We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Walker House

€€ - €€€American, ,
146 High St, Southampton, Ontario N0H 2L0, Canada
+1 519-797-2772
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good25%
  • Average10%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“caesar salad” (41 reviews)
“wings” (19 reviews)
“mussels” (11 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
American, Bar, Pub, Canadian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
€€ - €€€
146 High St, Southampton, Ontario N0H 2L0, Canada
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Great place to go for dinner. Great variety for the dinner specials. I had the pan seared whitefish, it was well prepared and delicious. Service was great. Staff make you feel welcome. I have also had the fish and chips here in the summer, and...More

Thank Jalejan67
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went with husband for Saturday lunch. Very nice atmosphere, food was good. I had Reuben Sandwich and husband had the special (Red Chicken Curry on Rice). Both were very tasty.

Thank Linda C
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have been coming here every time I've come through Southampton and have never regretted it. Always had good food when here, and the atmosphere's nice too.

Thank canadiancreed
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Six elderly people, variety of likes, happily moved us from a dark to a window area. Service was prompt , efficient and happy - thanks Justine!. Fish and Chips were super - best I've had. Chicken on a Kaiser - Soup of the day, garlic...More

Thank Michael R
Reviewed 7 November 2017

I've been here many times over many summers and it's a great place for fun times! They don't accept reservations in the summer so get there early if you're with a group.

Thank LikesHot
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Been cottage bound over 40 years loved hooking up at the walker house with family and friends. Did not happen this year, not for lack of trying.after lining up numerous times to be told one and half hour wait. We noticed tables all empty ,can...More

Thank Karen P
Jake W, Manager at The Walker House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Hello, Thank you for your review. Regarding that evening, the Walker House along with almost every restaurant in Saugeen Shores hosted the Bag Band Weekend. This is an annual community event that supports music in Saugeen Shores. All proceeds collected at the door by the...More

Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Great service and food. We had the seafood chowder and it was amazing. It was Friday night and the place was packed. Now I know why. Service was great too. For the main it was steak and crab cake with salad. The steak was cooked...More

Thank babuboobie
Sascia A, General Manager at The Walker House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you so much for your kind comments and joining us at The Walker House! We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience and took the time to write! We appreciate it.

Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

This was our first visit and "wow", the portions were so big, so good and very affordable. It looks to be really busy, we were there early so didn't have to wait to long but there was a long line when we left

1  Thank 47Sandy
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We've been here a few times and the food is usually good. However, the last time we were there I ordered the curry and was very disappointed. The rice was not cooked enough and the chicken was dry and chewy. I was expecting a creamier...More

Thank megtobin
Sascia A, General Manager at The Walker House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

We are sorry to hear the curry was a disappointment but pleased to hear that you have been several times and had a better experience. We hope you will come again! Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know.

Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

We like to come here for a few beers. The food is really good. However their French fries are not that good. Decent food, decent prices. Good service

Thank Tracy W
Nearby Restaurants
Offshore Bakery
106 reviews
.26 km away
Armens Cafe
119 reviews
.24 km away
Duffy's Famous Fish & Chips
158 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Southampton Board Walk
60 reviews
.29 km away
Bruce County Museum & Cultural Centre
63 reviews
.41 km away
Southampton Olive Oil Company
19 reviews
.10 km away
Southampton Art School and Gallery
19 reviews
.19 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Walker House staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$8 - US$23
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 146 High St, Southampton, Ontario N0H 2L0, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Bruce County  >  Southampton
  • Phone Number: +1 519-797-2772
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing