We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cu Restaurant

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
75 Cronton Lane, Widnes WA8 9AR, England
+44 844 736 8610
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 37: English reviews
Longniddry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2016

Lovely restaurant with friendly staff but had an hour to wait for main course even although restaurant wasn't busy on a Friday night. No apology or reason given. Food was a bit dry.

Helpful?
Thank kathycY8964PM
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2016

The food was great and the service was excellent While the menu isn't extensive, the meals were well cooked. The copper decor is eye catching and very impressive

Helpful?
Thank Joolz B
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2016

I've been here and seen the wires hanging from the ceiling cupboards upstairs. Food for functions obviously kept warm for a while. Not impressed.

Helpful?
Thank Heather H
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

I'm a bit late writing this but better late than never. This was the second Christmas Day in succession for us. We chose it because it's local and very cheap (£49 per head for adults). The food was perfectly acceptable and we really enjoyed it. The service was great and the children received chocolate too. I have had better food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fabitziana
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2016

Went there for a Christmas Dinner Carvery, paid £20 and ended up being served with a plated meal of appalling quality, meat disgraceful, vegetables awful, everything piled high on the plate, turkey accompaniments served with the leathery over cooked beef. Tried to complain and claim refund but turned down. Would never go there again and would strongly recommend others to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan D
gmhillcrest, General Manager at Cu Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, however, I feel that you have missed some key facts. It is true that the planned carvery had to be changed to plated service on the day but this was advised to the organiser of your event and to compensate for this change we provided a complimentary round of drinks for your party... More 

Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2015

We went for works Christmas meal. The waitress was fantastic, no complaints there. The food was dreadful, the meat was so tough, the potatoes were anemic, the Yorkshire pud, you could smash a window with it and the gravy was like p**s water, one word 'awful' . The drinks are really really expensive.

Helpful?
Thank Collette2013
Widnes
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2015 via mobile

It was a very disappointing experience booked for a family celebration and it failed as soon as we arrived they weren't ready for us the service extremely slow and the food was extremely lacking one main had items missing one main was completely returned the side order of mixed veg was someone missing the mixed veg and even on the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kay P
Uttoxeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2015 via mobile

Well I had something to eat while staying at the hotel. Gammon, simple yes? No pineapple, fried egg instead. £8.95 seemed ok. So ariverd a small piece of gammon, egg yolk burst and cooked though, folded onto the plate as it had spread to much in the pan and frozen chips, not great ones, no peas tomato mushrooms nothing, English... More 

Helpful?
Thank Atardvark
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2015

All i have to say is the food was good it was affordable friendly staff and really good atmosphere in the bar you have darts or pool if you want to have a quick match before dinner but overall its a really good place to eat and sleep.

Helpful?
Thank Supersonicradio
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2015

As the title says, simpe choices, good honest food. Reasonably priced too. Nice friendly relaxing atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank HoofheartedWiltshire

Travellers who viewed Cu Restaurant also viewed

 
Widnes, Cheshire
Widnes, Cheshire
 
 

Been to Cu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$20 - US$29
Cuisine
British
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 75 Cronton Lane, Widnes WA8 9AR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Widnes
  • Phone Number: +44 844 736 8610

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cu Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?