We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Plaza Cafe

61 Hill St, Southampton, NY 11968-5316
+1 631-283-9323
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good22%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (2 reviews)
“seafood” (17 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood
PRICE
€€€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
61 Hill St, Southampton, NY 11968-5316
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Wonderful elegant place. None of the pretentiousness but just high end service and great food. Seafood Sheppard pie- amazing Scallops with corn polenta - amazing. Fair prices for good wine. We told them it was our anniversary and when we go there, they gave us...More

Thank Doby47
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was my birthday and Ron wanted to take me somewhere very special to celebrate: a restaurant with wonderful seafood and great service. He took me to The Plaza Café and we couldn't have had a more special menu, ambiance and evening. The room is...More

Thank Linda M
Douglas G, Owner at Plaza Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Ms. Linda M. Thank you so much for choosing to spend your birthday with us at the Plaza Cafe and for taking the time to share such a very kind review of your dining experience with us. I was so happy to hear you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We come here often, and will continue. We even have our favorite server. A great place for seafood, and the ambiance is relatively quiet and casual. Get a little dressed, as you don't want to resemble the rude and arrogant "city folk"! Enjoy, the chef/owner...More

Thank P Brian S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Read the reviews and decided to have dinner with our family of 12. Best I can say was fish was fresh but everyone said the food was bland at best. Chicken entree was overlooked and dry. Very disappointing at .such high prices.More

Thank Meryl C
Douglas G, Owner at Plaza Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Ms. Meryl C, I am very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations and and would love to speak with you to learn how we could have better met those expectations. I reviewed your reviews (as I believe you also left...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very good food. The starter and main course were very good and dessert excellent. The only criticism I have for the food was that one of the tomatoes still had part of a sticky label on it. I don't know why there was the occasional...More

Thank Henry A
Douglas G, Owner at Plaza Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Henry A, Thank you for choosing to dine with us two weeks ago and for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor. Needless to say I am very grateful for your very kind rating but very embarrassed by...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My husband and I were very pleased with our dinner at the Plaza Cafe last night. The wait staff was very attentive and the food was superb. It was a wonderful place to spend our wedding anniversary. We were seated in front of the fireplace;...More

Thank celestehessler
Douglas G, Owner at Plaza Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Evening, Thank you so much for choosing to dine with us on such a special occasion, and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. I was so happy to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and even...More

Reviewed 12 July 2017

The restaurant is hidden in the back of a nondescript building. The restaurant itself is one big room with the bar on one end and the fireplace on the other end. The decorations are all fish oriented. There is no view. There was only one...More

Thank techbear
Douglas G, Owner at Plaza Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Afternoon, Thank you for choosing to dine at our restaurant and for taking the time to share your opinion here on Trip Advisor. Needless to say I am very disappointed that we did not live up to your expectations. I am very grateful for...More

Reviewed 6 June 2017

We have been going to The Plaza Cafe and recommending it to our guests now for over 15 years. We own a B&B in the village and The Plaza is always our go to place for great seafood in a quieter dining atmosphere. This is...More

1  Thank Chris-Kim_ABM
Reviewed 4 June 2017

I thought this was okay but the pricing meant it should have been better. The cooking is too fussy for my taste and the sea bass was rather tasteless. They also struggled with speed of service. To be fair, we might have got it on...More

2  Thank TinyMin
Douglas G, Owner at Plaza Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Good Morning, Im so very sorry that we did not provide you with a memorable dining experience, Being 'ok' is totally unacceptable to me and my staff. I'm sorry you felt my food to be 'fussy' because at this point in my career I have...More

Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

My vote for most underrated restaurant in the Hamptons is Plaza Cafe in Southampton. Have dined there many times over the years including tonight - and it's never been better! Proprietor/Chef Doug Gulija has been at it for 20+ years but he is very talented...More

Thank HSkurnik
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Tate's Bake Shop
200 reviews
.60 km away
Sant Ambroeus
128 reviews
.52 km away
Citarella
64 reviews
.62 km away
Nearby Attractions
Southampton Historical Museum
23 reviews
.53 km away
Southampton Arts Center
13 reviews
.33 km away
The Thomas Halsey Homestead
8 reviews
.98 km away
Hildreth's
37 reviews
.43 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
bcgflower
22 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Douglas G | Property representative |
Thank you very much for your kind words. I have a great team around me who are true professionals and do all they can to help meet our guest expectations.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$31 - US$50
Cuisine
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Highchairs Available
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
17:30 - 22:00
Monday
17:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
17:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
17:30 - 10:00
Thursday
17:30 - 22:00
Friday
17:30 - 23:00
Saturday
17:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 61 Hill St, Southampton, NY 11968-5316
    (First Neck Lane)
  • Location: United States  >  New York (NY)  >  Long Island  >  Hamptons  >  Southampton
  • Phone Number: +1 631-283-9323
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing