We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Vale Royal Abbey Arms

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Chester Road | At Junction of A556 and B5152 Abbey Lane, Oakmere CW8 2HB, England
+44 1606 882747
Website
Today
11:00 - 21:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

307 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 307: English reviews
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Called with a group of friends this week for lunch. The pub has had a major refurbishment and is very impressive , what a shame the food does not meet the same standards.We had a variety of dishes from the 2 courses for £9.95 "Cosy Menu " and some main courses off the main menu .All were disappointing , overdone... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ray B
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Visited this week, pub now nicely refurbished, staff friendly. Food, good choice/value. However I found the wash basins a little on the high side.

Helpful?
Thank semaj45
Sam S, Manager at Vale Royal Abbey Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit! I shall pass your comments on for any future plans we have regarding the basins. We look forward to seeing you soon, The Vale Team More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Poor start with no fruit for brockmans gin again . Service was slow ordered 2 Sunday lunches waited over 30 minutes for food only to be disappointed with cold Yorkshires and vegetables undercooked roasted potatoes ,tough beef and for £11.50 small portions.Shame because really nice refurbishment

Helpful?
Thank tonyshove
Sam S, General Manager at Vale Royal Abbey Arms, responded to this review

Hi Tony, If you could be so kind to give me a call to discuss further, Many thanks Peter 01606 882747 More 

Cheshire
Level Contributor
128 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Good - lovely spaces, pleasant staff and dog friendly. Although we had booked, we had forgotten to mention we were bringing a dog, but they managed to accomodate us. A couple of the meals were good especially the sunday roast. Starters - chicken wings - were lovely. Bad - People that came after us had their orders taken but we... More 

Helpful?
Thank ftogigi
Sam S, Manager at Vale Royal Abbey Arms, responded to this review

Sorry to hear your second visit did not meet expectations. We aim to be just as good when we are busy as when we are quiet. We do appreciate your comments and I'd like to be able to discuss your visit further if you could please email me at valeroyal@jwlees.co.uk Thanks in advance. Sam.S Assistant Manager More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited the pub tonight. The new refurb looks lovely, the service was great, the manager and the young girl were very attentive and the food was delicious too.

Helpful?
1 Thank francrank
Sam S, Manager at Vale Royal Abbey Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit, your comments will be passed on to the team. I hope you'll be sampling some more of our delicious food soon as our new menu launches Tuesday 21st March. Many thanks, Sam.S Assistant Manager More 

Norley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

After this pub has had a recent refurb we had high hopes of it being up to the standard of its local rivals. It certainly is a lot better than before the refit. The problem is they are not using the best quality ingredients and as such leaves you disappointed. The food was well cooked, the staff very professional and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Woooodentop
Sam S, Manager at Vale Royal Abbey Arms, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you're disappointed with a few things on your visit. I'd love to be able to discuss your visit further to see where we could improve upon. If you could please email me at valeroyal@jwlees.co.uk that would be greatly appreciated Yours sincerely, Sam.S Assistant Manager More 

Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

A lovely experience we will be happy to repeat. Recommended by friend who lives locally. We were happy from beginning to end and left with smiles on our faces. Sinead our Trip Adviser was so very helpful and friendly and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble. The meal was awesome and have not experienced anything like it in a very... More 

Helpful?
Thank annwalsh1
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Tasteless food, starter: chicken wings were bland sand tasteless, chicken, mushroom & ale pie was awful and tasteless with hardly any mushrooms. The chips were anaemic and no colour to them. Much better food elsewhere is other pubs. Nice restaurant refurbishment though,however toilets haven't improved.

Helpful?
Thank Cheshirelass01
Sam S, General Manager at Vale Royal Abbey Arms, responded to this review

Sorry to hear your experience did not meet expectations. If you could please email me your contact details to valeroyal@jwlees.co.uk ,I'd like to have the chance to discuss your visit further Best regards, Peter Clough General Manager More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped in for a bite to eat and a pint with a mate. There have been big changes here as it's now a J W Lees establishment. We were greeted with a smile and shown to a table where our extremely attentive waitress (Sinead) came and introduced herself. I had a beef sandwich (that was much grander than it sounds!)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave H
Sam S, Manager at Vale Royal Abbey Arms, responded to this review

Hi Dave, Thank you for your review. It's good to see your visit was enjoyable from the start and your kind comments will be passed on to the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon, don't forget we have children's toys and books for the not so sunny days too😁 You're right though, we have some exciting plans... More 

Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just back from taking our one-year old Grandchild out for a snack lunch. The whole ambience is very pleasanrt and relaxed since the pub has been refurbished, The food was first class for a light lunch and our waitress Sinead did everything to make the whole experience very comfortable and welcoming. She even had some toys for our grandson!

Helpful?
Thank suedickwalton72
Sam S, Manager at Vale Royal Abbey Arms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. It's good to see you enjoyed your visit. I'm glad Sinead made it enjoyable for you all. Your comments will be passed on and we all look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Travellers who viewed Vale Royal Abbey Arms also viewed

 

Been to Vale Royal Abbey Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$7 - US$22
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 21:00
Thursday
11:00 - 21:00
Friday
11:00 - 21:00
Saturday
11:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Chester Road | At Junction of A556 and B5152 Abbey Lane, Oakmere CW8 2HB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Oakmere
  • Phone Number: +44 1606 882747
Description
We are part of Old English Inns and as such offer warm and inviting surroundings to enjoy either a hearty meal or a fine pint of cask ale.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Vale Royal Abbey Arms and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Vale Royal Abbey Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?