We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$10 - US$25
CUISINES
Seafood, Bar
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
524 results
Traveller rating
110
113
97
72
132
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
110
113
97
72
132
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 8 October 2020

Went here tonight to enjoy the advertised food and beverage specials. We arrived at 5:30 and at 5:45 we were informed the beverage special had run out. BUT our very efficient server spoke with the manager who made it right. She offered us other choices...for same price. We appreciated that. We ordered fried pickles and crab dip for apps. Pickles were a Generous serving. Pretty sure they came from frozen and not done freshly. But I would order again. Several of us had the taco special. They were ok. It would have been nice to have some extra salsa or taco sauce. A little dry. The burger ordered was cooked well done vs ordered to be medium. I thought the broccoli side was tasty. Great flavor. The French fries were cooked perfectly. The outside seating is great. The service was awesome. Great manager. The food needs to catch up. But would return. Again great service. Thank you for a nice evening. 👍More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
alexisl127, HR Manager at Big Daddy's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2020

We appreciate your candid feedback and look forward to your next visit! : )

Reviewed 11 September 2020

Went to eat lunch at 2:00 pm 9-9, closed up tight. Took our business two days in a row to Havana's at Carolina Beach! Clean, good service, good food and they were open when they committed to be open. Bad business for Kure to be...closed when you decide on a whim to be closed for those vacationers looking to give you business! Correct your phone message, your signs and your website! Geez!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
alexisl127, HR Manager at Big Daddy's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2020

We are very sorry that you had this experience. Due to the COVID capacity requirements and staffing issues we have not been able to open 7 days a week yet for this season, as we usually do. We have been closed on Monday and Tuesday....More

Reviewed 6 September 2020 via mobile

Don't waste your money! Our large party (10) had a server who was more concerned with socializing with a friend than getting our order correct. We had to repeatedly ask for condiments that should be typical with seafood. The flounder was way overcooked and almost...inedible. When we complained about the service, the manager said she couldn't adjust the mandatory 20% tip and made no effort to adjust the food bill to make up the difference. The collards and fried pickles were the best thing on the table.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
alexisl127, HR Manager at Big Daddy's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2020

We are very regretful to hear of your negative experience. We did review the issues with management and staff and have documentation of the meal you mention being comped. Our staff is working as hard as they can, with limited capacity and short staffing in...More

Reviewed 13 August 2020 via mobile

We had a hard time finding a place without a wait where we could eat outside. We were able to be seated right away here at the main intersection in Kure Beach at the pier. The consensus was that our food was good but nothing...to write home about. The hushpuppies and honey butter they bring you before your meal are yummy. The waitresses were very attentive and friendly.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
alexisl127, HR Manager at Big Daddy's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2020

Thanks for your review, we hope you will visit again and that we can change the 3 stars into 5!

Reviewed 13 August 2020

We were visiting Kure Beach and needed a place to get some lunch. Big Daddy's was so festive looking. We were greeted and seated in the outdoor dining area. I ordered a cajun shrimp wrap with sweet potato fries and my husband ordered a burger...with fries. The food was really good and flavorful! We will definitely eat there again when we are at Kure Beach.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
alexisl127, HR Manager at Big Daddy's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2020

Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again next time!

Reviewed 26 July 2020 via mobile

When asked for the WiFi password I was told we aren’t allowed to give it out! It’s 2020 and you can’t give out a WiFi password. I was waiting to be seated when I was told that so I told them to take my name...off the list and then I saw a couple of customers being talked to very rudely by the staff. I walked right across the street and had a great meal at Jack Mackerel’s with free WiFi and a super friendly staff!More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
alexisl127, HR Manager at Big Daddy's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2020

Hi Ro256, We are very sorry to hear that you did not stay for a great meal with Big Daddy's! Would you be able to recall which day you visited our restaurant so that we can address this issue with staff? We never want our...More

Reviewed 18 July 2020

My friends and I, went to Big Daddy’s yesterday afternoon and I have never seen such a racist, prejudice, unprofessional, establishment in my entire life and I travel very often. When we first arrived I looked up and there was a man behind the kitchen...with a dingy mask staring at us as if he’d never seen a black person in his entire life. I simply ignored him and tried to give the restaurant the benefit of doubt and ignored it. After being seated we sat there for about 5 minutes the same man with the filthy mask that was staring at us came over to us and introduced himself as our waiter as if we were children. He was loud and speaking with a very inappropriate tone when keeping in mind that all three of us are young, college students that can obviously tell when someone is attempting to be funny. Once again I tried again not to judge an entire restaurant off of one ignorant waiter. Moving forward ordered our drinks and chatted to each other for about 5 more minutes. The waiter came back and gave us our drink and walked away before we could even say thank you. When he walked away I saw him at another table with a white family talking in a calm, appropriate manner. He came back to our table to see if we were easy to order. We gave our order and before he rushed away from us I caught his attention and asked if we could simply have some straws. He looked at me and said they didn’t have any straws and hurried away from us. I looked around at every table around us and they all had straws. I told my friends and asked them if they saw what I saw. They did. I continued to look around and I looked back where the man was at earlier and there was an entire container filled with straws. I sat there for about 10 minutes to give him time to maybe come over and apologize and say he didn’t realize that they were there and give us straws or something of that nature. After contemplating if we were going to stay and eat I realized the other employees were also staring at us and avoiding getting close to us. That was the last straw. We got up and we walked away to find a more suitable restaurant in Carolina beach. We didn’t even take one sip from our drinks and I took videos of the entire thing. I already knew that we’re racist people but to deny and lie to us about something as simple as a straw shows a whole next level of ignorance and hate. I don’t suggest anyone going to this restaurant, especially not people of color.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
alexisl127, HR Manager at Big Daddy's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2020

Elisia, we are very unhappy to read this review and understand how you must have felt. The owner and I have met with the General Manager to ensure that this situation is addressed directly with the server that waited on your table. Definitely, no excuses...More

Reviewed 18 July 2020 via mobile

My husband and myself were asked to wear masks before entering; children under 11 were fine without a mask. I pulled them out of my purse and she asked the hostess “Do you feel comfortable walking them to the table...(She didn’t wait for the hostess...to answer her question)...”I will go with you.” It was very Unwelcoming and upon seating us she demoralized is further by saying, “IF YOU LEAVE THE TABLE you MUST have your mask on” (this was the 2nd time within our 5 minutes there of being told) We had a nice family meal; the hush puppies came out after our dinner but other than that it was good. The atmosphere was like eating in a prison cafeteria for several reasons; there was a warden and you were “on-guard” constantly as not to make a wrong move; which made for a terrible experience. Before the meal arrived, I took our toddler to the restroom; while lifting him to wash his hands my mask fell off and upon leaving the restroom it hit the floor (on the carpet where the kitchen staff go in and out of the kitchen) I literally was in PANIC because I knew I HAD to wear this mask if I wasn’t at the table but common sense told me NOT to wear it. So I didn’t wear the mask, rather I set it aside in the table when we sat back down and later left it on the plates that I cleaned up and had gotten ready for the waitress to take. Upon leaving the Blonde Manager caught us a few steps from the door and said “You can’t be in here without a mask”...I explained the woman what happened and that I didn’t feel comfortable wearing it any longer (it was a pre-packaged disposable mask) She IGNORED everything I said and continued to say louder and more abrasive “YOU CANNOT BE IN HERE, YOU DON’T HAVE A MASK” at this point; we realized that the she was looking to publicly humiliate us/engage us in a FIGHT...she followed right behind us and she stopped at the Hotsess Stand to LOUDLY tell the other hostesses and ALL who would listen that “these people CANNOT be in here without a mask!!!!!!!!” She pointed at us as we left the premises. Before leaving my husband told her to Please “call the police” (meaning call the police instead of making a scene and demoralizing and humiliating us) it was a HORRIFIC Experience and upset the children also. My husband just retired from 24 plus year in law enforcement and 14 years serving as a chief of police and I am a teacher; I can assure you that we followed all “her rules” as best we could without putting ourselves/health in harms way...her “Laws at Big Daddy’s Restaurant” are not exactly in alignment with NC State Law by Cooper.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
alexisl127, HR Manager at Big Daddy's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2020

We are so sorry that you had this experience! We have worked hard to train staff on how to properly handle the precarious environment that we find ourselves in with COVID-19 requirements and recommendations. The reaction and behavior you describe is NOT how we have...More

Reviewed 23 October 2019

My wife and I had made a trip to the Kure Beach Pier to take in the sunset. Afterwards we decided to grab a drink and some food at Big Daddy's. They were running a Thursday special, $2 tacos (Chicken or Beef) $5 Margaritas, 2.50...Beers. I ordered 3 chicken tacos with a side of onion rings. My wife had the fish and chips, which was made with Haddock. She said she really enjoyed her fish and chips, which was surprising because she is not a big fish eater. I thought the tacos were very good. They used shredded chicken that had been seasoned very well and all the other toppings you normally get with a taco, lettuce, tomato, cheese and sour cream.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 15 October 2019 via mobile

We took friends to Big Daddy’s Sunday late afternoon for an early dinner. She ordered a large caesar’s salad with grilled chicken... she was told “because it was off season” they couldn’t grill chicken!! I ordered fish and chips. The only good thing I can...say is the fries were good. I have never seen so much breading on fish or fish and chips with a tail on the fish! It was so tough I could hardly pull it apart with my fork. I was disappointed and embarrassed with my friends I will not go back!More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Moran Motel
55 reviews
.04 km away
South Wind Motel
148 reviews
.10 km away
Admiral's Quarters
134 reviews
.13 km away
Sand Dunes Motel
111 reviews
.19 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Freddie's Restaurante
486 reviews
.09 km away
Kure Beach Diner
457 reviews
.10 km away
Jack Mackerel's Island Grill
846 reviews
.07 km away
Beach House Burgers
106 reviews
.05 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Kure Beach Pier
468 reviews
.12 km away
Ocean Front Park
88 reviews
.07 km away
Coquina Outcrop
42 reviews
1.08 km away
Bud & Joe's Sandbar
8 reviews
.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Big Daddy's Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing