We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Scotsmans Pack

) #4 of 12 Restaurants in Hathersage €€ - €€€ Bar, British, Pub
School Lane, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1BZ, England
+44 1433 650253
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good33%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“lamb shank” (7 reviews)
“pastry” (7 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
DETAILS
School Lane, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1BZ, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

just had drinks, not cheap, but nice setting. Close to little johns grave just up the lane.staff friendly

Thank stay187
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Called in purely by chance, just off the main road through hathersage. We both had the roast beef, really tasty home cooked food, good roast potatoes and great gravy. Would recommend and will be back

Thank David M
JessicaReay, Front of House at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us. We hope to see you again soon, maybe to sample from our main menu which has even more choice! Thanks Shanna at The Scotsmans Pack.

Reviewed 1 week ago

This Inn is very conveniently located on the outskirts of Hatersage and I managed to book a room for Friday night at the last minute, almost a miracle now that it is May and weekends in the Peak District get fully booked early on, so...More

Thank Marco B
JessicaReay, Front of House at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, as for the WiFi it is something that we are looking into, to make the WiFi connection stronger upstairs. Hope to see you again soon, Shanna at...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Popped in for a drink before dinner in another local restaurant. A great ambiance, lovely friendly staff, comfortable place. Had a peek at the menu and was tempted to stay for dinner but had already made a commitment elsewhere. Will return soon for the food!

Thank stephensQ3355LO
JessicaReay, Front of House at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Hope to see you again soon, Shanna at The Scotsmans Pack.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had an evening meal for a party of twelve. The feedback from the party was not good. The chips looked like they had been fried at least 3 times as they were very greasy and very soft. A disappointing evening. We will not be returningMore

Thank Kemarg
JessicaReay, Front of House at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience with us. I do hope you will return too give us another chance and please let us know at the time if you have problems with your...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely pub, great beer, indifferent evening meal, helpful friendly staff, lovely breakfast, room great with tea/coffee facilities and didn't have to look too far to find a power point to charge my phone, but ... the water pressure in the shower was too low to...More

Thank Peter_Ingamells
JessicaReay, Front of House at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It's lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry to hear that you were kept up by Quiz night, for future reference if you prefer a quieter night Thursday and Fridays are our busiest nights for...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We called here after walking Stanage Edge,sat outside on the lovely Patio next to a stream,we sampled the cask ales,burger and chips n gammon n chips,the chips we very nice and they were real chips with skins on and not frozen,the staff were very friendly...More

Thank Sue Chattaway
JessicaReay, Front of House at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you review. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and were even able to enjoy our patio area! Hope to see you again soon, Thanks Shanna at The Scotsmans Pack

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Food was good, and it was a cozy place to have a meal after walking Stanage Edge. We sat inside but there was also outdoor seating.

Thank MrsElfa
JessicaReay, General Manager at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this review

Thank Your for your review. Ash General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Most disappointed in my meal especially after hearing good reviews. The chicken sandwich was merely a soft bap, ala warbutons, with tasteless chicken. A few crisps and a sprinkling of salad. Not good for nearly 8 pounds. Poor value. Left hungry. Would have been better...More

Thank Mark W
JessicaReay, Front of House at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience with us. It was myself who served you yesterday and didn't feel at the time, you gave the impression you did not enjoy the food here. I can...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely place we stayed for three nights lovely comfortable room lovely food and excellent staff will definitely be going back .

Thank Sarah A
JessicaReay, General Manager at The Scotsmans Pack, responded to this review

Hi Sarah, We're very glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you coming back. Thanks a lot Ash General Manager

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Maazi Indian Restaurant
385 reviews
.24 km away
Hathersage Social Club
161 reviews
.45 km away
Cintra's Tea Rooms
273 reviews
.41 km away
Penny Pot Cafe
104 reviews
.54 km away
Nearby Attractions
Peak Walking Adventures - Day Walks
187 reviews
.33 km away
David Mellor Visitor Centre
118 reviews
1.25 km away
Hathersage Swimming Pool
197 reviews
.34 km away
The Scotsman's Pack Bar
17 reviews
.00 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
redhotwhite
are you dog friendly, both for drinks and overnight??
19 January 2017|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from JessicaReay | Property representative |
Hello, We allow dogs in the pub but I'm afraid not in our accommodation. Hope this helps. Thanks!
0
Votes
Nathan E
What time do you serve food till on a Friday night? Would we need to book? Cheers Nathan
30 March 2016|
Answer
Response from Nathan E |
P.S do you have many gluten free options?
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$41
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: School Lane, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1BZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Hope Valley  >  Hathersage
  • Phone Number: +44 1433 650253
  • E-mail