We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Black Boy

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Old Road | Heage, Belper DE56 2BN, England
+44 1773 856799
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 149: English reviews
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,448 reviews
852 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 830 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First impressions are very good, well laid out area around quite a small bar with good decoration giving you the impression of a traditional pub with a good range of beers/ales to choose from. Restaurant is split into two areas, both well decorated and well laid out. Menu is not over complicated and has a varied choice with a specials... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnhp702
Derby England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This used to be a nice place to eat Sunday lunch but unfortunately a recent visit was a disappointment. Served on cold plates with very basic vegetables,cabbage and carrots with half a roast potato cold stuffing it was certainly not value for money. Deserts were again small portions and the custard had a skin on it. At £ 11 .75... More 

Helpful?
Thank nelliederbyengland
kellygderbyshire, Manager at The Black Boy, responded to this review

Hiya, Thank you for your review - we are really sorry that you were disappointed on your recent visit. We will definitely look into your issue with regards to our portion sizes. Just to clarify to other readers, our smaller meals are priced at £6.25. Our roast dinners are available in small or large - They are generally very popular... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Booked a table for 6 and even though the restaurant was busy the friendly staff managed to squeeze us in. All of us had a Sunday roast with a great selection of meats on offer. When the meals came they were plentiful and really nice. Great service throughout and a lovely touch was the landlord/chef coming out and having a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heagemetalblades
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having read the tripadvisor reviews we thought must give the Black Boy a try so went for Sunday lunch. .Staff very friendly and surroundings lovely down to a log fire but food disappointing - son said thought lamb mutton rather than lamb and husband said thought beef braised rather than roasted. Fresh vegetables though but no choice given or extra... More 

Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having organised lunch for a party of 13 and been asked to pre-order main courses I was rather nervous that all would go as planned. I need not have worried because the staff were welcoming, seating as previously agreed, the food was delicious and such good value for money. I would not hesitate to repeat the experience. Well done.

Helpful?
2 Thank geoff956
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visit this restaurant quite regularly. It's always full so it's a good idea to book. The last meal we had there was Sunday lunch. There is a huge choice on the menu as well as various roasts. Many of the meals can be chosen as a large or small portion. The food is very reasonably priced. Four of us... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Vicki C
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely little village pub, fantastic service and the food is the best I've had in the local area by far, I would recommend this place to anyone wanting a delicious meal and I will definitely be returning soon 😊

Helpful?
1 Thank kevrobbo76
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I recently visited the blackboy inn for a lovely meal with my boyfriend and I must say the food was delisious! The service was quick and the staff were so polite they always ask if our meals are ok and if we would like anything else,they also made us feel very welcome in a relaxed environment. I would definitely recommend... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna P
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017

Have had lunch at the Black Boy several times and it's always been OK. Decided to go for an evening meal - what a disappointment. Food was bland, under-seasoned and microwaved !! Perhaps it's a different cook in the evening ? Might go again for lunch (and choose from the lighter menu in the bar), but certainly not for dinner.... More 

Helpful?
Thank littlefish979
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Called in tonight for dinner following positive reviews. We both had fish and chips. The food arrived in record time which made us suspicious it hadn't been cooked from scratch. The mushy peas were anaemic and tasteless, the chips tasted as though they had been warmed up under a heat lamp and the fish lacking in flavour. The restaurant was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma T

Travellers who viewed The Black Boy also viewed

 

Been to The Black Boy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$16
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Old Road | Heage, Belper DE56 2BN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Belper
  • Phone Number: +44 1773 856799
Description
This is a traditional village pub which has a restaurant area and does very good, simple food, that is cooked fresh to order.

The bar area has recently been refurbished to a high standard, and an extension has created an additional dining area which is disabled friendly.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Black Boy and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Derbyshire, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Black Boy staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?