We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Greyhound

€€ - €€€, British,
Main Road | Old Higham Village, Higham DE55 6EF, England
+44 1773 832016
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good24%
  • Average15%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“fries” (7 reviews)
“cakes” (5 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Road | Old Higham Village, Higham DE55 6EF, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went with my friend for dinner. We both had burgers & sweet potato fries - which were delicious. The food and service is excellent and has a great atmosphere, highly recommend for a Sunday lunch.

Thank Sarah W
Reviewed 1 week ago

Called in at this pub/restaurant on the way back from Derby at about 4pm. It was easy to find a table at this time and we perused the menu for a while. A guy came for our order of drinks and we gave him our...More

Thank Sammie134
Management_greyhound, assistant manager at Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write the kind review you have left, I am glad that you had a lovely experience with us here at the Greyhound. I will pass your comments along to the team, we hope to see you again, Many...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Really tasty pub food. Excellent choice of food and drinks. Lovely relaxed atmosphere in this family friendly pub. Special mention to Tyler G and his amazing service. He could answer all questions and made sure we had the best service ever. When a drink came...More

Thank Katie P
Management_greyhound, Manager at Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. I will pass your comments onto the team especially Tyler! Sorry about your drink not arriving but glad that he rectified this for you. We hope to see you again soon :)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went for a anniversary meal today, the staff was very welcoming. It didn't take long for the meals to arrive, they was lovely and well presented. Thank you to all the staff

Thank Jennifer W
Management_greyhound, Manager at Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Congratulations on the Anniversary! and thank you for your lovely comments I will make sure these are passed onto the team! We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After an earlier visit to this restaurant I received a very nice apology from the manager who invited us to return for another meal. This we did yesterday and were very pleased with the meal we had. Although there seemed to be a shortage of...More

Thank Margaret E
Management_greyhound, Manager at Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your lovely comments I will pass these onto the team. I am glad that on this visit we managed to restore your faith in us and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

oh dear what a shame walked in have you booked ,place was empty at around 12-15 not a good start put on a table with 4 place settings asked what we would like to drink waitress told us they didn't serve coke on draft anymore...More

4  Thank bobby59Derby
Management_greyhound, Manager at Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello I am really sorry that you wasn't happy with your visit to The Greyhound. I would like to start by apologising for the quality of the service you received by your waitress. With regards to the Pepsi I don't think she meant to cause...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We called in on a Friday afternoon mainly to have a drink and then decided as it was not too busy that we would have something to eat. We found the staff very obliging and helpful. As it was teatime the lunchtime menu was also...More

1  Thank earlandse
Management_greyhound, General Manager at Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

earlandse, I am very glad to hear you had a great visit, I will be sure to pass your comments onto the staff. Thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards John Crowder

Reviewed 14 August 2017

went to greyhound for a pub meal and had gammon. It was the saltiest gammon I have ever had. Half way through I had to stop eating as it made me feel sick. No one came to ask how the meal was as if they...More

2  Thank jsjn82
Management_greyhound, General Manager at Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

jsjn82, I am sorry to hear of your poor visit with us. I will certainly look into this, as this is not the standards I expect to be delivered. Please accept my apologies and thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards John Crowder

Reviewed 12 August 2017

well worth a visit friendly staff good food for a great value the puddings r to die for and very clean have the hunters chicken and beef vasange very good for the money

Thank neilwray
Management_greyhound, General Manager at Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

neilwray, Thank you for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon Regards John Crowder

Reviewed 5 August 2017

Visited our local watering hole again, and good news, a new manager (John) has been appointed, maybe this will lift the spirits of the team back to the high levels of the numerous previous visits.The warm welcome of the team of waiting staff and of...More

Thank aw19612017
Kim D, Assistant Manager at Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Thankyou very much for your lovely comments. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. I will pass these comments on to the team! We hope to see you again soon 😊

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Plough Inn at Brackenfield
299 reviews
3.11 km away
The White Horse at Woolley Moor
299 reviews
3.22 km away
Santo's Higham Farm Hotel & Restaurant
118 reviews
.43 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wingfield Manor
13 reviews
4.30 km away
The White Hart Inn
41 reviews
4.40 km away
Chuckles
10 reviews
4.57 km away
Scotland Nurseries Garden Centre Gift Shop
93 reviews
5.14 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Winniemiller
16 July 2016|
Answer
Response from roz1409 | Reviewed this property |
Birthday meal or not, if something is not to your liking then you should tell one of the staff, if not at the table then make an excuse to leave the table and see someone at the bar, another drink or going to the loo is an... More
0
Votes
willow1970
12 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Rita H | Reviewed this property |
I would suggest that you phone the Greyhound Inn.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$14
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Road | Old Higham Village, Higham DE55 6EF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Higham
  • Phone Number: +44 1773 832016
  • E-mail
Description
The Greyhound is situated on the A61 between Chesterfield and Alfreton in very beautiful surroundings. We serve the tasty Tavern Table food menu which proves to be very popular amongst customers, especially the famous rotisserie chicken, cooked fresh in house all day. Our food is served till late on weekdays and weekends, and outside a roomy beer garden, patio and children’s play area are just perfect for when you want to take five and have a sip of your favourite tipple! So please drop by the Greyhound when you can!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing