We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Queens Head

€€ - €€€, British,
Gallow Howe Town Head, Troutbeck LA23 1PW, England
+44 15394 32404
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good22%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“fish pie” (17 reviews)
“lamb shank” (18 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 - 23:00 Hours
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
€€ - €€€
Gallow Howe Town Head, Troutbeck LA23 1PW, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Staying at Limefitt Park, the Queen’s Head was a convenient location for our family meal - 4 + dog. Booking a table was seamless online and booking was essential as the restaurant was fully booked. First impressions were good, the restaurant was quiet, the table...More

Thank Kevin W
Reviewed 4 days ago

We visited this pub twice during our short stay in Troutbeck. Everyone was very friendly and I followed the tip given by other travellers and booked a table. It was certainly busy and the first night I saw at least 3 couples turned away. I...More

Thank JanieMM
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

First time back since the refurbishment following the sad events a few years ago and what a fantastic job they have done. It still has wonderful character and it was a pleasure to revisit. On a hot day we just stopped for a refreshing drink...More

Thank joneil
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely superb food, friendly staff and a really beautifully decorated/furnished pub! Family and dog friendly and reasonably priced for such a lovely pub. We passed The Queens Head on our morning journey out for the day and thought it looked really lovely and decided then...More

Thank jadespinks09
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I last went to The Queen's Head about 5+ years ago. At that time it was very well respected, and you had to book well in advance to stand a chance of getting a table. And with good reason since the food was excellent. Sadly...More

Thank Brendan S
Samantha R, General Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. The Queens Head now is a very traditional inn and we served honest pub style food. We have been open 17 months now and since opening we have served this style. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit. Regards...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

On a rainy day in the Lakes I returned to an old haunt! We had missed our lunch but it was only 3.00pm and the Queen’s Head is open for food all day what a relief as we were both hungry. Very very friendly staff...More

Thank Michael C
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited twice. Beer and drinks good, but not a pleasure to sit outside in nice weather. Almost constant road noise - very close by. Had to eat inside due heat / road noise. Food OK, nothing special, and appeared to suffer typical negatives of a...More

Thank Philip H
Samantha R, General Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for posting your feedback. We are a roadside location and cannot help the traffic, sorry. Our menu is traditional pub fayre and we are sorry if this was not to your taste. Hopefully you may visit again one day. Regards Samantha

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went for mothers 60th birthday and ordered roast dinners for the fanily. Tasted nice, decor inside cosy, however i can honestly say I've never had a roast dinner as small! 2 slices of carrot, 7 peas and 2 roast potatoes. Didn't feel the tiniest bit...More

Thank Nads302
Samantha R, General Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback. All comments have been passed onto out Head Chef and Kitchen team and measures are now in place to change our specification. Hopefully you will see fit to return and give us another review some time Regards Samantha

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a disappointing experience here. Never in my life have I been served a roast dinner with 2 slices of carrot, 2 peas a single roast potato and 1 floret of broccoli. I’m sure my teenage son loved the lack of veg but I certainly...More

Thank Ben D
Samantha R, General Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for posting your feedback. The team member looking after you on your visit was not made aware that you were not happy. If we had know at the time we could of moved you to another table and rectified the lack of vegetables...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a great meal for the 4 of us and the staff were hard working.. it’s just a shame we had to wait 20 minutes for a drink at the start. The level of service when we got hold of someone was excellent but...More

Thank Alice J
Samantha R, General Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for posting your feedback. During busy times, such as the main summer holidays, we sometimes get a lot more guests than we anticipated. Unfortunately we cannot just get an extra team member in on duty when this happens. We appreciate guests may have...More

Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
1,348 reviews
2.76 km away
The Samling Hotel
764 reviews
3.26 km away
Merewood Country House Hotel
925 reviews
3.32 km away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
2,001 reviews
3.33 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Old Post Office
72 reviews
1.35 km away
Broadoaks Country House Afternoon Tea
54 reviews
2.82 km away
The Mortal Man
386 reviews
.45 km away
Nearby Attractions
230 reviews
1.72 km away
Jesus Church
6 reviews
1.26 km away
Holehird Gardens
381 reviews
3.17 km away
Ambleside Climbing Wall
184 reviews
3.75 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
22 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Samantha R | Property representative |
Hello. Breakfast is served 8am to 10am everyday. Regards Samantha
26 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Samantha R | Property representative |
Yes, all rooms have hair dryers for guests.
5 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Samantha R | Property representative |
Right on site next to the pub. Regards Samantha
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$8 - US$31
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, View, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Romantic
Open Hours
08:00 - 10:00
11:30 - 23:00
08:00 - 10:00
11:30 - 23:00
08:00 - 10:00
11:30 - 23:00
08:00 - 10:00
11:30 - 23:00
08:00 - 10:00
11:30 - 23:00
08:00 - 10:00
11:30 - 23:00
08:00 - 10:00
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Gallow Howe Town Head, Troutbeck LA23 1PW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Troutbeck
  • Phone Number: +44 15394 32404
  • E-mail
Reopening in April 2017 after a £2 million refurbishment, The Queens Head Hotel is Located 4 miles from Ambleside and Windermere and nestled on the side of the fells which overlook the Troutbeck Valley. The new Queens Head will feature a large drinking area with cosy dining areas and 10 newly-refurbished en-suite guest bedrooms providing the perfect base for guests to Cumbria and, of course, their four legged companions. Renowned for serving some of the finest food in the area, The Queens Head’s new menu will highlight a mixture of homely classic pub food with a Cumbrian flair. So, whether stopping by for a pint of one of Robinsons award-winning cask ales, enjoying some wholesome home-cooked food or staying the night, you are always guaranteed to receive a warm Lakeland welcome when visiting the Queens Head.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing