We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Diamond Shoals

46843 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
+1 252-995-5217
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good33%
  • Average14%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“sushi” (101 reviews)
“clam chowder” (57 reviews)
“hush puppies” (71 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Seafood, Sushi, Soups, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
46843 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 722 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We drove down to Cape Hatteras for a day trip and there wasn’t a place in sight that was open nearby to the Light House there after checking the reviews of all the places nearby this was the only one still open. For a Saturday...More

Thank Shaun A
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Shaun, I'm glad you and your family stopped by! It's great that you and your family loved everything from the seafood combo to the chicken tenders. Hope to have you back next time you're in town! Best, Keith Gray, Owner

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a great restaurant with loads of options and the best sushi on Hatteras Island. The staff was friendly and the service was great. You'll find something for everyone and the prices are reasonable. A full bar with plenty of beer and wine options. The...More

Thank Jeff K
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Jeff, we're honored to be on your must-visit list! It's great that you loved everything from our sushi to our bar. Can't wait to have you back again! Best, Keith Gray, Owner

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We love the place and try to go when we are in Buxton. This time we ordered scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, grits, and sausage egg/cheese on biscuit. Everything was yummy and the server knew the menu well.

Thank Foodie4ever2030
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We love having you! I'm delighted everything was to your liking, from the eggs to our biscuits. Looking forward to the next time you're in town! Best, Keith Gray, Owner

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Chowder was great. Clean, sits a lot of people. they have sushi if you like it I don't. I found it expensive to feed a family of 4. Others did not. LOTS of people there and Lots more waiting in line. We will probably not...More

Thank Beth C
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Beth, although I'm glad you and your family had a great time and that you loved the chowder, I'm disappointed you won't be back here. If there's anything better we could be doing, feel free to let us know. You're welcome back any time. Sincerely,...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good service. Had 2 breakfasts there. Fast service. Liked their coffee. Nothing fancy about their breakfast menu but it was tasty, no complaints.

Thank brendasplean93
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

It's great you've already been back a second time! I'm delighted you enjoyed everything from our coffee to our warm and friendly service. Hope to have you back soon! Best, Keith Gray, Owner

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Won't go there again. Not being able to eat seafood/fish on the Outer Banks makes eating out difficult. I ended up getting the steak as did my husband with his "surf". They mixed up the steaks - no big deal - but both were so...More

Thank Elizabeth E
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Elizabeth, although I'm glad you had excellent service, I'm sorry our steak wasn't to your liking. We only use high-quality ingredients, so I'm surprised to hear they weren't up to your expectations. I want to thank you for giving us a try and wish you...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was not impressed with the size of my breakfast. For the cost, there are better breakfasts on the island. The waitress was also not very friendly.More

Thank t-bone_ou812
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I'm disappointed we didn't impress this time. I know next time we'll show you the excellent customer service we're capable of, and we'd be more than happy to make suggestions to ensure you'll be satisfied with your meal. I hope you'll give us another chance...More

Reviewed 19 August 2018

The food was average at best and pricey for what you get. For the money we paid for seafood entree's, we expected better quality and flavor.More

2  Thank Patrick B
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Patrick, I'm sorry our dishes didn't completely wow you. Next time, we'd be more than happy to make a few suggestions, as we're sure you'll find something here you love. I hope to have you back so we can show you a better experience. Best,...More

Reviewed 16 August 2018

Boy we wanted this place to be good or at least average given the lack of options on the OBX. We tried a bunch of different rolls. All were rather tasteless. Something was strange about the rice too. Our waitress was very nice. The service...More

2  Thank Lisavn2014
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Although it's great to hear we're providing great service, I'm sorry our rolls didn't impress. Next time, we'd be more than happy to make recommendations, as we're sure you'll be able to find dishes here you'll love. We hope we get the chance to show...More

Reviewed 15 August 2018

Awesome Salad Bar, New England Chowder and Sushi! The Staff is very personable. One of our family favorites.

Thank AmberM1459
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

We love having your family here, Amber! Can't wait to welcome you back for all your favorites again soon. Cheers, Keith Gray, Owner

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Hatteras Island
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
229 reviews
.15 km away
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging
336 reviews
.28 km away
Outer Banks Motel
159 reviews
.39 km away
Cape Hatteras Motel
301 reviews
.45 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Buxton Munch Company
683 reviews
.85 km away
Orange Blossom Bakery
884 reviews
.59 km away
Fattys
228 reviews
.33 km away
Rusty's Surf & Turf
564 reviews
.84 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cape Hatteras Lighthouse
2,294 reviews
1.77 km away
Equine Adventures
241 reviews
8.03 km away
Canadian Hole
76 reviews
.03 km away
Uncle Eddy's Frozen Custard and 18-Hole Mini Golf
105 reviews
.06 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Diamond Shoals staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$30
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 21:00
Monday
07:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 21:00
Thursday
07:00 - 21:00
Friday
07:00 - 21:00
Saturday
07:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 46843 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
  • Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  North Carolina Coast  >  Outer Banks  >  Hatteras Island  >  Buxton
  • Phone Number: +1 252-995-5217
Description
Located adjacent to the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse, Diamond Shoals Restaurant has been serving up the finest local fare for decades. Known for its friendly atmosphere, fresh seafood and southern hospitality, folks have been coming back to Diamond Shoals, year after year, for its award winning clam chowder and crab bisque, homemade crab cakes, and Hatteras Island's only sushi bar. Enjoy a selection of steaks, sandwiches, the island's largest salad bar, an extensive kids menu, and fresh seafood caught by local fishermen.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing