We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hidden Tearoom and Bistro

The Stones, Castleton, Peak District National Park, England
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent4%
  • Very good6%
  • Average5%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible77%
6 days ago
“It couldn't be as bad again. Could it?”
6 days ago
“EVIL SCONES”
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Stones, Castleton, Peak District National Park, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

The owner is simply not learning from all the bad feedback. The special of the day was a Ploughman's Lunch. With two of these and two awful coffees the bill was £26. The lunch was worse than the coffee. Hidden Tea Rooms. It's not hidden...More

Thank Liveonelife
Reviewed 6 days ago

The worst scones I have ever had in my life. It felt like I was eating a mouthful of kitty litter. The staff didn't help either. BOOOO!!!

1  Thank BinBagBilla
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What this establishment lacks in basic hygiene is more than compensated by the flamboyant basil fawlty styled proprietor who will offer you scons. I chose not to choose the scons. I chose the plowmans "selection of cheeses" Which comprised of two slices of cheese barely...More

4  Thank Paul R
Reviewed 11 June 2017

My husband and I stumbled upon this quaint sounding Tea Room with our 2 sons (20,23). Our youngest son, a lover of the more 'traditional' things in life, was keen to have lunch there... oh, how I wished I'd seen the reviews on here before!...More

2  Thank David M
Reviewed 27 May 2017

I've never written a review for anything before, but as it seems this place relies on its reputation as the worst tea room in Castleton/the UK/all of human history (depending on who you ask) I thought I would. I just wish I'd known that's how...More

2  Thank jban28
Reviewed 21 May 2017

This is the worst place I have ever been, avoid it like the plague! We went for afternoon tea, the owner is rude and quite frightening. The place is dirty and the service was awful, cups chipped, tea served in a chipped coffee plunger. Scones...More

1  Thank 164sb
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

Got a far as the door when I saw the grotty looking cook/owner coughing up and spitting out his stomach contents on the door step. The stench ouzing out of the door also put me off. Place should be closed down.

2  Thank MickHickman
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

Not sure how we managed to patronise this awful place which, in basic terms, brings shame to Castleton. We noticed the owner in the area before entering, not realising who he was, but when he followed us upstairs we foolishly felt obliged to patronise this...More

2  Thank 745miker745
Reviewed 10 April 2017

first of all the owner was extremely rude, telling us to 'do one' after asking for a diet coke. he charged us £45 for two coke and three scones. absolute rip off would defiantly not recommend!!

2  Thank adamleewycherley
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Rudest service ever experienced in a cafe. Such a scowling lizard faced service and truly atrocious coffee to boot. I'd rather sip water from a puddle next time - rains enough in this city. Foul!

1  Thank DragonIII
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Tilly's Of Castleton
169 reviews
.12 km away
1530
470 reviews
.13 km away
Ye Olde Nags Head
623 reviews
.18 km away
The Ramblers Rest
97 reviews
.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
Peak Mountaineering Day Tours
390 reviews
.38 km away
Treak Cliff Cavern
451 reviews
.13 km away
Peveril Castle
344 reviews
.23 km away
Speedwell Cavern
845 reviews
.97 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
JAQUIVIVA
12 April 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Traveller3333333 | Reviewed this property |
Nothing funny about this place. Our neighbour went in May and the bill for awful food and cold coffee was £78 for 4 people. Ploughman's Lunches all round and scones all round plus a coffee each. Almost £20 for a ploughman's... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Stones, Castleton, Peak District National Park, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Hope Valley  >  Castleton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing