We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Flower Cafe

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
5 Market Place, Ashbourne DE6 1EU, England
+44 1335 344090
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 217: English reviews
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Lovely little place, the staff were very warm and welcoming and the food was excellent! Thick fresh toast, thick bacon, yummy sausages, eggs, black pudding etc etc with lovely coffees and Lucius milkshakes. We went back for breakfast several times and were never disappointed. Well recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Doubleus
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
392 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a super little cafe, well worth a visit. Although it looks a little 'twee' from the outside, it's offerings are suitably tasty and hearty. The 'small' breakfast was very good, with nice warm tea (in a china teapot, with a cosy!). Nice ambience too, and the two young ladies serving were very friendly and efficient. All in all,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kernowcouple94
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The service and food was great this morning, I would have given five stars but I could not believe my eyes when a group of people came in with a dog. Surely it's not very hygienic to allow animals in a cafe where food is being served.

Helpful?
Thank Jane L
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were attracted by the quaint look of this cafe and we're also impressed by their adverts for many dietary requirements, even though we don't need them ourselves. When we went in, there was only one table free but it still had dirty pots on it. After a few minutes a waitress did come to clear it and wiped the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 170ali007
Adele O, Owner at The Flower Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you had a bad experience at our cafe, however, it is clearly written in bold letters on the menu and on numerous blackboards around the cafe that you are to place your order at the till. At busier times we find its impossible to keep tabs on the tables to run a... More 

Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and visited looking for brunch but unfortunately we didn't get as far as ordering. We got the table cleared and wiped but then nothing....... no one spoke or even mentioned when we might have our taken. We gave up in the end and moved to Dillon's. What a difference! A warm welcome.

Helpful?
Thank Andy-theGreen
Adele O, Owner at The Flower Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you had a bad experience at our cafe, however, it clearly states in bold writing on the menu, and on numerous blackboards around the cafe that orders are to be placed at the till. We find that the fast turnaround of customers makes it impossible to run a table service. I hope... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It looks quirky as you step in but the steamed up windows indicate that the cafe isn't as hygienic as it should be. There is mould & mildew around the edges of the windows, lots of damp mouldy patches on the walls above the windows, especially the one on the left of as you look out from inside. We sat... More 

Helpful?
Thank LimaWhisk
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017

Very cold morning outside, very warm welcome inside. From the moment we went through the door and smelled all the lovely food being cooked I felt at home. There was a lovely atmosphere and the food looked very enticing. I had Thai spinach soup with white bread and it was delicious, the bowl was very generous, thank goodness- I loved... More 

Helpful?
Thank kj52_10
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2016

Found this lovely cafe on a day trip through Derbyshire. As already reviewed, we were spoilt for choice. I opted for the large breakfast, replacing tomatoes and mushrooms for an oatcake. My partner chose the veggie breakfast. Both meals were delicious and served promptly. I have given 4 out of 5 on the strength of the meal,atmosphere and choice on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris B
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2016

Stopped for breakfast on the way to Buxton. Good menu. Prompt service. Signs everywhere advertising specials. You need to go to the till to order although there is a waitress serving. Opted the vegetarian breakfast which was delicious with a pot of traditional breakfast tea in a pot with a tea cosy on it. Proper china cup and saucer. All... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert T
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

We made an effort to travel home via Ashbourne so we could have lunch at the Flower. My only complaint is that there are too many tempting options and it's hard to decide what to choose. I had a veggie breakfast even though it was past 2 o' clock. It came with a delicious cheese filled oatcake. I really wanted... More 

Helpful?
Thank Spangle M

Travellers who viewed The Flower Cafe also viewed

 
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Flower Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5 Market Place, Ashbourne DE6 1EU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Ashbourne
  • Phone Number: +44 1335 344090

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Flower Cafe and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Flower Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?