open at 1:30pm as we are still taking takeaway orders. The staff member in the restaurant that afternoon just wanted...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Barley Mow
88 reviews
.63 km away
The Folly
923 reviews
2.64 km away
The White Hart Grafton Regis
406 reviews
3.39 km away
Super Sausage Cafe
833 reviews
3.55 km away
Nearby Attractions
Whittlebury Park - Golf Course
20 reviews
3.98 km away
The Canal Museum
155 reviews
4.45 km away
Silverstone Circuit
963 reviews
5.70 km away
Towcester Mill Brewery
112 reviews
3.92 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Rice Bowl staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 132 Watling Street East, Towcester NN12 6BT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northamptonshire  >  Towcester
  • Phone Number: +44 1327 351482
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing