We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Watermead Pub

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Cheshire Avenue | Lostock Gralam, Northwich CW9 7UA, England
+44 1606 46470
Website
Today
11:30 - 23:30
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:00
Mon - Fri 11:30 - 23:30
Sat 09:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

420 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 419: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

There's no cooking taking place in the kitchen with this carvery, more a case of opening packets, placing on trays and banging in the oven. I liked that they had a play area, albeit small but clean. My two young children were enjoying it till some older children (10+) waded in and rearranged the play equipment. I brought it to... More 

Helpful?
Thank kate l
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
243 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have been to the Watermead a couple of times for lunch recently and I have not been very impressed with the food. The quality is nothing special. The prices are not high and I would guess these two things are related. The staff, generally, are fine and the actual place large but pretty sole-less. Overall I think it is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cheshire174
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Watermead does what it is trying to do - value for money carvery meals - well. The food is tasty and the portions are generous. A small carvery is usually plenty for most people. The staff are efficient. The environment is well maintained and there is plenty of parking.

Helpful?
Thank BalletRusse
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited for a family carvery about 4.30 on a Sunday afternoon, the food was as you would expect from a pub chain carvery but the real let down was the service. The wait to order at the bar was ridiculous given the amount of customers. To have only one member of staff serving a bar where customers are ordering both... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nmat2015
Y Felinheli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The Watermead Pub was chosen by myself and two old friends primarily for location and parking, in order for the three of us to meet and catch up. The interior is modern and clean, at the time of our arrival (1:30), there were plenty of seats to choose from however the pub filled quite rapidly after this. There was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda G
Watermead, General Manager at The Watermead Pub, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, I will share them with the team. We are glad that your visit was enjoyable. Hope to see you again soon. Carol More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited at 4.40pm. Whilst looking through the menu selection on our table my partner found a leaflet advertising a small carvery plus dessert, available to 5pm, for a fixed price which I cannot recall. Which we opted to order. However at the bar I was told that this offer was no longer available and the leaflet should've have been removed.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Howard M
Watermead, General Manager at The Watermead Pub, responded to this review

Hi The small carvery is available Monday to Friday from 12pm to 5pm. This is stated on the front of the menu. Apologies but our music was broken at the time and is now fixed. I'm sorry that some guests were loud, the team do deal with any guests that are not being appropriate in the restaurant if they are... More 

Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We called in at tea time 5.15 pm service very very slow at the bar only 1 person on the food was okay only let down were the Yorkshire puds very dry not nice the rest of the carvery was nice went for more drinks again service very poor reqs more staff asap or we won't call again the bar... More 

Helpful?
Thank Philip300
Watermead, General Manager at The Watermead Pub, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your comments. We do try to offer the best service possible to our guests, however sometimes we do experience waves of guests. Both myself and my assistant manager were on and off the bar throughout the evening as well as the bar person. I apologise if you weren't served quick enough. We will take your comments on... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Attended this location to get a carvery. I had a voucher from one of the managers because my last carvery was dry, cold, hard and to be honest.... tasteless. So i thought I would try again tonight (21 Nov). Absolutely no change. Dry beef, dry vegetables and un-replenished potatoes and vegetables. Spoke with the manager (rosheen or similar spelling) and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve D
Watermead, General Manager at The Watermead Pub, responded to this review

Hi I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your recent visit. I am looking into the issues that you have raised. I would like to discuss your review with you personally, if you could phone me on 01606 46470 at your convenience, I would be very grateful. Regards Carol More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Whereas earlier visits I could say how good it was for a chain pub and food now for one thing I don't go anymore....and that's because you can no longer have a tab so it's drink by drink meal by meal it's ridiculous in this day and age so until it changes I won't be bavk

Helpful?
Thank Chris W
Watermead, General Manager at The Watermead Pub, responded to this review

Hi Chris I'm sorry that you feel you don't want to visit the Watermead anymore because of the tab situation. It's seems such a shame as you used to enjoy the great food here. If you could phone me personally on 01606 46470, I would like the opportunity to discuss the comments that you have made. Thanks Carol More 

Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The family had booked a table for 6 at lunch time today and we all had the carvery which was an excellent choice as the portions of meat were excellent and cooked to perfection. Plus an extensive choice of vegetables. The only thing I would say was the shortage of staff on the bar, the guy who was on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janet H
Watermead, Manager at The Watermead Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It's great to hear and I will pass them on to the team. I am really very sorry you had to queue longer than usual. It is not standard that there is one team member available to serve. I will look into this and thank you for bringing it to our attention. Sam @ The... More 

Travellers who viewed The Watermead Pub also viewed

 
Northwich, Cheshire
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
 

Been to The Watermead Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:30 - 23:30
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:30
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:30
Thursday
11:30 - 23:30
Friday
11:30 - 23:30
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cheshire Avenue | Lostock Gralam, Northwich CW9 7UA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Northwich
  • Phone Number: +44 1606 46470
Description
postcode is CW9 7UA

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Watermead Pub and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Watermead Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?